If you have an old POS PC ...

Mr. Go Slow

If you have an old POS PC ...

Postby Mr. Go Slow » January 5th, 2009, 9:45 pm

Consider the penguin! Image

I've got torrents running on one desktop, surfing on another, was watching some 'action' moives in the third and burning a DVD in the forth ...

Running Mepis AntiX 8.0 test1 - http://www.mepis.org/

This 'powerhouse' was setup yesterday ... 400MB RAM and a 1.6 AMD sempron processor ('value processor' circa 2004 - see: http://techreport.com/articles.x/7107/1 ) and on-board everything ... basically a rubbish machine i got for free :P

I stuck in a 40GB and a 120GB I had laying around and the results -->

[IMG::]http://img205.imageshack.us/img205/desk1nl2.png/1/w1280.png[/img]

[IMG::]http://img216.imageshack.us/img216/desk2wk4.png/1/w1280.png[/img]

[IMG::]http://img518.imageshack.us/img518/desk3zy5.png/1/w1280.png[/img]

[IMG::]http://img230.imageshack.us/img230/desk4zt7.png/1/w1280.png[/img]

Highly recommended for any old sheit you have laying about ...

Snags

Postby Snags » January 5th, 2009, 9:51 pm

Why didn't you consider the BSD devil and run freeBSD?Or even slackware?

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » January 5th, 2009, 10:01 pm

Michael wrote:Why didn't you consider the BSD devil and run freeBSD?Or even slackware?

Well I'm a *nix man by nature and I'm a sucker for apt / DEBIAN though I also run slackware on other boxes ...

However, this spawn of Debian is highly optimized for sheight machines and works perfectly 'out of the box'. No tewaking was done to the install, hence the recommendation for those new to a non windows OS

Aquarius

Postby Aquarius » January 6th, 2009, 5:25 am

sweet! :mrgreen:

Postby r3iXmann » January 6th, 2009, 5:26 am

:sick: debian

i hate debian :cry:

Snags

Postby Snags » January 6th, 2009, 5:47 am

Mr. Go Slow wrote:
Michael wrote:Why didn't you consider the BSD devil and run freeBSD?Or even slackware?

Well I'm a *nix man by nature and I'm a sucker for apt / DEBIAN though I also run slackware on other boxes ...

However, this spawn of Debian is highly optimized for sheight machines and works perfectly 'out of the box'. No tewaking was done to the install, hence the recommendation for those new to a non windows OS

hehehe@sheit machines :lol: I'm sorry bro and yeah I hear ya. I'm a slackware man myself. To each their own for sure ae. Alot of people are loyal to alot of different flavors and distros and what not. Keep spreadin the good word.

Cheers

AGENT RORO

Postby AGENT RORO » January 6th, 2009, 8:47 am

How hard is linux to learn?

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » January 6th, 2009, 8:50 am

AGENT RORO wrote:How hard is linux to learn?

Depends on the distribution..some are easier than others

but for basic email, internet and crap like that...its a snap

really only gets a lil tricky when you have to install programs and so on

Postby wagonrunner » January 6th, 2009, 8:55 am

rodfarva,
configuring some external devices are a bit tricky as well.
even some drivers.

Notorious Scullman

Postby Notorious Scullman » January 6th, 2009, 9:03 am

I like this :mrgreen:

I'm just about to inherit a machine like this, and was thinking of using it strictly for rapidshare duties.

Now I can use it to teach myself about these penguins too :mrgreen:

Snags

Postby Snags » January 6th, 2009, 10:16 am

^You can throw up the metasploit framework on one of them ai. Would be a good use for an old POS.

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » January 6th, 2009, 10:27 am

I have an old SANDO PC

<self>:out: </self>

Snags

Postby Snags » January 6th, 2009, 10:38 am

^THIS! IS! SPARTAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA*roundhouse kicks Zodi*AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH :x :x :x :x

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » January 6th, 2009, 10:43 am

*uses Ninja warrior skills acquired from a can of Redbull , escapes*

Notorious Scullman

Postby Notorious Scullman » January 6th, 2009, 11:07 am

Michael wrote:^You can throw up the metasploit framework on one of them ai. Would be a good use for an old POS.

lol....Michael, careful talkin bout those things. I hear Los Immigraciones are lurking :lol:

Snags

Postby Snags » January 6th, 2009, 11:09 am

Power, precision and don't forget about speed, Zodiaque. If you practice these things every day, you will begin to develop a fighting mode.

Postby wagonrunner » January 6th, 2009, 11:43 am

Michael wrote:Power, precision and don't forget about speed, Zodiaque. If you practice these things every day, you will begin to develop a fighting mode.

the "movies that don't suck" marathon got to you to then.

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » January 6th, 2009, 12:30 pm

wagonrunner wrote:rodfarva,
configuring some external devices are a bit tricky as well.
even some drivers.

yup! forgot to mention that. Drivers can be a pain.

Snags

Postby Snags » January 6th, 2009, 12:58 pm

wagonrunner: I downloaded some old jet li last night randomly meng :lol:
As for drivers, I have some friends that just used to make their own drivers lmao

Snags

Postby Snags » January 6th, 2009, 6:31 pm

Rainbow tables are the pwn, hot diggitty. 8)

Postby wagonrunner » January 6th, 2009, 6:43 pm

Michael wrote:wagonrunner: I downloaded some old jet li last night randomly meng :lol:
As for drivers, I have some friends that just used to make their own drivers lmao

fist of legend and what else?

Postby M_2NR » January 6th, 2009, 6:46 pm

hrmm this giving me some ideas... but when someone want to use the system...

aghh... XP stays yes, though i want to..

(all these conflicting thoughts)

Snags

Postby Snags » January 6th, 2009, 6:48 pm

^Lol@when someone wants to use it - let them? It's not like they're going to do anything complex anyway, they'll be fine.

Wagonrunner: Haha, you really know the movie! :lol: when I jump on that desktop I'll let you know what I have.

Who's used ophcrack before?
Who's got the twin atheros mfckers?Who's the evil SOB?

Postby M_2NR » January 6th, 2009, 7:01 pm

ok ok... Michael, yuh have me thinking seriously.. i gone do some searching tonight... by next week.. i shall see the light

Snags

Postby Snags » January 6th, 2009, 7:22 pm

Yes man is a great movie btw. Downloaded that too apparantly.

Snags

Postby Snags » January 6th, 2009, 9:33 pm

cheese pie

Postby cheese pie » January 7th, 2009, 1:57 am

zodiaque wrote:I have an old SANDO PC

<self>:out: </self>

:rofl: you going short ?

Snags

Postby Snags » January 7th, 2009, 9:43 am

Just watched Jet Li play keep-ups with a man in Twin Warriors yes :| :lol: :lol: :lol:

azeem

Postby azeem » January 7th, 2009, 11:10 am

allyuh see the torrents he downloadin

babes in thailand XXX and the seduction of cindy ahhahahaha

Postby wagonrunner » January 7th, 2009, 12:10 pm

azeem wrote:allyuh see the torrents he downloadin

babes in thailand XXX and the seduction of cindy ahhahahaha

two very good smears.
whats your point?
by your laughter, you seem to be someone who blushes when you spot a nipple.