just brought a 20v silver top wanna know how to get it runn

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

biller

just brought a 20v silver top wanna know how to get it runn

Postby biller » January 28th, 2009, 11:10 am

hey just bought a silver top 4AG 20v and wanna know how i can get it running at its best on the street what needed to run good

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » January 28th, 2009, 12:18 pm

make sure the electrical is done correctly

biller

Postby biller » January 28th, 2009, 5:32 pm

yeah but what is needed to get the best power out of it

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » January 28th, 2009, 6:14 pm

what chassis it going into aexxx?

corolladude

Postby corolladude » January 28th, 2009, 10:16 pm

yeah but what is needed to get the best power out of it

gee ma ah call! i will tell u wat to do with that silver top,,,499:1752

dmitc

Postby dmitc » January 28th, 2009, 10:42 pm

Zeriam wrote:make sure the electrical is done correctly

prob the most important thing to start off with

biller

Postby biller » January 29th, 2009, 11:41 am

well it is in a ae 101

Crazi4Car

Postby Crazi4Car » January 29th, 2009, 11:43 am

Wanna buy a 20v st. 4 ee90. where is the best place to get quality engine for gud price

rolling_hard

Postby rolling_hard » January 29th, 2009, 4:38 pm

Mahadeo in d bamboo ask for vasheed

Terran

Postby Terran » January 29th, 2009, 7:06 pm

Assuming that you plan to keep the engine naturally aspirated, there isn't too much else you can do to optimize the engine and keep it running reliably. Unless... you have very deep pockets and you don't intend to rely on it as a daily driver.

corolladude

Postby corolladude » January 29th, 2009, 11:14 pm

wat size muffler pipe u runnin?

trdfire

Postby trdfire » January 30th, 2009, 8:07 am

hey man
do you mind if i ask
how much you paid for the engine and where you got it?

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » January 30th, 2009, 10:06 am

a ST 20v starts at about 4500-6000 depends on where u go and who u know

trdboy

Postby trdboy » January 31st, 2009, 3:14 pm

cold air intake, after market extractors, freeflow exhaust, after maket cams and pulley, lightened flywheel,port and polished head,after market ecu, proper wiring and tuning(air fuel ratio)...........well u did ask how to get it to run good right.....and well most importantly talk to corolladude cuz dat sheit does wuk!!!

Postby eliteauto » February 3rd, 2009, 9:55 am

^^port and polish not necessary just deburr the castings, head is already well done from stock, try the proper fuel first and see the results i.e. 100 octane :twisted:

Metallicork

Postby Metallicork » February 3rd, 2009, 12:54 pm

which castings? Any pics of that corollalover101? The proper fuel is 100 octane.....? Is dat even premium? I was thinking how the super would run in the engine because that premium really killing we pocket!!!

corolladude

Postby corolladude » February 4th, 2009, 1:08 am

allyuh... i NEVER run premium in my 20v..... and no probs...

Postby eliteauto » February 4th, 2009, 1:39 am

corolladude, share the wealth of knowledge please :P

Metallicork

Postby Metallicork » February 4th, 2009, 8:54 am

corolladude, you never run premium? Anyone knows what this engine is supposed to run on... time is money or in this case....gas....!

Postby eliteauto » February 4th, 2009, 9:15 am

Engine was designed and is to ideally run on 100 octane gas, to compensate for our 95 Premium and 92 Super the ECU dumps fuel to prevent detonation but of late I've been knocking so I may have to retard timing or start back using octane boosters

Postby eliteauto » February 5th, 2009, 9:49 am

biller, my car is stock so I can't offer much except to advise you to do proper maintenance, use a good oil and ensure electricals are in order, I guess you would have gotten more advice if you had a 4E-FTE, seems most 20V guys are pretty happy just being stock, try :google: and there a sticky above with some links that may help you, it's where I get most of my help

trdboy

Postby trdboy » February 7th, 2009, 10:57 am

like cl101 the stock engine is good enough just keep it properly maintained, after market parts are real expensive for the 20 valve but if u have the money go for it!!

Postby eliteauto » February 7th, 2009, 12:02 pm

trdboy, the Trueno badge on your bonnet will slow you down, take it off and sell me and add some HP nah :| :lol: :lol: :lol:

trdboy

Postby trdboy » February 7th, 2009, 12:35 pm

haha, boy check ebay i see them selling for like 10 dollars, all i did was was take out mine from the old bumper and stick it on the bonnet

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » February 7th, 2009, 4:19 pm

a manual 20v on bago country roads would be real bess...hoping to take mines over there for some fun driving

trdboy

Postby trdboy » February 7th, 2009, 4:39 pm

when u making that run z??????? looking to head up there for easter myself but i doh trust the boat boy i feel they go scrape up my car

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » February 7th, 2009, 4:43 pm

trdboy wrote:when u making that run z??????? looking to head up there for easter myself but i doh trust the boat boy i feel they go scrape up my car
been on the boat a few times with a car no worries, when would be as soon as my car is done it could be a day lime jump on the boat go over drive around and come back home

biller

Postby biller » February 10th, 2009, 11:56 am

well fellas when u all come up link me so we can hook up cause i from bago and my 20v is a manual and it does work really nice so holla when u all coming and we go lime

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » February 10th, 2009, 3:45 pm

biller,no scene, i used to live in bago for a few years anything change?

ramishrrr

Tobago on the boat

Postby ramishrrr » February 10th, 2009, 4:04 pm

Going on de boat to Tobago is no problem..........about getting yuh car damaged. I have taken my car at least once a year. Even my bike that weighs 622lbs goes also!
Just watch your proximity to other cars and the walls of the boat. Close your mirrors. There are some people who would try to squeeze through the smallest opening for a shortcut, with studs on their clothes, and a bag with 4" nails poking through it. They hardly care about the $500-a-quart paint on your bonnet !
But I still think yuh safe.
Ramish.

Return to “TOYOTA”