Police and power of entry- discuss.

Postby streetbeastINC. » January 1st, 2009, 4:56 pm

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl ... =161419122

after reading the above article.
police show up with no warrant.....at your house--- man i think i might get shot if that happen to me yeh

nes123

Postby nes123 » January 1st, 2009, 5:00 pm

dem biatches wasn't coming een my house without no papers...dat woman is a qualified arse!!

she let in de occifers first den asking for warrant??man she lucky dem eh leggo some night stick in she craw

bluespeed

Postby bluespeed » January 1st, 2009, 6:14 pm

they can enter your homes because of something called "probable cause"....

but to physically search & remove articles & items from a home they need a warrant......

aR&D

Postby aR&D » January 1st, 2009, 7:02 pm

upon entry with probable cause and even with a warrant, can you video tape their presence and activities in your home?

bluespeed

Postby bluespeed » January 1st, 2009, 8:24 pm

aR&D wrote:upon entry with probable cause and even with a warrant, can you video tape their presence and activities in your home?

yes you can....but they will more than likely take your camera.....

Postby hustla_ambition101 » January 1st, 2009, 8:27 pm

bluespeed wrote:
aR&D wrote:upon entry with probable cause and even with a warrant, can you video tape their presence and activities in your home?

yes you can....but they will more than likely take your camera.....

and launch a cutarse on yuh, shoot yuh plant a gun on yuh and say u attacked them when they were executing thier duties

mikey_v

Postby mikey_v » January 2nd, 2009, 10:04 am

Unfortunately Police Service Regulations allows for Officers to enter into property where there is reasonable apprehension of a crime or illegal activity occuring. In theory its suppose to be used only in cases where obtainng a warrant would not suffice because the crime would have ended in the time taken to obtain such. Its is however a common practice for Officers to use this as a slip rule and it has become a common occurance in the country. I've had many clients who complain of similiar actions but the Complaints Authority is usually too slow or ineffective to curb the practice.

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » January 2nd, 2009, 10:26 am

i think once you , your family,close relatives and friends
are not under folly these fellas don't come your way
but if they do you are however "unlucky"and my advice to you is
stay out of those mofos way and let them be
after all you have nothing to hide ent ?

Postby wagonrunner » January 2nd, 2009, 10:30 am

megadoc1 wrote:i think once you , your family,close relatives and friends

in a perfect world.
Until ppl become aware yuh doing ok.
And their trifling jealousy alerts their friends in the service about your perceived economic advantage.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » January 2nd, 2009, 11:20 am

megadoc1 wrote:i think once you , your family,close relatives and friends

Yeh, the best thing to do is let dem do what they hadda do, don't get physical, when they came into my house in 2000 i was bout 15, when I saw gun cocked in my window i nearly piss meh facking self cuz d man was not in uniform, when I gone in d living room bout 4 of dem looking for *names withheld (drug dealer and his fugitive fren who was apparently hiding out from commiting murder)*, asking my mom a set of stupid questions, she had to explain to them is one son she have and it have nobody by that name lving here go back to d corner and also check next door. Up to now no warrant. PCA came last year to investigate the matter, still ongoing. They didnt ramsack the house or anything or get past the living room.

Postby joker » January 2nd, 2009, 11:48 am

am i entitled to shoot them with an illegal fiream and say i thought it was bandits?

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » January 2nd, 2009, 11:51 am

u not gonna live there after right ?

Postby Hook » January 2nd, 2009, 12:06 pm

y'all give them that power yuh kno....this whole "comply then complain" crap cyar work if the only body that handles complaints is a farce...the PCA is nothing but a toothless pompek with laryngitis; no bark, no bite, no respect...they musbe have some REAL dread paper shredders there tho

the service is so corrupt that junior officers are afraid to enforce the law... a couple weeks ago (was all over the news man) when an off-duty senior officer pulled his service revolver on somebody (can't be bothered with details) and the officers that responded to the distress call simply let him walk out of the place WITH the firearm on his person because he was "more senior" to them...they GAVE him that power! But wrong is wrong no matter how u slice it!

probable cause aside, you're allowed to be present for the "walk through" (because that's all it it, they cannot legally search or remove any items from the premises), if they damage your property on forceful entry (as in, if they cyar chill dey piggy and decide to break down your door and barge in) you're entitled to claim for the damages

art n motion

Postby art n motion » January 2nd, 2009, 12:32 pm

upon entry with probable cause and even with a warrant, can you video tape their presence and activities in your home?

what purpose does this serve and is it admissible in Court :?: :|

Postby joker » January 2nd, 2009, 12:40 pm

megadoc1 wrote:u not gonna live there after right ?

stranger things have happened and im there still so whats the harm if a few men in uniform die under my hands?