My RETIRED SQ Build Breakdown 08 UPDATED SUB BUILD

jeff

My RETIRED SQ Build Breakdown 08 UPDATED SUB BUILD

Postby jeff » April 14th, 2009, 9:52 am

well car sold :cry: , scrapped out, still looking for a replacement, had plenty big plans for this year but things popped up, hence all my attention went into spl

anyways
in this thread i will be detailing in sections what went on in my build
Everything you see here i did, i Always had the option to get a pro to do it but i thought i would learn more this way

this costed me as, in several areas of my install i had little 2mm gaps that Only judges saw....yes i said "2mm" gaps in the pod spacing with little errors and spacing problems here and there and lost point for craftsmanship consistently for Every show, All the install judges know what i talkin about 8-)

but at the end of the day i know i did it myself, those who know me also know this but the important thing is I learnt alot from it

Il start with some facts about my system,
as usual i was on a budget best bang for buck system

yes that is audiopipe
most of my wire accesories were audiopipe, battery terminal, fuse holder, 4 awg wire etcetc
hurricane power speaker wire was used and stinger and XXX( :oops: ) interconnects were used...10$ for a 17ft...

the tweeter i used for competition costs about 80$TT...dont ask me the brand :oops:
my subs....most know them, the maxxsonics mb quart, for the price the dealer sells them for locally at That level they hard to beat... the new mb quart have nuff haters and thats 1 good reason why i use it 8-)

My door pod build, any questions ask

glass mold, with inserts set

foamed

shaped

filled and covered in this

end result

Last edited by jeff on May 12th, 2009, 5:22 pm, edited 2 times in total.

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » April 14th, 2009, 10:02 am

could you post more on the door pods?

Pirate

Postby Pirate » April 14th, 2009, 11:34 am

Those pods look great.

Soundstream_626

Postby Soundstream_626 » April 14th, 2009, 12:14 pm

good post ... im sure u have ppl like wdmc with the cost of the tweeter

and the rcas ... :lol:

Sully

Postby Sully » April 14th, 2009, 2:14 pm

pioneer wrote:i thought craftsmanship doh add/take points?

If you look at page INST-12 of the rules there's the reason why the scores the way they are.

"In this section, Judges will evaluate the quality of work and elements of the installation that contribute to reliability, longevity, and durability of the audio system as well as the overall fit and finish of the installation. The degree of difficulty involved with the various elements of an installation will be considered along with use of exotic materials, fasteners and/or
installation techniques.

Pretty much if you have small gaps, then the install can't be perfect, so it gets scored lower. You can think of it deducting points, but it's actually just rating the work done.

theblitz

Postby theblitz » April 14th, 2009, 7:27 pm

Soundstream_626 wrote:good post ... im sure u have ppl like wdmc with the cost of the tweeter

and the rcas
... :lol:

IF! :lol:

I shocked but I always figured there is only so much manufacturers can do to a power cable or RCA to make it better.

I like the door pods real bad :twisted:

If I get F/U door upholstery (cheap :oops: ) for my car I wanna try some fancy stuff like that.

Never seen it in person but great work jeff

evolution7tt

Postby evolution7tt » April 14th, 2009, 9:14 pm

What headunit did you use?

Great work on the doors!!!

Firewall

Postby Firewall » April 14th, 2009, 9:42 pm

jeff, in the third pic, what kinda foam is that and where did you get it?

PLEASE LET ME KNOW :(

Soundstream_626

Postby Soundstream_626 » April 14th, 2009, 9:52 pm

thats expanding foam ... it is sold by the tin ... it usually around between 40 to 50 bux a tin and u can get it at many hardwares eg bhagwansinghs and home store etc

demboyzaudio

Postby demboyzaudio » April 14th, 2009, 11:57 pm

evolution7tt wrote:What headunit did you use?

Great work on the doors!!!

Pioneer Premier 880PRS :twisted:

jeff

Postby jeff » April 22nd, 2009, 2:24 am

il be posting more as i get time, its a shame the car sold, right before i sold it i got the courage to pull out the air saw and only cut one side before finding out and having to patch things up

couldnt beat those nissan kicks yes...
what nearly could have been

jeff

Postby jeff » May 12th, 2009, 5:21 pm

this is about 1/10th of my scrapped down wires :?

make frame, lay down glass about 10 layers went on this, yes its overkill but say what

i missed a few pics here, attach baffle, notice how thick the baffle is...
i experimented with an aperiodic membrane in this enclosure, results came out pretty good

Mb Quart Premiums were used
and the finished pic, for competition i used 1 sub only turned All the way down, the bass from these subs is tremendous yet very transparant
with amazing sq...

any questions feel free...

infinite_RPM

Postby infinite_RPM » May 12th, 2009, 5:51 pm

u wana do pods for my doors??? :P

jeff

Postby jeff » May 12th, 2009, 7:10 pm

infinite_RPM wrote:u wana do pods for my doors??? :P

lol sorry even if my job wasnt 24hrs a day i still cant find it in myself to do installs for ppl...i get enough trouble doing mines already with no time

i can try my best to answer your questions tho

also im sure the many installers on the forum can help you out :)

if not i can recommend someone who can do it for you... 8-)

Chiney

Postby Chiney » May 12th, 2009, 8:36 pm

dude!! thats the same wat i plan to do my amp rack..looks real next and sexy yo!

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » May 12th, 2009, 11:45 pm

Did you redo the entire door upholstery or was this just attached to the current one?
If it was attached to the current one, did you have to cut the old one?

I'm thinking of doing something like this in the future. (Minus the DK thing :lol: )

jeff

Postby jeff » May 13th, 2009, 9:30 am

DJ Q wrote:Did you redo the entire door upholstery or was this just attached to the current one?
If it was attached to the current one, did you have to cut the old one?

no where in my door build was anything cut
in the case where i have to sell my car everything is turned back completely stock

infinite_RPM

Postby infinite_RPM » May 13th, 2009, 6:00 pm

jeff wrote:
infinite_RPM wrote:u wana do pods for my doors??? :P

lol sorry even if my job wasnt 24hrs a day i still cant find it in myself to do installs for ppl...i get enough trouble doing mines already with no time

i can try my best to answer your questions tho

also im sure the many installers on the forum can help you out :)

if not i can recommend someone who can do it for you... 8-)

Pm a contact number of sumone south-central plz....thx