what would you buy a suburu or an evo and why?

Postby bushwakka » January 4th, 2009, 8:50 pm

Conrad wrote:Is it just me but every girl (note not woman) know what a "Suebahroo" is e.g. "my man have ah Suebahroo with flare kit"

BUT

They look at an Evo and say "wham to he and he Lansah?"

rofl....so true tho eh....subies are panty droppers

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 4th, 2009, 8:57 pm

oh lawd, another ten meeeeeelion page thread.

to each his own, both manufacturers make pretty amazing machines.

Postby 16 cycles » January 4th, 2009, 9:00 pm

sigh....here we go again....

Both
1. Have very good recaro seats from factory

2.Use brembos as braking package

3.Run on 225/45/17 tyres

4.Can use same engine oil

5.Have relatively same maintenance costs

6.Have relatively same cost if you intend to forge out the internals and headwork

7.Respond to mods fairly well but will need to tune to realize gains

8.Should run on premium

9.Can take some slight mods and still be an excellent daily driver

Arguments for Sti

- standard dccd 6-fwd gearbox post 03 STI vs various config of transmissions between rs/gsr/mr

- better interior in STi vs Evo

- traditionally lower price for same model year STi vs Evo

Arguments for evo

- Clarkson said its better

- Better handling and electronic controls to aid the driver

- Traditionaly faster lap times by a couple tenths vs same model year STi

Conrad

Postby Conrad » January 4th, 2009, 9:08 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:oh lawd, another ten meeeeeelion page thread.

Ditto.

I personally, if wanting to retain 4 doors and have a weekend warrior will go with a RS200 and do a 2JZ-GTE swap.

turbonator

Postby turbonator » January 4th, 2009, 10:25 pm

Conrad wrote:Is it just me but every girl (note not woman) know what a "Suebahroo" is e.g. "my man have ah Suebahroo with flare kit"

BUT

:lol: for real

Postby A172 » January 4th, 2009, 10:30 pm

Conrad wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:oh lawd, another ten meeeeeelion page thread.

Ditto.

I personally, if wanting to retain 4 doors and have a weekend warrior will go with a RS200 and do a 2JZ-GTE swap.

ah boy. 8-)

swift gti funatic

Postby swift gti funatic » January 4th, 2009, 10:41 pm

^^ where you gettin a full 2jz and 6 fwd box?? and the amt of money you hadda pay for that... and i can see you like rearwheel drive... i like ALL4s :mrgreen: i'm not into goin around corners sideways...that jus wastes time haha EVO 8 or 9MR ftw!!

Conrad

Postby Conrad » January 4th, 2009, 11:08 pm

swift gti funatic wrote:where you gettin a full 2jz and 6 fwd box??

AllTrac/Bamboo/Japan/Miami

swift gti funatic wrote:The amt of money you hadda pay for that

The initial difference between the RS and the Evo/WRX plus the additional cost of mods to get the Evo/WRX "up to scratch".

swift gti funatic wrote:I like ALL4s :mrgreen: i'm not into goin around corners sideways...that jus wastes time haha EVO 8 or 9MR ftw!!

See sig.

Postby Dave » January 5th, 2009, 10:12 am

Evos use 235/45/17

Subbie is a better car but the plug changing was the decider for me

Postby honda hoe » January 5th, 2009, 10:16 am

steups

http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... ht=evo+sti

dis was discussed ad nauseum

evo ftw :|

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » January 5th, 2009, 10:21 am

We talking brand new evo and sti's here? If so ...I'd rather throw my money in a Dust bin

If i wanted to spend Over 300k on a car I'd buy a V6 Camry or 3.5 V6 Accord or a 350JM

Speed + Comfort + They stand up better over the years
Last edited by rodfarva on January 5th, 2009, 10:25 am, edited 2 times in total.

Postby honda hoe » January 5th, 2009, 10:22 am

rodfarva wrote:We talking brand new evo and sti's here? If so ...I'd rather throw my money in a Dust bin

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

TESTED performance

Postby TESTED performance » January 5th, 2009, 10:25 am

i think there was only one or two instances where the competing model in a given year from suburu was faster than the evo. the evo was always better otherwise but understand that it was only better by 0.0x seconds most of the time.

Postby 16 cycles » January 5th, 2009, 10:26 am

Dave wrote:Evos use 235/45/17

Subbie is a better car but the plug changing was the decider for me

thanks for correction

Both
1. Have very good recaro seats from factory

2.Use brembos as braking package

3.Can use same engine oil

4.Have relatively same maintenance costs

5.Have relatively same cost if you intend to forge out the internals and headwork

6.Respond to mods fairly well but will need to tune to realize gains

7.Should run on premium

8.Can take some slight mods and still be an excellent daily driver

9. STis runs on 225/45/17 whereas evo's use 235/45/17

Arguments for Sti

- standard dccd 6-fwd gearbox post 03 STI vs various config of transmissions between rs/gsr/mr

- better interior in STi vs Evo

- traditionally lower price for same model year STi vs Evo

Arguments for evo

- Clarkson said its better

- Better handling and electronic controls to aid the driver

- Traditionaly faster lap times by a couple tenths vs same model year STi

TESTED performance

Postby TESTED performance » January 5th, 2009, 10:31 am

oh give me a break in what life is the STI interior better than the evo? stewps no way buddy

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » January 5th, 2009, 10:36 am

trd.sports.m wrote:oh give me a break in what life is the STI interior better than the evo? stewps no way buddy

Actually they both pretty much suck.

Postby honda hoe » January 5th, 2009, 10:37 am

trd.sports.m wrote:oh give me a break in what life is the STI interior better than the evo? stewps no way buddy

well if u like ur interiors bland, non sporty an looking jus like inside a 1.3 carburettor cedia lancia well den i guess d evo interior bess :|

Postby 16 cycles » January 5th, 2009, 10:40 am

like i said....
Arguments for...

^ its just that - a statement subject to discussion for and against. At no point did I state it was better.....read and understand please

Postby crazybalhead » January 5th, 2009, 10:51 am

honda hoe wrote:

well if u like ur interiors bland, non sporty an looking jus like inside a 1.3 carburettor cedia lancia well den i guess d evo interior bess :|

When vtec kiskeen yuh doh study dat. And yuh could always install some LED's and neons and ting to rouse it up.

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » January 5th, 2009, 10:51 am

BUT

You wouldn't believe I enjoy that... it doesn't pull attentionas much as the subies and worse yet my exhaust is quiet...

People think my car is a cedia with a bodykit.... at least until it disappears in a flash... :lol:

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » January 5th, 2009, 10:52 am

BUT

You wouldn't believe I enjoy that... it doesn't pull attention as much as the subies and worse yet my exhaust is quiet...

People think my car is a cedia with a bodykit.... at least until it disappears in a flash... :lol:

Postby tr1ad » January 5th, 2009, 10:59 am

me eh kno nah.......

wait is not ah chuna trend to buy ah tarbo ride???

Postby Dave » January 5th, 2009, 11:05 am

tarbo, wham u from guyana

is teerbow eh

Postby tr1ad » January 5th, 2009, 11:19 am

buh me eh have no daag baax

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » January 5th, 2009, 11:36 am

^^Steups.

TOBO :lol:

Is it just me but every girl (note not woman) know what a "Suebahroo" is e.g. "my man have ah Suebahroo with flare kit"

Teeee Essss FTW :lol:

Conrad

Postby Conrad » January 5th, 2009, 11:43 am

Done know.

Many a time have I found myself keeping up with a Imprezza only to discover drums that are painted to appear crossdrilled and empty wheel arches over bronze wheels like a rainbow over a pot of brass. :lol:

QG

Postby QG » January 5th, 2009, 1:41 pm

srb14, it's an EVO all the way for me.

Could you imagine what power a mere 2L engine puts out against tough opponents like the 2.5 STI/ 3.0 SUPRA and the 2.6 GT-R34?

That's amazing...and the evo is very Agressive as well combined with it's short close gear ratio Transmission.

The EVO8 GSR 5SPD GEARBOX has the same top end as the WRX STI 6 SPD GEARBOX.

Not to mention, the EVO9 with Mivec Turbo MR 6SPD GEARBOX that has faster pull time and higher top end than the WRX STI....shall i go on :lol: :lol:

I salute the EVO anyday and time :D .

In the UK THE FQ400 (EVO) was rated the highest HP per Litre Engine

Conrad

Postby Conrad » January 5th, 2009, 2:32 pm

QG wrote:Could you imagine what power a mere 2L engine puts out against tough opponents like the 2.5 STI/ 3.0 SUPRA and the 2.6 GT-R34?

Both the Toyota and Nissan are way ahead of the 49G3T.

QG wrote:The EVO8 GSR 5SPD GEARBOX has the same top end as the WRX STI 6 SPD GEARBOX.

In stock form their top end isn't quite impressive, they're known for their manuverability and close gears allow for tight tracks.

QG wrote:Not to mention, the EVO9 with Mivec Turbo MR 6SPD GEARBOX that has faster pull time and higher top end than the WRX STI....shall i go on :lol: :lol:

State the price of an Evo 9

QG wrote:In the UK THE FQ400 (EVO) was rated the highest HP per Litre Engine

Sounds like a typical Honda punch-line i.e. power/small-displacement

TESTED performance

Postby TESTED performance » January 5th, 2009, 5:38 pm

Could you imagine what power a mere 2L engine puts out against tough opponents like the 2.5 STI/

:shock: OMG who makes this i want one now

Postby bushwakka » January 5th, 2009, 7:08 pm

MISHI wrote:

BUT

You wouldn't believe I enjoy that... it doesn't pull attention as much as the subies and worse yet my exhaust is quiet...

disappear in a flash? wham...u park it in chincity o wa?