Two-Way radio clearing issues

theblitz

Two-Way radio clearing issues

Postby theblitz » March 18th, 2009, 9:51 pm

A friend of mine imported a pair of long range two-way radios and apparently they were seized by customs, since the skybox company brought him the bill w/o the package.

He want's to know two things:

--> Does he need a permit to import the radios if they are long range? He has since heard that anything over 10miles requires a license but this has not been confirmed yet.

--> There were other FULLY LEGAL items in the package (bundled shipping) that were not delivered. How can he obtain them from Piarco?

Any advice/suggestions much appreciated.
Thanks

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » March 18th, 2009, 10:13 pm

you may need a license to operate the radio

apple

Postby apple » March 18th, 2009, 10:27 pm

my lil walkie talkies nearly get take...farless for long range

theblitz

Postby theblitz » March 18th, 2009, 10:31 pm

so the range explains the radios being seized then.... thanks.

But what about getting the other items that were shipped out?

DuAL StaR

Postby DuAL StaR » March 18th, 2009, 10:34 pm

theblitz, dude your dad should answer this ent he is a police

apple

Postby apple » March 18th, 2009, 10:39 pm

I dunno....sorry.

originalbling

Postby originalbling » March 18th, 2009, 11:02 pm

theblitz, check with the skybox company - they have to say what happened to the other items especially if they came into T&T in the package. Maybe the entire package is being held by customs.

As for the radios, there is a licence he can get - not sure who issues it though. I do recall seeing something on TATT's website sometime ago concerning radio licences. Call them I am sure they can give some valuable info on the process. If its the FRS/GMRS type radios, guess he just needs the licence cause these are being sold locally.

maybe with SOA, they tighten up on imports - just my opinion.

theblitz

Postby theblitz » March 18th, 2009, 11:07 pm

possibly..... last thing this man need in his life now is to be a suspect :lol:

Will launch queries with the skybox company in the morning.

Thanks All :)

sr20ve

Postby sr20ve » March 18th, 2009, 11:50 pm

Yes you need and import permit in order to get customs to release the radios .... You should get a receipt of seizure from customs. Take that to a customs broker and let them sort it out for you.

Postby Team Loco » March 18th, 2009, 11:51 pm

i bring in at least two pairs of 12 mile motorola radios every two months (for work purpose), via skybox. never had a problem

theblitz

Postby theblitz » March 18th, 2009, 11:58 pm

hmmm.... will do sr20ve

Team Loco, will look into it in the morn.... strange that u got tru though.

Postby Team Loco » March 18th, 2009, 11:59 pm

i use ezone daily. never had a single problem

theblitz

Postby theblitz » March 19th, 2009, 12:03 am

Yeh he was telling me good things about ezone but he uses upx right now.

But I guess if customs get their hands on it there ain't much either one can do :?

Postby Team Loco » March 19th, 2009, 12:18 am

you sure they seize it because of it being radios? could be an issue with the invoice

originalbling

Postby originalbling » March 19th, 2009, 12:19 am

dey will still allow u to get d import licence - do wat sr20ve said.

theblitz

Postby theblitz » March 19th, 2009, 12:27 am

well it is unsure (why I said apparently in the 1st post) but the person from the shipping company did not divulge any specifics as the fella wasn't home so the upx guy spoke to his dad.

Everything should get sorted once he speaks to them 2mrw morning.
Thanks for all the help and I will post the reason when I find out (just as general info for all who helped.)

Tobago sugarman

Postby Tobago sugarman » March 19th, 2009, 8:48 am

Theblitz.......u will have to get a license from TATT. The hard part is getting it, u have to do the HAM radio course and pass the exam, certified by the Radio Society of Great Britain (RSGB) or from the American Amatuer Radio League (AARL). In other words u have to be a licensed operator. If u get caught with certain radio equipment u can be arrested, charged $250,000.00 and 10 yrs imprisonment :shock: :lol: so be careful. Ur friend can sign up to do the course with any HAM radio group in Trinidad either TTARL or TTARS, ask around

nitestalkerman

a reply from the 'friend'

Postby nitestalkerman » March 22nd, 2009, 1:56 pm

Thanks Blitz for raising the topic for me. So this is what happened,

The package arrived on the 6th of March containing the walkie talkie and a brand name belt ( I tried to save on shipping by shipping the two together)

On the 17th of March they finally decide to show up and my door where the guy hands my dad a 'bond' to collect the package and he doesn't know why my package is bonded and he can't deliver it

So after making calls to UPX, they tell me to contact G.A.S. in Piarco and say it is being held there.

After calling G.A.S. i realise that they are just a storage company that charge rental for their storage which had already built up to $140. They gave me a number to call customs to find out what i need to clear walkie talkies.

So I called customs and talked to a small brained chap who was confused and gave me wrong answers and then passed me on to his superior who was very very helpful. She told me I can go to Telecommunication Authority of Trinidad and Tobago in Barataria and apply for a liscense and obtain it in one day. she also said that I can claim the belt alone if I wanted.

So I called TATT and they confirmed that I can get a liscense within the day day or the next day for a normal walkie talkie. At which point I was trying to contact UPX to hold them responsible for not telling me that my package was being held for over a week. I didn't get through several time and left my number which they tried to call back only once when I was on an important call.

At which point I was like screw that, I'll cut my losses and leave the package where it is and buy another belt. (I didn't call back UPX because it is very irrating to call the main number and ask to speak to sumone about the problem everytime since they didnt give me an extension).

So I have concluded:
-It was my fault for not knowing I needed a liscense
-Damn I should have shipped packages separately
-Don't think I'm a fool for ordering a 20 mile walkie talkie, it was one of the best priced and most selling ones on amazon, I just didn't think there would be a problem

and last but most importantly
-UPX customer service is MESS. It was really poor that they did not tell me that the package was being held earlier. I am really disappointed with that service.

Re: a reply from the 'friend'

Postby Rory Phoulorie » March 22nd, 2009, 2:04 pm

nitestalkerman wrote:and last but most importantly
-UPX customer service is MESS. It was really poor that they did not tell me that the package was being held earlier. I am really disappointed with that service.

I never had any problems with UPXpress through all the skybox service's iterations. Then again, I never tried to import radiophones.

Don't you track your packages online through Aeropost's website? Usually, if there's a problem, it is mentioned on the website.

zaxxon1

Postby zaxxon1 » March 22nd, 2009, 2:54 pm

Wouldn't they still hold him responsible for the storage charges?

theblitz

Postby theblitz » March 22nd, 2009, 5:42 pm

^^^ you mean if he leaves them in storage at Piarco? I was hearing a talk about how they might eventually be auctioned off... or in Trinidad, most likely stolen.

Someone who has links or works in customs can enlighten us.

Madniss

Re: Two-Way radio clearing issues

Postby Madniss » May 2nd, 2016, 9:06 am

Miktay

Postby Miktay » May 2nd, 2016, 9:19 am

tried 2 bring in a sw radio receiver years ago 4 my dad that also had a PA feature.

Customs ossifer tek one look...& cuz of an input jack labelled MIC...he seize it.

Almost required an act of parliament 2 get it unseized...

Good luck with getting ur radios..

Postby Chimera » May 2nd, 2016, 10:43 am

just a FYI

them 20 mile radio would be 20 miles if you up on a hill and someone 20 miles below you in a valley and it have nothing inbetween

i have pair of these from amazon self

http://www.amazon.com/Motorola-MH230R-2 ... detailpage

23 miles supposedly

i doh even get from st marys junction to halfway chase village (less than 2 miles?)

Postby adnj » May 3rd, 2016, 8:28 am

All of these radios are operating at about 1/2 transmission power. The distance that you can send receive a signal is based on line of sight. You also have a problem with RF noise in the area or even if it's raining.

The best range will be from a hilltop to another hilltop. The best receivers are able to filter out background noise. That said, expect about 2 miles on the water, up to 1 mile on flat suburban terrain and about 1/4 mile in urban areas. You'll get even less range if you are inside a large building or in an area with a busy frequency.

AYSN wrote:just a FYI

them 20 mile radio would be 20 miles if you up on a hill and someone 20 miles below you in a valley and it have nothing inbetween

i have pair of these from amazon self

http://www.amazon.com/Motorola-MH230R-2 ... detailpage

23 miles supposedly

i doh even get from st marys junction to halfway chase village (less than 2 miles?)

carmelo

Postby carmelo » May 13th, 2016, 8:50 am

customs is the worse ... i personally knew persons who brought in stuff only to have it seized and give them the run around and next thing it was either stolen or auctioned off and they have no redress.....