Steering wheel shimmering

suntzu

Steering wheel shimmering

Postby suntzu » February 20th, 2009, 7:19 pm

need some help here..............just bought a new mitsubishi L200(basic) from Diamond motors ( bout a month ago).....recently changed rims and tyres, i had 20's put on from Jacks tyre shop................however since then i have been experiencing a shimmy in the steering wheel at high speeds......went back by Jacks to have the tyres balanced. They did that....but the problem still persist. What esle can i check or do.......????????????????

D_bodyguard

Postby D_bodyguard » February 20th, 2009, 7:48 pm

Bushings and bearing!!

Postby Strugglerzinc » February 20th, 2009, 8:25 pm

get them balanced somewhere else...duh... :roll:

hear what...as unlikely as bad bushings and bearings are at that age, put back on the stocks and then you'll definitely know if its Jacks dotish or if you have a mechanical issue.

Postby De Dragon » February 20th, 2009, 9:46 pm

Alignment.

anthonyanthony

Postby anthonyanthony » February 20th, 2009, 10:00 pm

try speed balancing.
most tyre shops put wheel and tyre on scale or balance machine. Tyre is then rotated slowly amd weights put on to balance it. This method does not taken into consideration weight of your vehicle axels , suspension etc.

With speed blancing wheel / tyre is rotated quickly while on vehicle so weight of axel and suspension system is factored in .
You said vehicle is new so I believe speed balance will slove your problem

Sheriff

Postby Sheriff » February 24th, 2009, 10:04 pm

^^^ Where can someone get this done?

anthonyanthony wrote:try speed balancing.
most tyre shops put wheel and tyre on scale or balance machine. Tyre is then rotated slowly amd weights put on to balance it. This method does not taken into consideration weight of your vehicle axels , suspension etc.

With speed blancing wheel / tyre is rotated quickly while on vehicle so weight of axel and suspension system is factored in .
You said vehicle is new so I believe speed balance will slove your problem

GEAR_HEAD

Postby GEAR_HEAD » February 24th, 2009, 11:59 pm

^^^ send it back by diamond motors :lol: :lol:

no but really it may be
- bent/defective tyre
- bent rim
- bad bushings eg cradle bushings
- poor speed balancing

Rush

Postby Rush » February 25th, 2009, 12:19 am

quick service wrightson rd, or fernades cmpd or maraval

or if ur van is new,
tell DM ask for the service manager,
and IN A VERY POLITE manner,
tell him you want it checked to ensure everything is A-ok

the check shud be free

awesomeandre

Postby awesomeandre » February 25th, 2009, 6:24 am

see why i like to keep it original

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » February 25th, 2009, 6:27 am

speed balance as said above! :|

altec

Postby altec » February 25th, 2009, 6:32 am

try mileage mack and ask them if the l200 wheels need hub centering rings. I know that some cars do when they go to aftermarket rims, otherwise the wheel would not center on the hub.

b18b_turbo

Postby b18b_turbo » February 25th, 2009, 12:35 pm

alignment, bushings, speed balance......do all you want.....

you said at HIGH speeds....these vehicles were not manufactured with 20 inch rims remotley in mind....

B20VTEK

Postby B20VTEK » February 25th, 2009, 2:33 pm

altec wrote:try mileage mack and ask them if the l200 wheels need hub centering rings. I know that some cars do when they go to aftermarket rims, otherwise the wheel would not center on the hub.

has the correct answer
you need hub centric rings

anthonyanthony

Postby anthonyanthony » February 25th, 2009, 7:32 pm

Put back your original rims and tyres and try it. If same problem then take it back to diamond motors. DO NOT TAKE IT TO DM WITH THOSE 20's. THIS WILL VOID YOUR WARRANTY AND THEY WILL TELL YOU THAT THIS WILL CAUSE ALL KIND OF PROBLEMS.

If problem stops with original rims, then put on back your 20's and carry it to a alignment place that does speed balancing.
Most of the time speed balancing wil slove problem.

A few times it may be defective or bent tyres.
Or it may be the rims (front ) may be bend due ot hitting a pothole etc.

Wish you luck and keep us posted.

Mr. Cheese

Postby Mr. Cheese » March 14th, 2009, 8:39 am

B20VTEK wrote:
altec wrote:try mileage mack and ask them if the l200 wheels need hub centering rings. I know that some cars do when they go to aftermarket rims, otherwise the wheel would not center on the hub.

has the correct answer
you need hub centric rings

had this same problem with my GDI galant
suspension was new, rims and tyres were new
speed balance the tyres and use the hub centering ring and it worked perfect
car use to drive well until it reach between 80 and 100km, here it would shimmer like something gonna fall out the suspension....after it crossed 100 the shimmering would cancel out

turbohead

Postby turbohead » March 15th, 2009, 8:12 pm

anthonyanthony, you speak of static balance, try gettin it speed balance oh an by chance is it 20 chromes?

M-Tech

Postby M-Tech » March 15th, 2009, 10:33 pm

The size should not be a problem. Check if it is hub centric rims and if it is needed. If it should be and is not then the wheel would not be in the center and will vibrate. Did you hit any potholes? Are the tyres new or used (damaged)??

Pirate

Re: Steering wheel shimmering

Postby Pirate » March 15th, 2009, 11:38 pm

suntzu wrote:need some help here..............just bought a new mitsubishi L200(basic) from Diamond motors ( bout a month ago).....recently changed rims and tyres, i had 20's put on from Jacks tyre shop................however since then i have been experiencing a shimmy in the steering wheel at high speeds......went back by Jacks to have the tyres balanced. They did that....but the problem still persist. What esle can i check or do.......????????????????

i've hear of this exact issue with rims from Jack's from about 3 ppl. They started getting vibrations at medium/high speeds. When they changed the rims it stopped (defective rims).

put back the original and check for the vibrations...if it stops pass by Jack's an F%$@ them up. Otherwise if it still vibrating the speed balancing etc may be needed.