new rules for 2009

Official Solodex Forum -
Please visit www.carstt.com for more info on Autocross (aka Solodex)

Moderators: CarsTT, CARSTT SoloDex, 3ne2nr Mods

saltydog
CARS Member

Postby saltydog » January 11th, 2009, 9:15 pm

Today due to that fact that there were no helmets for rent as was arranged, we allowed people that did not have helmets to run without them. This will not be allowed at the next event.

I suggest that all persons wanting to compete make sure they have their own helmet. The club will buy 4 helmets that we will rent to those that need for fun runs.

Postby Monk BANzai » January 12th, 2009, 9:04 am

everyone save for one person withdrew thier helmet rental arrangement that they made earlier in the week.

Apologies to the one person (DE-VE) that i was to rent a helmet to yersterday but didnt appear due to an injury i developed at an earlier event in the day.

moti

Postby moti » January 12th, 2009, 9:14 am

so you wasn't "to rent me a helmet also" ?

anywayz me saw the ox yesterday tho

DF1_2nR

Postby DF1_2nR » January 12th, 2009, 9:41 am

Can we get the new rules and point system posted please?

Postby eliteauto » January 12th, 2009, 11:20 am

^^X2

Postby crazybalhead » January 12th, 2009, 11:35 am

CL101, the guys promised to post it up soon, but there was a briefing on the new rules yesterday.

rule 1 must have dot or snell approved helmet!

there will be a point system for mods, depending on the class. When you get a certain number of points you will get a class bump. It is possible to be bumped up two classes if you have enough points.

eg, Racing tyres (anything under 140 TW) is a class bump.

Postby eliteauto » January 12th, 2009, 11:38 am

140 TW pffft :lol: :lol:

saltydog
CARS Member

Postby saltydog » January 12th, 2009, 1:01 pm

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:^^^

everyone save for one person withdrew thier helmet rental arrangement that they made earlier in the week.

Apologies to the one person (DE-VE) that i was to rent a helmet to yersterday but didnt appear due to an injury i developed at an earlier event in the day.

I can understand that but If I had 10 helmets to rent they would have all been rented and no one would have been driving without.

Rudman
Location: Finding out all the good tyres in life begins with "R".

Postby Rudman » January 12th, 2009, 1:33 pm

De hell? When did I withdraw from renting?

Postby Monk BANzai » January 12th, 2009, 3:40 pm

saltydog wrote:

I can understand that but If I had 10 helmets to rent they would have all been rented and no one would have been driving without.

well supply and demand...im sure by next meet we'll have another vendor than myself offering services.

Rudman...apologies....really dint count you in...

Postby honda hoe » January 13th, 2009, 8:51 am

i have a black helmet dat i bought for drags and used once cuz camden get close dong :evil:

$800

Rudman

Postby Rudman » January 13th, 2009, 10:42 am

^open or closed face?

Postby honda hoe » January 13th, 2009, 11:42 am

closed

clear plastic flip thingy

but it can be removed i tink...

DF1_2nR

Postby DF1_2nR » January 21st, 2009, 8:18 pm

So who else still need to get a helmet?

Heading down to Mini City this Saturday to pick one up.

Maybe if a couple of us buying together we might get a better price?

Postby gt4tified » January 21st, 2009, 11:10 pm

DF1_2nr, pm sent!

Postby honda hoe » January 21st, 2009, 11:28 pm

mine still for sale :mrgreen:

Postby Razkal » January 22nd, 2009, 12:37 pm

^what size and safety rating honda boy?

Postby honda hoe » January 22nd, 2009, 4:37 pm

me aint know nah Raz

u go hadda cum check it

i jus know it black

saltydog
CARS Member

Postby saltydog » January 22nd, 2009, 7:46 pm

CARS decided to buy some helmets to ensure that everyone will have one on the day. We will rent at the going rate and helmet socks will be available as well. If you do not have a helmet yet do not let this stop you from competing, just come early to make sure you reserve yours.

Postby eliteauto » January 23rd, 2009, 9:00 am

^^^ the "socks" are for sale?

Postby MG Man » January 23rd, 2009, 9:15 am

saltydog wrote:CARS decided to buy some helmets to ensure that everyone will have one on the day. We will rent at the going rate and helmet socks will be available as well. If you do not have a helmet yet do not let this stop you from competing, just come early to make sure you reserve yours.

an alternative to socks aka balaclavas is those surgical hair net thingies....they fairly cheap and sisposable. That place on cor wrightson and anna streets sells them by the box

I recommend CARS keep an eye on the rented helmets and who wearing head gear, as helmets become sweaty VERY fast..........best to factor in the cost of febreeze in the rental cost

Postby honda hoe » January 23rd, 2009, 9:34 am

dat sounds unhygenic :?

Postby MG Man » January 23rd, 2009, 9:44 am

once you wear a balaclava you good to go, but yeah, helmets get sweaty fast

Rudman

Postby Rudman » January 23rd, 2009, 11:03 am

corollalover101 wrote:^^^ the "socks" are for sale?

Yes the "socks" are for sale by Andy in Minicity. He sells HJC ones for $95.

These cover the "cap" of your head only, unlike the balaclava.

Or get the hair nets like MG said, but these will not be as absorbent as the socks.

Postby eliteauto » January 23rd, 2009, 12:03 pm

nice, balaclavas can fell hot and stuffy in our weather sometimes

Postby gt4tified » January 24th, 2009, 2:13 am

corollalover101 wrote:nice, balaclavas can fell hot and stuffy in our weather sometimes

Unless yuh 100% ENGLISH like MG Man!

Postby eliteauto » January 24th, 2009, 9:51 am

Indeed that bloke would feel right at home in a stuffy uppercrust environment, probably having tea and scones, while watching chavs compete

Postby honda hoe » January 24th, 2009, 10:10 pm

De Bench

Postby De Bench » January 25th, 2009, 7:43 pm

MG Man wrote:best to factor in the cost of febreeze in the rental cost

Why ?

Febreeze is not a sanitizer. If you are concerned about hygene you would need Lysol disinfecting spray.

Postby MG Man » January 25th, 2009, 7:48 pm

De Bench wrote:
MG Man wrote:best to factor in the cost of febreeze in the rental cost

Why ?

Febreeze is not a sanitizer. If you are concerned about hygene you would need Lysol disinfecting spray.

you are right
I was only thinking of the stinky-factor. Lysol would be better

Return to “CARS - Autocross (Solodex)”