Mountain Biking

Postby wagon r » April 22nd, 2009, 4:00 pm

reg. bike helmet, not full face, gloves, cycle shorts (very important...!) and dais it. carry allen key set and a pump....good sneakers or cycle shoes (up to you)....and some bravery..

some guys have they camel pack....i have two bottles.....with gatorade powder mix from PS..... wayyyyy cheaper than buyin them by the bottle....

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » April 22nd, 2009, 4:31 pm

i carry a crank brothers multi tool, tire levers, spare tube, patch kit, knife and pump.

i have a camel back....very very useful........a lot easier to use on the go, especially through rough terrain........

richiepooh

Postby richiepooh » April 22nd, 2009, 11:46 pm

so who doing the Mountain bike race this sunday down chag??

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » April 23rd, 2009, 6:32 am

richiepooh wrote:so who doing the Mountain bike race this sunday down chag??

details?

Postby 3stagevtec » April 23rd, 2009, 10:14 am

hey guys, i'm getting the Fuji Nevada 1.0 for $3500 new with 6months warranty.. is that a good price / bike for the money?

Postby 3stagevtec » April 23rd, 2009, 10:17 am

also, how would you determine the idea bike size? the bike inn told me 2" from the crotch is ideal in case you have to jump off in an emergency.. but from riding experience, is that good? or is bigger better?

PapaC

Postby PapaC » April 23rd, 2009, 10:27 am

The size of your bike should be proper according to your height and the length of you legs,
Check here,
http://www.ehow.com/how_14104_determine ... frame.html
I got a Nevada 4.0 last Christmas as a gift, it was bought at Bike Inn Vistabella, same 6 month warranty.
If that is close to the price my bike was, i may have to re-consider what i buying for my girl...

Postby 3stagevtec » April 23rd, 2009, 10:45 am

nice, well the 19" frame should be just right for me..

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » April 23rd, 2009, 12:16 pm

cannondale F7 Disc and F6 are on sale in sports and games....original price $4500, its now $3600, the F7 without disc brakes are $2800. all cannondales (except freeride and downhill bikes) have lifetime warranties on the frame, and the components are covered by manufacturers warranties which are usually one year or two years........i dont like the service at bike inn, thats why i didnt buy a bike there...........fuji are supposed to be good bikes....but the lifetime warranty of the cannondale had me sold.......... :mrgreen:

Postby 3stagevtec » April 23rd, 2009, 12:49 pm

wow, the cannondale has some good reviews, but the south branches doesn't have them..

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » April 23rd, 2009, 12:55 pm

^^^high street has them......i was there a couple week s before i bought mine.......i didn't buy it in south though. the manager in south insisted i couldn't make a down-payment on the bike........i called west mall and they said i could make a down-payment there....so i went to west mall and made a down-payment there instead.

Postby 3stagevtec » April 23rd, 2009, 1:12 pm

idiots! i called them.. "no, we don't have mountain bikes"

i called them back, same reply.. i then asked if they had Cannondale bikes.. the girl was like, "cannondale bikes... hmm.. yeah!" :lol:

the problem.. they only offer 3 months warranty and they don't sell replacement parts..

the Cannondale has better reviews than the Fuji.. and it turns out the Bike Inn doesn't have any Fuji Nevada 1.0 in my size.. only the 2.0 with upgraded disc brakes..

is it a sensible decision to take the Cannondale, factoring in the warranty and lack of availability of parts from sport and games??

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » April 23rd, 2009, 1:22 pm

u will get the lifetime warranty....i get the warranty from them and so does my friend with an F6......call west mall or something.......its not 3 months....its lifetime and the parts is not your business....if it breaks within warranty they have to replace it....they will have to get parts for it, thats what they are doing for my front fork right now....if they dont u can report them to cannondale for not horouring a warranty....

Postby 3stagevtec » April 23rd, 2009, 1:33 pm

i just called west mall and confirmed the warranty..

VK-Sportsman

Postby VK-Sportsman » April 23rd, 2009, 2:22 pm

On the topic of mountain bikes, who would ever buy this? :roll:
http://www.scottusa.com/us_en/category/1665/spark :shock:

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » April 23rd, 2009, 6:26 pm

i'll have to be high on something to buy that........for about 8KUSD i could get this.....and i'll buy that??????!!!!???
cannondale moto carbon 2
full carbon fiber frame and swingarm.....and some nice components to match like the wheels, brakes and the forever cool crank brothers pedals

3stagevtec wrote:idiots! i called them.. "no, we don't have mountain bikes"

i called them back, same reply.. i then asked if they had Cannondale bikes.. the girl was like, "cannondale bikes... hmm.. yeah!" :lol:

over the phone or walking into that branch and speaking to the girl at the counter or even the store manager is like walking into a radioshack and asking for a few batteries.......both of them are absolutely clueless......there is, however, a friendly sales attendant there. :)

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » April 23rd, 2009, 7:52 pm

^^^good find.....thats a nice looking bike, especially the matte black :P i'm not familiar with that crankset or the headset though........but the rest of the components look good.....same fork, hubs, rear derailleur, shifters and brake set as the F7 Disc and the warranty is excellent...looks like a good buy!!!

i bought a lot of my biking essentials there...see if you can cut a deal with some extras thrown in like tools, saddle bag, water bottle, lights, helmet etc.

also dont just size the bike....ask for a demo....u'll never be able to know if a bike fits you properly unless u take it for a small spin.........they usually need a little bit of adjusting(derailleurs and brakes etc)....so dont push it too hard as soon as u jump on it :wink:

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » April 23rd, 2009, 9:07 pm

I have a BMX, i could join you all in a trail run?

Tsuchiya

Postby Tsuchiya » April 24th, 2009, 5:22 am

wagon r wrote:reg. bike helmet, not full face, gloves, cycle shorts (very important...!) and dais it. carry allen key set and a pump....good sneakers or cycle shoes (up to you)....and some bravery..

some guys have they camel pack....i have two bottles.....with gatorade powder mix from PS..... wayyyyy cheaper than buyin them by the bottle....

PLUS chocolate.... :P

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » April 24th, 2009, 6:50 am

Check Mike's bikes in St. James if you want your bike from an actual bike shop (you do). They treat you very decently, but they are pricer than Bike Inn (only draw back).

They also carry Giant, specialized, Haro and Diamondback.

The Trek bikes from Geronimo are very decent and priced well, but I was felt I was treated 2nd class in that store, so never bought anything there ... might just be me.

richiepooh

Postby richiepooh » April 24th, 2009, 8:26 am

Geronimo is lacking customer service BADLY!!!!!!!

Yet they have good products. Rhonda(Gene's wife) was the best thing that ever happened to that store. wish she can come back full time. The worst thing is those two idiots at the front desk at present.

richiepooh

Postby richiepooh » April 24th, 2009, 8:28 am

Anyone interested in Weekly Mountain bike rides??? Lets do something.

I'll start: I'M GAME

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » April 24th, 2009, 9:25 am

richiepooh wrote:Anyone interested in Weekly Mountain bike rides??? Lets do something.

I'll start: I'M GAME

I there with you, but I have jiu-jitsu on Saturday's from 12-2pm so Sat mornings are out ... Sat evenings are fine, once we not hashing lol

Sunday's anytime :P

Postby wagon r » April 24th, 2009, 11:05 am

have karting this weekend so my squad will fall in next week.......and we'll be down the the golf course....7:30am...

....and 'Slow, yuh right about Gene.....i must say though, they are almost twice as expensive for small parts and gear than Corkies or Bike Inn...

Postby 3stagevtec » April 24th, 2009, 1:10 pm

rollin on 26"s.. :D

it just needs a lil adjusting on the brakes, the front a little slack.. will carry it for a proper test ride this evening..

PapaC

Postby PapaC » April 24th, 2009, 1:18 pm

Mr. Go Slow wrote:but I was felt I was treated 2nd class in that store, so never bought anything there ... might just be me.

Wasn't just you.
I got that treatment about 9 years ago, summer vacation and trying to get some stuff, and dey sour me.
Succesfully carrying myt torch since then. Never went back.

But hear this, where you guys ride more, North or South, and what part of the country you all located, I still travelling on P2's so i limited to meet up to ride.

sweeks

Postby sweeks » April 24th, 2009, 1:33 pm

Anyone interested in doing something in the central range (Balmain --Preysal --Freeport -- Caparo -- Brasso -- Gran Couva -- Balmain), I'm game on Sundays 6:00am. There's lot of safe parking at the Ato Boldon Stadium.

richiepooh

Postby richiepooh » April 24th, 2009, 1:50 pm

the best time for me anyway is sunday mornings. So lets say every other sunday. :roll:

richiepooh

Postby richiepooh » April 24th, 2009, 1:51 pm

sweeks wrote:Anyone interested in doing something in the central range (Balmain --Preysal --Freeport -- Caparo -- Brasso -- Gran Couva -- Balmain), I'm game on Sundays 6:00am. There's lot of safe parking at the Ato Boldon Stadium.

sounds good

sweeks

Postby sweeks » April 24th, 2009, 2:23 pm

Give me a holler on Saturday to confirm 777-3077