hilux 3L turbo install. project COMPLETED!

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.

Postby Team Loco » February 28th, 2009, 1:38 am

venum wrote:
Team Loco wrote:too costly to get it to the front. i've decided to go top mount. i will install a powerful fan to assist.

Pajero then :?:

but of course. best intercooler made. practical. comes with fan too. hood scoop already painted and waiting to install. i just apprehensive about cutting the bonnet.

sweeks

Postby sweeks » February 28th, 2009, 6:52 am

I've seen the Prado GX intercooler top mounted and the bonnet wasn't cut.

Postby Team Loco » February 28th, 2009, 8:43 pm

sweeks wrote:I've seen the Prado GX intercooler top mounted and the bonnet wasn't cut.

thats because the air duct to the TMIC is housed within the bonnet itself.

robbieg

Postby robbieg » March 7th, 2009, 9:40 am

Any shots of the finished project?

Postby Team Loco » March 7th, 2009, 11:15 pm

soon soon....

Postby Team Loco » March 12th, 2009, 4:18 pm

new turbo installed as of yesterday. i must say many thanks to TC (aka top Cat) for rebuilding the turbo for me overnight and charging a reasonable price. so far the difference in performance is much better than anticipated. the engine seems happier since it doesnt have to contend with a leaky turbo sending oil into the intake.

new (rebuilt) turbo being installed

Stuckindmud

Postby Stuckindmud » March 16th, 2009, 8:37 am

TL , what do thy do in a turbo rebuild?

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » March 16th, 2009, 9:23 am

why you dont change the name of this thread to read "hilux turbo install: needs exorcism"

Stuckindmud

Postby Stuckindmud » March 16th, 2009, 10:50 am

:twisted: :twisted: ^^ ROFL ..

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » March 23rd, 2009, 9:00 pm

NiceTeam Loco!,TC is a boss,he does all of our truck turbo rebuilds and troubleshooting,probably the best in the Country :!:

@Stuckindmud,i believe seals,bearings and turbo is balanced over,its alot easier and not that expensive to buy a new core though depending on your application

Postby Team Loco » March 23rd, 2009, 11:46 pm

biggy82 wrote:why you dont change the name of this thread to read "hilux turbo install: needs exorcism"

find me one

oberon

Postby oberon » March 31st, 2009, 3:19 pm

Aye TL.... What gearbox you running in that lux? My 3L has a G52 mated to it right now. Thinking bout doing the turbo install but not sure bout the strength of the box. How is yours?

Postby Team Loco » March 31st, 2009, 9:04 pm

oberon. never looked at the type of box but its the oem box that came with the van. its a 4x4. so far after more than 50,000kms of the original install, the gearbox still runs as good as new. remember, this turbo is forced induction that really serves to pick up the inefficiency of the lame 3L engine. the wear and tear on the other components may be minimal

Postby Team Loco » March 31st, 2009, 9:15 pm

ok. i am still having aproblem of burning some oil. on start up on mornings she belches out some blue/ white smoke for about 5 mins. TC was confused as to why the turbo was pushing oil into the intake, since he double and triple checked his repair. i know his reputation, so i know something else was wrong. last week i reverted back to naturall aspirated. left the turbo in, but intentionally stuck the wastegate on open, toned down the amount of fuel, sent the engine back to factory settings. lo and behold, she ran fine, lazy, but no smoke, no oil burning, she ran well.
so why the hell was the turbo pushing oil??

the answer was found today.

i can just hear stuckinmud saying- I TOLD YOU SO!!!!!
well, i just doh listen.

the problem lies in the turbo oil return line.

remember we tapped off the return line on the alternator. the return line on the turbo is about half inch wide. the return line on the alternator is 1/4 inch wide. so what happens when you have a turbo oil return meeting the oil return of an alternator vacuum pump? bottle neck of course.

this is why oil was backing up into the turbo, and with no where to go, it is forcing itself into the intake.

this is why on mornings when the oil is at its thickest viscosity, it's harder to find its way back into the sump via a "restricted" line. once the engine heats up and the oil gets thinner, most of it manages to return to the sump.

solution?

drain oil out of sump and weld on a 1/2 inch fitting to accomodate a dedicated oil return line from the turbo.

i know, oil is flammable. welding may ignite the oil. but remember my name is Team Loco.

hope to post the results :lol:

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » March 31st, 2009, 11:29 pm

and this is the man ppl does trust around dey van? :lol:

go brave TL....waiting to see the results

oh, BTW.....Stuckindmud TOLD YOU SO! :lol:

Postby Team Loco » April 1st, 2009, 6:20 am

Yeah biggy, lemme have a look at your van. Lemme take her for a spin

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » April 1st, 2009, 4:37 pm

Team Loco wrote:Yeah biggy, lemme have a look at your van. Lemme take her for a spin

Postby Team Loco » April 1st, 2009, 11:23 pm

^^^ :lol: :lol: :lol: :twisted:

Postby wagon r » April 6th, 2009, 2:17 pm

.....* walks in....so many comments....only one lifetime....*....

Postby 7143 » April 10th, 2009, 4:48 pm

ppl any idea hw much fuh ah sr5 turbo engine an gearbox???

Postby 7143 » April 10th, 2009, 8:10 pm

i tryin tuh find out d cost of ah sr5 diesel turbo engine an gearbox....anybody hv ah idea??nt four wheel drive doh.....

Postby Team Loco » April 11th, 2009, 12:09 am

good one will set you back $20-25,000

sweeks

Postby sweeks » April 11th, 2009, 6:09 am

7143 what kind of vehicle are you planning to use that engine (1KZ-TE) and gearbox (R151) in?

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”