SUMMIT Traffic Advisories & Restrictions - 19.04.09

Postby hustla_ambition101 » April 2nd, 2009, 9:15 pm

check your date. isn't it supposed to be 02/04/09

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » April 2nd, 2009, 9:28 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:check your date. isn't it supposed to be 02/04/09

Fixed. Thanks mate!

Postby pete » April 2nd, 2009, 10:50 pm

Head east to Grande - Manzanilla - Mayaro - Rio Claro - Princes Town - Chaguanas. Repeat in reverse to get home.

Or head west until Pasea, cross the highway and go through the back roads to the SMR and head to the highway from the roundabout after the bridge.

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » April 2nd, 2009, 10:54 pm

pioneer wrote:norstar2k, i have a question, people who living say on the east/west corridor how do we get to south/central if the west bound lane is locked off?

if i wanted to go say...price plaza in chag...how i getting there?

"Residents wishing to go to Central or South are being advised to take the Mausica Road to Caroni North Bank Road, Carapo Road, then Caroni South Bank Road."

originalbling

Postby originalbling » April 2nd, 2009, 10:55 pm

^^ LOL.

Based on the info posted, the Westbound would be a 2 way - similar to last sunday.

I am guessing traffic will be allowed to cross at Grand Bazaar, Kay Donna, UWI, Pasea intersections as normal.

norstar2k, can you clarify pls.

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » April 2nd, 2009, 11:35 pm

originalbling wrote:^^ LOL.

Based on the info posted, the Westbound would be a 2 way - similar to last sunday.

I am guessing traffic will be allowed to cross at Grand Bazaar, Kay Donna, UWI, Pasea intersections as normal.

Err no the Eastbound as last week will be dual.

"The east bound lanes of both the Churchill Roosevelt and Beetham Highways will operate as dual carriageways from Mausica Intersection in the east to the Lighthouse in the West."

"The west bound lane of Churchill Roosevelt Highway will be closed to vehicular traffic from Mausica Junction to the Barataria Flyover.
The west bound lane of the Beetham Highway will be closed to vehicular from the Barataria Flyover to the Lighthouse."

dbeast

Postby dbeast » April 3rd, 2009, 8:38 am

What time is the lock down on Friday 10th April?
I am leaving from Bamboo #2 to Arima Early that morning.

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » April 3rd, 2009, 9:07 am

norstar2k wrote:
pioneer wrote:norstar2k, i have a question, people who living say on the east/west corridor how do we get to south/central if the west bound lane is locked off?

if i wanted to go say...price plaza in chag...how i getting there?

"Residents wishing to go to Central or South are being advised to take the Mausica Road to Caroni North Bank Road, Carapo Road, then Caroni South Bank Road."

Ok i lost :|

I hope this helps. See map Pg.1

originalbling

Postby originalbling » April 3rd, 2009, 11:39 am

norstar2k wrote:
originalbling wrote:^^ LOL.

Err no the Eastbound as last week will be dual.

"The east bound lanes of both the Churchill Roosevelt and Beetham Highways will operate as dual carriageways from Mausica Intersection in the east to the Lighthouse in the West."

"The west bound lane of Churchill Roosevelt Highway will be closed to vehicular traffic from Mausica Junction to the Barataria Flyover.
The west bound lane of the Beetham Highway will be closed to vehicular from the Barataria Flyover to the Lighthouse."

sorry dey -made a typo.

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » April 3rd, 2009, 2:54 pm

DRY RUN: Fri. 10th April 2009 - CANCELLED

There shall be no more exercises of this nature. All lessons have been learnt from the exercises on Sunday 29th March 2009.

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » April 3rd, 2009, 3:09 pm

Expect continuous changes as we get closer. There is turbulence in the Summit camp.

The heavy restrictions for the North terminal may be 'relaxed' also.

There is finally a plan to implement a set of SOPs for guidance and support as indicated by Minister Browne. Too much hearsay, opinion and confusion.

The Sector command structure may also change:

Sector 1 - Piarco Airport.
Sector 2 - Routes.
Sector 3 - Hyatt Regency Hotel and other restricted zones and the Diplomatic Centre.
Sector 4 - Venues and accommodation.
Sector 5 - Wild Fowl Trust, carded to be visited by spouses of diplomats.
Sector 6 - Tobago.

originalbling

Postby originalbling » April 3rd, 2009, 3:38 pm

Sounds like too much cooks in the kitchen.

best they let US SS take over planning

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » April 3rd, 2009, 3:48 pm

originalbling wrote:Sounds like too much cooks in the kitchen.

best they let US SS take over planning

The bigger issue is the cooks CAN'T cook. :D

cornfused

Postby cornfused » April 8th, 2009, 9:58 am

On the news this am they were saying something to the effect of a contained area inclusive of colville st etc .

Any word on tomorrow's activities norstar2k?

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » April 8th, 2009, 12:09 pm

I got some limited info on a Sector 3 dry run exercise in POS ONLY tomorrow. 10a - 2p.

This is not a NATIONAL exercise.

Sector 3 involves - Hyatt Regency Hotel, Wrightson Rd. other restricted zones and the Diplomatic Centre (St. Anns).
Last edited by NorStar2K on April 8th, 2009, 1:41 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby wagonrunner » April 8th, 2009, 12:35 pm

norstar2k,
how does a bago trip by ferry (sailing 12midday) on friday 10th look?

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » April 8th, 2009, 12:40 pm

wagonrunner wrote:norstar2k,
how does a bago trip by ferry (sailing 12midday) on friday 10th look?

Once you have a confirmed ticket as proof if challenged, no issue. Get there early to avoid any delays or restrictions.

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » April 8th, 2009, 1:48 pm

Security officials at the National Secretariat for the Fifth Summit of the Americas will conduct a “dry runâ€

slick

Postby slick » April 8th, 2009, 4:04 pm

[quote="norstar2k"]Commander Waldron explains “that vehicles will be restricted during the passage of the convoys along the route but once they have passed, the normal flow of traffic will continueâ€

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » April 9th, 2009, 1:35 pm

so nothing tomorrow right?
Saw it in red in a post above...just confirming...cause I have to go to the airport tomorrow.

Postby pete » April 9th, 2009, 3:12 pm

I thought they're going to be restricting access to the airport from tomorrow until the morning of the 20th.

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » April 9th, 2009, 3:16 pm

No CT9A wrote:so nothing tomorrow right?
Saw it in red in a post above...just confirming...cause I have to go to the airport tomorrow.

Effective tomorrow, Friday 10th April to midnight 15th April, the Police (and Military) shall be conducting regular checks along the BWIA Boulevard and Golden Grove road.

No actual physical checkpoints shall be set up until midnight of the 15th April. The current road/traffic plan remains the same until 12:01am 16th April.

Effective 12:01am 16th April to 6:00am Tuesday 21st full checkpoints shall be in effect.

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » April 10th, 2009, 11:09 am

06 Days, 12 Hours, 51 Minutes, 29 Seconds Until the 5th Summit of the Americas

Swiftguy

Postby Swiftguy » April 10th, 2009, 11:41 am

the highway by Piarco Airport have any checkpoints

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » April 10th, 2009, 1:47 pm

Swiftguy wrote:the highway by Piarco Airport have any checkpoints

I just passed thru and I didn't see any police or signage anywhere. And, as I said before there will be no 'checkpoints' just checks along the route. A 'checkpoint' is a physical manned post. I hope that clears that up. :)

Hybrid Singh

Postby Hybrid Singh » April 10th, 2009, 9:36 pm

Buh wah d mudder c is this, I wonder if we will benefit from this summit of incovenience.

coolfiger

Postby coolfiger » April 11th, 2009, 7:25 am

this sux i gota pick up my mom in the airport on the 16th at 12 pm LOL

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » April 11th, 2009, 8:47 am

coolfiger wrote:this sux i gota pick up my mom in the airport on the 16th at 12 pm LOL

Picking up or dropping off anyone is not an issue, just leave the 3 canal or any other 'weapon' at home :)

N_A_K

Postby N_A_K » April 11th, 2009, 9:15 am

norstar2k wrote:
coolfiger wrote:this sux i gota pick up my mom in the airport on the 16th at 12 pm LOL

Picking up or dropping off anyone is not an issue, just leave the 3 canal or any other 'weapon' at home :)

*goes to take out cutlass,hatchet,baton from van*

DRAGULA

Postby DRAGULA » April 11th, 2009, 9:35 am

any body know fo sure when exactly these traffic restrictions will go into effect and until when? I hear from 12am wed morning until 6pm mon evening. Anybody could confirm? If so is real stress fo people who workin pos :evil: