<<TriniTuner 2009 F1 Thread>>

plex

Postby plex » January 15th, 2009, 10:03 am

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/_Ix1a1tuWDw&color1=0xb1b1b1&color2=0xcfcfcf&feature=player_embedded&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed>

Toyota Reveals 2009 F1 Car Online with Promotional Video

plex

Postby plex » January 16th, 2009, 1:49 pm

McLaren Launch 2009 MP4-24 F1

Press Release

With an unprecedented series of rule changes introduced ahead of the 2009 season, the new Vodafone McLaren Mercedes MP4-24 represents a significant departure from its world championship-winning predecessor.

Incorporating new bodywork regulations and the much-heralded return of slick tyres, the team’s new challenger not only looks radical but also incorporates a host of new innovative features under the skin, such as a sophisticated kinetic energy recovery system (KERS).

Introducing the MP4-24
While still retaining the distinctive family look established with both the MP4-22 and MP4-23, this year’s car is visually very different from its predecessors as a result of two main factors:

Aerodynamics
This year’s aerodynamic regulations were framed by the FIA and the Overtaking Working Group (helmed by Vodafone McLaren Mercedes engineering director Paddy Lowe, Ferrari’s Rory Byrne and Renault’s Pat Symonds) which met throughout 2007 in order to address the issues affecting passing in Formula 1.
The OWG’s influence can be most clearly seen around the front wing, which has been widened to increase front-end load when following another car, and the rear wing – which is now more compact to offer less interference to chasing vehicles. Other factors affecting aerodynamics include the banning of ancillary appendages, the addition of driver-adjustable front-wing flaps and a heavily revised diffuser.

KERS
The MP4-24’s KERS device has been developed in collaboration with McLaren and Mercedes-Benz HighPerformanceEngines, which has been developing and refining the system for almost two years. With a fully optimised KERS device’s output capped at 60kW/400kJ (discharging an additional 80bhp for 6.66s per lap), the development team’s primary focus has already shifted to further improving the unit’s integration within the chassis in order to minimise performance loss elsewhere within the package.

An optimised KERS package can be expected to deliver a 0.4-0.6s gain per lap.

Worldcarfans

Postby Maserati » January 16th, 2009, 3:09 pm

lol the smaller wing looks a bit funny IMHO

comparison of the 3 cars released so far

Anyhow Ron Dennis is stepping down
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/motorsp ... 833402.stm
Ron Dennis is to step down as team principal of McLaren and hand over to current number two Martin Whitmarsh ahead of the new Formula One season.

Dennis, 61, who has run McLaren since 1981, will stay on as executive chairman of the McLaren Group.

The 51-year-old Whitmarsh will take over McLaren's F1 operation on 1 March.

"It's time for Martin to take over. It is 100% my decision - this is a job he will embrace and from now most race-day decisions will be his," said Dennis.

"I still have huge passion for F1 and I want to be supportive of Martin's responsibilities, but that will come purely in the form of voicing an opinion.

Postby Monk BANzai » January 16th, 2009, 5:06 pm

sigh..the drama of it all....Ron Dennis Steps aside...

Ron Dennis has stunned Formula One by stepping down as McLaren team chief ahead of this year's championship.

ennis, who has been in charge of the British-based team since 1981, will hand over the reins to team stalwart and current chief executive officer Martin Whitmarsh.

He made the shock announcement at the launch of McLaren's new MP4-24 car which the team hope will power Lewis Hamilton to a second straight world title.

Dennis, who groomed Hamilton for Formula One stardom, said he would stand down on March 1.

"It's absolutely time for Martin to take over the job of team principal, so as of March 1, Martin will adopt that position," he told Press Association.

"I will still go to races -- not all of them -- because I am still passionate about Formula One.

"But don't see this as a form of retirement. It's very much the opposite because I will now be working harder in other areas.

"I will now take on more responsibility, greater responsibility, in certain key areas of the group," added Dennis, who will stay on as executive chairman of McLaren.

Dennis' shock news came after Britain's Hamilton delivered the thumbs up to the new car and outlined his hopes of retaining the title he won in such dramatic fashion in the final race of last season.

"I don't see the fact that I am world champion will add to the pressure on my shoulders for next season," said Hamilton.

"I've obviously a little bit of extra confidence and I've reset my goals, reset my targets back to when I started out in Formula One and that's to be world champion."

Hamilton's title win last season was McLaren's first since 1999 and came the season after the team were fined a record $100 million in Formula One's "spying" scandal.

He paid his own tribute to Dennis in reaction to the announcement.

"Ron is a huge part of the team," said Hamilton.

"He has racing in his blood, so he will never leave. He will always play a part, and I will always remain close to him.

"I've known him since I was 10. We have a great relationship, and he has made a huge impact on my life - and he still does today - and we are great friends."

Postby Maserati » January 16th, 2009, 5:07 pm

a pity to see him go
hell of a team boss

Postby MG Man » January 16th, 2009, 5:27 pm

The new F60 looks sweet
Hamilton is still a twat

Postby Monk BANzai » January 16th, 2009, 7:02 pm

^^ huh?>..the F60 looks like a flattened Johnny bake with "Blue band Butter"....... compare the two man...the MP24 is much sleeker....more robust (like a real race car should....)

the F60 looks like a twat....

:D

Postby MG Man » January 17th, 2009, 12:45 am

bleh
it too clinical
Racing cars shud have some style too man
the red cars always had a sense of flair, even when they came out bloody ooglie
Look at the curve of the sidepods and the exhaust area
F1 carnbread fadda

Postby Monk BANzai » January 17th, 2009, 12:50 am

i like chunky....chunky protects...chunky fdoh blow engines.....chunky dont go "waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaah" when dey lose F1 champoinship....CHunky is nice....

Postby MG Man » January 17th, 2009, 12:51 am

chunky will send you and yuh wanabe porsche spin into ah playground fadda back to pedal cyar days
hmph

Postby Monk BANzai » January 17th, 2009, 12:55 am

look at that form!!.....THAT WINNING FORM!!!

Postby MG Man » January 17th, 2009, 12:57 am

just looks so bland
and those oval intakes man...........guess they hadda match Hammy ears

Postby Monk BANzai » January 17th, 2009, 1:01 am

*banzai jumps into this...

Postby MG Man » January 17th, 2009, 1:02 am

try and keep up, ya bloomin wankah

Postby Monk BANzai » January 17th, 2009, 1:17 am

hahahaha ..Peds wil lget vex.....we spamming de ppl ched...

Postby MG Man » January 17th, 2009, 1:24 am

Postby Maserati » January 17th, 2009, 1:56 am

^ :lol: :lol: :lol:

tifffffff

zeeshan66

Postby zeeshan66 » January 17th, 2009, 5:59 pm

just curious any good places to go to catch the races on tv?

Postby Maserati » January 17th, 2009, 8:19 pm

zeeshan66 wrote:just curious any good places to go to catch the races on tv?

I doubt most of the races would be on early morning,home is the best bet yes

zeeshan66

Postby zeeshan66 » January 18th, 2009, 4:59 am

i figured thought i would see if there was a place where all the f1 heads gather...i wonder if somewhere like trotters will carry a game if its at a good time?

Postby Maserati » January 19th, 2009, 12:29 pm

Renault

Williams FW31

Postby MG Man » January 19th, 2009, 12:45 pm

williwmas looks tasty
any more pics?

Postby Maserati » January 19th, 2009, 12:51 pm

MG Man wrote:williwmas looks tasty
any more pics?

yup

Postby Maserati » January 19th, 2009, 2:08 pm

Originally posted by rage2

Postby Monk BANzai » January 19th, 2009, 4:26 pm

yp...!!! loving the williams!!!

Postby Maserati » January 19th, 2009, 4:43 pm

^same here
looks menacing :twisted:

Postby MG Man » January 19th, 2009, 4:55 pm

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:yp...!!! loving the williams!!!

yup
we brits know how to style cars

Postby Monk BANzai » January 19th, 2009, 5:27 pm

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:yp...!!! loving the williams!!!

yup
we brits know how to style cars

*slap....d firetruck yuh calling brit?...yuh prancing horse lover!!!...

Postby MG Man » January 19th, 2009, 5:44 pm

nu-uh
that was when ah was ah young'un an din know better
not my fault Lotus no in F1 no more
I stopped supporting Williams when they axed Damon Hill

Always remember, of the Jaguar XKE, Enzo Ferrari said it was the one car he wished had a horsey badge :!:

Postby noshownogo » January 20th, 2009, 10:30 pm

Ferrari's new F1 car already in trouble

Scuderia Ferrari chose to unveil its new car for the 2009 F1 season before anyone else, so while other teams were assuredly tweaking their designs up until the last minute, Ferrari's was already out on the track. And now it seems there are some problems with the F60's design.

For starters, the exhausts are being reported as illegal. While the other cars revealed so far have inboard exhaust pipes, the Ferrari's protrude from the bodywork in contravention of new aerodynamic regulations. On top of that, Ferrari seems to be having trouble with its new jumbo front wing, which could explain why, with Fiorano snowed in, the team opted to run test laps at its own Mugello track instead of Algarve in Portugal where the rest of the teams are testing, presumably to be closer to the factory. An organization as large and streamlined as Ferrari should have no trouble fixing these problems before the start of the season, which hasn't even kicked off yet. Looks like this is going to be another one of those seasons.

source: http://www.autoblog.com/