How to loose your car in 5 seconds in Trinidad

Mini

Postby Mini » April 21st, 2009, 8:39 pm

yeah... but yuh park in a no parking zone.. what yuh expect?

anyways... did anyone notice that at 0.54 into he video when the wrecker is driving off there's a car parked pretty much in the same spot!

srnoth

Postby srnoth » April 21st, 2009, 8:52 pm

And if all else fails... track down the wrecker and sabotage it... doubt you can get parts in the bamboo for that :twisted: .

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » April 21st, 2009, 8:55 pm

Eve though it was a front wheel drive, didn't he park with his handbrakes up? If he did..... wouldn't that lock-up his rear tyres?

My first question.

Unless he is a dipstick who just put it eeen park and gone.

0awg

Postby 0awg » April 21st, 2009, 9:55 pm

enigma wrote:They supposed to inquire as to the whereabouts of the driver of the vehicle first. I'm almost sure this is written somewhere.

yes that is true.

I saw them in the process of wrecking a car on fredrick st last thursday & the police was enquiring as to where the driver was, he came out our building & they put the car down & let him move. first time I see that one. the hilux parked there wasnt so lucky.

all who saying it good fro them, why cant they provide parking for all the cars that come into pos? why dont they send them wreckers where they really needed? know how much time man park up on the road where I live? hell, it have audi & thing in the ghetto here parked on the road because the "owners" dont even have a driveway or garage :roll:
man does park all over the road to drink rum by all them rum shops in my area too. where the wreckers when you need them?

it have wreckers in sando btw?

0awg

Postby 0awg » April 21st, 2009, 10:04 pm

duchess wrote:next thing yuh know is a bandit get one of them wreckers, cause it's not even indicating it's a police vehicle.

this happen in chag already, bandit come with a flat bed wrecker & take a car :shock:

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » April 21st, 2009, 10:21 pm

Knight1 wrote:
Eve though it was a front wheel drive, didn't he park with his handbrakes up? If he did..... wouldn't that lock-up his rear tyres?

My first question.

once the car is lifted to a certain position the brakes won't hold because the back wheel angle to the road is changed
then as the brake gets hot it fades making towing easier

ingalook

Postby ingalook » April 21st, 2009, 11:00 pm

Let's just build a crapload of Government buildings in POS and put no parking... we're the Government, we don't need to follow our own rules

If a man open a business he is legally required to provide a certain number of parks for his customers... :roll:

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » April 21st, 2009, 11:01 pm

Freelander wrote:although the video is hilarious its extreemly unjust teh way tehy carry out sheit in trinidad.

as someone stated what if it was an AWD vehicle?

my knowledge is they are not responsible for any damages caused during towing.

how a proper towing supposed to happen is you are issued a ticket. if you are still parked there within a certain time frame. a wrecker is called!

but wait thats if they ahve enough police to patrol...

but wait thats if trinidad was a country filled with commonsense...

but wait thats if trinidad was a place where the citizens have rights...

Wrecker was SUPPOSED to look for the owner before doing such actions!

im sure if this video could be used as evidence he would have a VERY good case against the police officer in the wrecker!

Funny but fcuked up!

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » April 21st, 2009, 11:20 pm

xtech wrote:Time for parking meters in the city center. Send the wreckers home an let those busy officers walk d beat an give out tickets for time-out meters. Lots of jobs can be created for meter mades.

Vision 2020?

Notorious Scullman

Postby Notorious Scullman » April 22nd, 2009, 12:36 am

pete wrote:When I used to work on Abercromby Street I saw a LOT of cars get towed. The police operated differently there though. They would come out of the wrecker and knock on our door to see if the person was inside before taking the car.

Problem is the wrecker is working on commission. For every car they wreck they get a fixed amount of money. Why not give the police officer a little "cut" to ignore the proper due process of coming out and asking the person to move the car when they can just pick up the car and move with it and everyone gets their $.

The really crap thing about where they tow is that it's usually not in an area where the illegal parking causes a traffic problem. It's USUALLY somewhere they can easily pick up a car and move with it.

Does anyone know what the repercussions would be for jumping into the car as its pulling off? If you get in the car you get a free ride to the station and you can claim how you were going to move the car and they towed you anyway to maybe get away from the ticket.

This happened to me outside Mangoes on the Avenue at around 7:30am with the same wrecker and officer. Got out the car, just got through the door, and they showed up, ran outside, disarm alarm, open door, one leg inside the car and as it started to lift the front wheels sped off. I barely got a chance to close the door. 7 people inside Mangoes saw it and said they'd stand witness.
Got to the car as they were bringin another into the yard. Asked the officer why he'd take a car with someone half inside. He laughed and said he'd never do that.

Been trying to get video of this same thing ever since but it happens so quickly I've always missed it.

I threatened to file a complaint and he laughed it off and dared me. I didn't bother to follow up on it cos I don't have the time and you do that and then you have an officer and a wrecker driver who have no regard for the law with your home address. I think not.

If I do manage to get some video, I'd be happy to add to yours to prove your point cos they were doing it up to last Thursday.

Postby buzz » April 22nd, 2009, 12:39 am

AbstractPoetic wrote:
xtech wrote:Time for parking meters in the city center. Send the wreckers home an let those busy officers walk d beat an give out tickets for time-out meters. Lots of jobs can be created for meter mades.

Vision 2020?

will never happen 8-)

Postby buzz » April 22nd, 2009, 12:41 am

Notorious Scullman wrote:
pete wrote:When I used to work on Abercromby Street I saw a LOT of cars get towed. The police operated differently there though. They would come out of the wrecker and knock on our door to see if the person was inside before taking the car.

Problem is the wrecker is working on commission. For every car they wreck they get a fixed amount of money. Why not give the police officer a little "cut" to ignore the proper due process of coming out and asking the person to move the car when they can just pick up the car and move with it and everyone gets their $.

The really crap thing about where they tow is that it's usually not in an area where the illegal parking causes a traffic problem. It's USUALLY somewhere they can easily pick up a car and move with it.

Does anyone know what the repercussions would be for jumping into the car as its pulling off? If you get in the car you get a free ride to the station and you can claim how you were going to move the car and they towed you anyway to maybe get away from the ticket.

This happened to me outside Mangoes on the Avenue at around 7:30am with the same wrecker and officer. Got out the car, just got through the door, and they showed up, ran outside, disarm alarm, open door, one leg inside the car and as it started to lift the front wheels sped off. I barely got a chance to close the door. 7 people inside Mangoes saw it and said they'd stand witness.
Got to the car as they were bringin another into the yard. Asked the officer why he'd take a car with someone half inside. He laughed and said he'd never do that.

Been trying to get video of this same thing ever since but it happens so quickly I've always missed it.

I threatened to file a complaint and he laughed it off and dared me. I didn't bother to follow up on it cos I don't have the time and you do that and then you have an officer and a wrecker driver who have no regard for the law with your home address. I think not.

If I do manage to get some video, I'd be happy to add to yours to prove your point cos they were doing it up to last Thursday.

<insert>

but you were breaking the law you are no better than kidnappers

</insert>

Notorious Scullman

Postby Notorious Scullman » April 22nd, 2009, 12:52 am

Breaking the law by parking 150ft away from a pole with no sign on it?

:oops: I've got a fan club! :lol:

§ephiroth

Postby §ephiroth » April 22nd, 2009, 12:56 am

Another thing is dem blasted idiots does be SPEEDING and driving ridiculously hard with vehicles behind them........I sometimes worry about children crossing roads etc.....they have no reason to be driving that hard.....Is this considered moving with pace or something? Why must they be so RECKLESS!?

Postby buzz » April 22nd, 2009, 1:01 am

welcome to the failed moral state of trinidad

enjoy your stay :wink:

Notorious Scullman

Postby Notorious Scullman » April 22nd, 2009, 1:02 am

:wink: It's only a stay.
I'll be goin back shortly

Postby buzz » April 22nd, 2009, 1:03 am

@ §ephiroth

sorry Notorious Scullman you were saying ?

myname2

Postby myname2 » April 22nd, 2009, 1:27 am

only in TnT :lol: :lol:

myname2

Postby myname2 » April 22nd, 2009, 1:35 am

gone in 5sec...... :twisted:

srnoth

Postby srnoth » April 22nd, 2009, 9:41 am

pioneer wrote:This is just a start.

Kudos to the officers, well done TTPS.

If you were half inside you should have stayed there.

Yes of course... commend the officer for breaking the law in the name of the law... because of course the law only applies to some... excellent work :| .

Postby AllTrac » April 22nd, 2009, 9:51 am

megadoc1 wrote:
Knight1 wrote:

My first question.

once the car is lifted to a certain position the brakes won't hold because the back wheel angle to the road is changed

whut????

Postby wagonrunner » April 22nd, 2009, 9:55 am

AllTrac wrote:
megadoc1 wrote:
Knight1 wrote:

My first question.

whut????

if you park on a hill, your brakes would be useless i guess?

xtech

Postby xtech » April 22nd, 2009, 10:04 am

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/OlLC1Iy1UkE&hl=en&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed>
Sub Titles
Lady>>> u stupid man this FWD
TowTruckMan>>> RWD see that why i Tow it backwards beyotch
Lady>>> U break my transmmision if you that
TowTruckMan>>>> HAHAHAHAHAHA..........beyotch
Lady>>>>F U

Postby pete » April 22nd, 2009, 10:04 am

In reality we don't normally engage our handbrakes fully when we park.. at least I don't. I usually pull up the HB til I get a good bit of tension on it but I know if I use that same setting on my hill at home it doesn't stop the car from moving so I have to pull a lot harder on it.

IMHO.. better to have it engaged enough to stop the car from moving when parked but allow the wheels to move when being towed. Who wants to pay a ticket AND buy two new tyres?

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » April 22nd, 2009, 10:27 am

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: @ woman driving with tow truck!

POLICE shoudl know better and respect people!

the ONLY time this a wrecker should ever move anyone in that manner is if the car was parked in font of an active driveway!

ingalook

Postby ingalook » April 22nd, 2009, 10:56 am

Well... they literally do this in 5 seconds... de faster they could do it - the more cars they could tow - the more cars they tow... its a fast way to make money

Why bother with decentralization or providing parking when you can screw you people who just bend over and grin and bear it :evil:

TheBoostLord

Postby TheBoostLord » April 22nd, 2009, 10:59 am

AllTrac wrote:
megadoc1 wrote:
Knight1 wrote:

My first question.

whut????

if you park on a hill, your brakes would be useless i guess?

wam 2 alyuh boy. 1st of all when ur car is lifted most of the weight gunna be on the rear wheels which is going to be more force against the brakes. Also most handbrake systems are connected to drums brakes. Many cars also have a drum handbrake system in addition to rear disc brakes such as some sti's. You guys really think that little braking power trying to act against all that force is going to do anything?

what id want to know is what happens if they try to wreck a auto rwd vehicle in park, because there is a notch that locks the transmission in place preventing the vehicle from moving. is this broken or damaged in anyway?

Awd vehicles may stand a chance as the centre diff of what not MAY take up the slack but still stand a very high chance of damage.

Postby 16 cycles » April 22nd, 2009, 11:02 am

i say wreck them

right through P.O.S people double parked causing two lanes to filter into single lanes etc....no consideration for anyone else.

on the other hand, still woudn't address the poor planning for P.O.S. with respect to parking space - the cry for decentralization etc

ingalook

Postby ingalook » April 22nd, 2009, 11:10 am

16 cycles wrote:i say wreck them

right through P.O.S people double parked causing two lanes to filter into single lanes etc....no consideration for anyone else.

on the other hand, still woudn't address the poor planning for P.O.S. with respect to parking space - the cry for decentralization etc

Clearly the owner wasn't being a nuisance/inconsiderate as he was standing next to his vehicle foolishly thinking that he would be there to move it if necessary :roll:

Postby crazybalhead » April 22nd, 2009, 3:35 pm

All of you muffler bearings who justifying parking in a no parking zone. Oh he was right dey.

Ent the car off and the driver out?? Why dmc yuh park dey for?

In my experience there is always a legal alternative to park. Its just trinis too fackin lazy to walk anywhere and always want to take a chance.