Mitsubishi Galant Project

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

Corollaman

Mitsubishi Galant Project

Postby Corollaman » February 5th, 2009, 9:56 pm

Hello tuners.

Been thinking of this a while now and finally decided to get this project off the ground. We have a PAJ series galant pack down home doing nothing. It was my grand dad's car. At first we were considering selling it but I can't bear to see someone pullin bull with it, or treating it badly.

It's the super saloon - 2.0, power everything, 3spd auto, 4 wheel disk brakes. It's the model shown in the photo below.

Body wise, it's in good shape and, well, it works! Interior is in a mess though, as well as the suspension and engine. No major accidents though! My idea is to bring the car back to as original a state as possible (within reason of course)

My first question to you all is.... taking into consideration the fact that body parts, much less interior parts are hard to find, is it even feasible to think that I could restore this vehicle?

I'll post some pics of the car later.

venum

Postby venum » February 6th, 2009, 5:00 pm

YES YOU CAN

engine may not original though

interior will call for some hunting around

sidewayz69

Postby sidewayz69 » February 15th, 2009, 8:41 am

d body real straight
ya looking good but doe go and frig up d car by making it ah

NISSAN GALENT EH

Postby ~Vēġó~ » February 15th, 2009, 10:48 am

d body real straight
ya looking good

^^^am that's not the pic of the actual car...

sidewayz69

Postby sidewayz69 » February 26th, 2009, 8:36 pm

~˜VëgŲ˜~ wrote:
d body real straight
ya looking good

serious..............................
u then so 4

sidewayz69

Postby sidewayz69 » February 26th, 2009, 9:56 pm

so wha u putting inside d gallent?

venum

Postby venum » February 27th, 2009, 5:27 pm

keep it stock

may get an engine in teh bamboo

sidewayz69

Postby sidewayz69 » March 5th, 2009, 9:21 pm

4G63!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Re: Mitsubishi Galant Project

Postby *KRONIK* » March 6th, 2009, 7:11 am

Corollaman wrote:

yesterday i came across a galant like this..........

the body was perfectly straight..........all trims in place..........

no rust etc.........

ill trey to tek some pics this week

Postby ~Vēġó~ » March 7th, 2009, 1:35 pm

sidewayz69 wrote:
~˜VëgŲ˜~ wrote:
d body real straight
ya looking good

serious..............................
u then so 4

oh, didn't realise that you were commenting on the actual vehicle.....apologies for not realising that you probably have seen and was stating that the actual vehicle's body was real straight 8-)

miguel granville

Postby miguel granville » April 8th, 2009, 8:08 pm

where can i get parts to buy for the gsr galant old model like the pic
( shocks and stuff )

rite now we have in the original gsr shocks, the one that you could take out and re-oil but it kinda getting old seals start to leak. so if i could get to replace it ill be happy

help

sidewayz69

Postby sidewayz69 » April 22nd, 2009, 11:20 pm

miguel granville wrote:where can i get parts to buy for the gsr galant old model like the pic
( shocks and stuff )

rite now we have in the original gsr shocks, the one that you could take out and re-oil but it kinda getting old seals start to leak. so if i could get to replace it ill be happy

help

there is nothing like ah gsr galent!
that is the SUPER SALOON galent
u will be safer if u look 4 ah set of coil overs 2 modify onto d car

wha u want again?

Postby ronsin1 » April 23rd, 2009, 6:27 am

*KRONIK* wrote:
Corollaman wrote:

yesterday i came across a galant like this..........

the body was perfectly straight..........all trims in place..........

no rust etc.........

ill trey to tek some pics this week

where the pics

more importantly are they selling

Postby *KRONIK* » April 23rd, 2009, 7:51 am

car is from UWI

a old guy owns it

ill try to sorts it this week

Postby janfar » April 23rd, 2009, 7:57 am

Why dont you try taking the old interior to get reupholstered. Should not be that hard. What kind of engine comes with this model 'Galant'.

FugiTECH

Postby FugiTECH » July 2nd, 2009, 10:53 am

there is nothing like ah gsr galent!

No there isnt but There is something like a GSR GalAnt

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/EloC_1kCkPw&hl=en&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed>

btw Correction Bump

devrat

Postby devrat » July 2nd, 2009, 5:09 pm

Those super saloon galants had a lot of power features for that era..real nice cars.
Sidewayz69 please stop typing gallent.

sidewayz69

Postby sidewayz69 » July 2nd, 2009, 9:28 pm

Sidewayz69 please stop typing gallent.[/quote]

ok

gallantpan

Postby gallantpan » July 5th, 2009, 9:23 pm

sidewayz69, coilovers u say... no get king springs; lowering springs for that car , it's a project, do it right.
Last edited by gallantpan on December 19th, 2010, 5:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.

sidewayz69

Postby sidewayz69 » July 7th, 2009, 7:39 pm

any how u wanna do it
i cut my springs leaving 4 coils and i got ah great ride
not bounceeee eh lol

when u ready na

miguel granville

Postby miguel granville » July 7th, 2009, 10:10 pm

hey ppl need some help
im upgrading the rear diff on the galant
but the banjo i using has some serious disk brakes on it
so i say its a good time to upgrade the FRONT BRAKES one time
rite now im using the galant 2000 gsr turbo FRONT BRAKE setup off a crash gally but still dont meet my needs

i heard about fellaz using the laurel c33 FRONT cradle arm and spindle with the r32 rotor and caliper and cifero or s13 coilovers

let me hear your suggestions

heppppppppp plz coming to trini next weekend so if i get info i could pick up parts by the bamboo

gallantpan

gut springs

Postby gallantpan » July 8th, 2009, 5:58 am

sidewayz69 wrote:any how u wanna do it
i cut my springs leaving 4 coils and i got ah great ride
not bounceeee eh lol

when u ready na

tha is true dawg, I never see a galant with cut spring bounceing like ah b14, but ride was too ridgid

gallantpan

Postby gallantpan » July 8th, 2009, 6:05 am

miguel granville wrote:hey ppl need some help
im upgrading the rear diff on the galant
but the banjo i using has some serious disk brakes on it
so i say its a good time to upgrade the FRONT BRAKES one time
rite now im using the galant 2000 gsr turbo FRONT BRAKE setup off a crash gally but still dont meet my needs

i heard about fellaz using the laurel c33 FRONT cradle arm and spindle with the r32 rotor and caliper and cifero or s13 coilovers

let me hear your suggestions

heppppppppp plz coming to trini next weekend so if i get info i could pick up parts by the bamboo

Is it vented front disc?? galant 2000 gsr turbo -you mean galant 2.0 turbo super saloon. see how the rear disc perform first b4 u up grade the front also upgrade brake booster & master clyinder

miguel granville

Postby miguel granville » July 8th, 2009, 6:34 am

yes in know that, the booster is upgraded long time just need better front brakes
going for big power so need to stop

reecewashi

Postby reecewashi » July 9th, 2009, 12:56 am

Cool, info on the front brakes upgrade will be helpful, seriously the car will need more stoping power :D

legoRB

Postby legoRB » July 10th, 2009, 12:00 am

keep it coming..........

sharkmouth

Postby sharkmouth » September 20th, 2010, 7:28 pm

no boy....it not really wise to restore it original....but if you rich,have real time to look around for parts...and know you wont get what back you put out...do it..or sell it to me?i need a lil car to go to school and thing and i will treat the car real good...

gallantpan

Postby gallantpan » December 19th, 2010, 2:36 pm

Ah jus fed up seeing lancer, wham to the galant ppl, come na man.
MY PROJECT/DAILY DRIVER.
We'll start from the early days in 2000.
It had a N.A. Sirius 4g63 (2.0)5fwd.
then one ah this

4G63B turbo carb. blown thru this

a Weber 140/140 ratchet type.
old TD05 turbo capable of 20psi+
this crap did last long for what it was. it was there for 3 years with the ac pump no power steering.
It was a good learning experience no regrets except for two fail mechanics in San f'do, 1 self thought & the other too proud. I learned alot about Weber carbs.
Then the sirius mash up in a puff of oil from a split cylinder sleeve (running hard coming back from Reform/Taruba)early 2007. Is ah good thing ah had this waiting.

This is a 4G63T from a 1992 GALANT VR4 Limited edition (1g). It came with factory up grades like 510cc injectors, ecu fuel upgrade, modified turbo TD05 16G the big one.
yes there is such a car:

I end up installing this mostly by my self, had help from my best buds @ maztune b4 they were maztune lol. It went in RWD mated to the Sirius turbo 2.0L box via an adaptor plate.

Original brackets slotted because of the adaptor plate.

There was no way i was doing this so top mount fuh that.

Still some tweaking.

That's better. Bert @BLUE CORAL racing in P Town did my welding on both exhaust & intake manifolds.
I had to turn the housing. this is what was hiding, a TD05 16G
Nice.
This is not as easy as it looks. I had little time an paper since my son was born in June that same year. At this point it was august 2007.
This is after wiring and piping.
It ran good like this for 1.5yrs but was being held back by the 2.25" exhaust, but it still managed 14.9 @10psi on the quarter( TTASA TEST & TUNE 2008)
Eventually saved up enough paper for this- full 3" exhaust with 3" turbo barrel (TRUST/JASMA) done by Specialist muffler in St.Madeline.
That is what was missing, she ran like a beyotch now, bumped it up to 15psi i figure at least mid 13's.
More pics
Rancho 9 point adjustable nitrogen filled shocks.
GN model limited edition taillights from down under
I had to use a B12 booster cause nothing else would fit
TTASA test & tune 2008
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fqQO7U1xXSI
This project is incomplete & still in progress if time and money permits, still to add vented rear disc brakes, a new gear box & a new exhaust manifold and a body job.
Hope to see more Galant projects added, ah looking out.
To be continued.

Finally got the rear disc installed, they don't look like much but I'm surprised by the stopping power from the pair, Galant SS vented rear disc, handbrakes have small issues but they're holding.

I luckily got a pair of these installed, the good rubber mounts are scarce.
Last edited by gallantpan on March 21st, 2013, 6:41 pm, edited 4 times in total.

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » December 20th, 2010, 12:36 pm

:shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:

Thats a lot of work there man, you saying it not complete but most of the major work seems to be done.

Would like to see the final result.

Talibanmafia

Postby Talibanmafia » January 11th, 2011, 12:50 pm

Nice work on the wagon i saw it run at camden,i am doing the same conversion VR4 RS 4G63T but using rx7 gearbox.fed up ah seein NISSANS in Lancers & Galants.

Return to “MITSUBISHI”