upgrading laptop videocard..any suggestions?

KURMAman

upgrading laptop videocard..any suggestions?

Postby KURMAman » December 31st, 2008, 10:02 am

hey tuners, i currently have an NVIDIA GeForce 8400M GS videocard on my HP laptop. Was thinking to upgrade, and as my laptop already have 4GB RAM, so figure videocard is the way.
Any suggestions on what is a viable replacement? thnx :)

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » December 31st, 2008, 4:23 pm

people is waste they time and money to upgrade laptops

Postby bushwakka » December 31st, 2008, 6:53 pm

^x2.....but are us sure its upgradeable to begin with?

Postby M_2NR » December 31st, 2008, 8:09 pm

bushwakka, lol anything is possible, its the cost involve and yuh might need to do some cutting, etc. On notebookreview, the asus section, a guy replaced his card successfully but, the cost and stuff he had to do... you have to know what you doing.

KURMAman

Postby KURMAman » January 1st, 2009, 2:53 am

thnx corolla_2nr for the info. as for Zeriam, it was just a simple question i have and thought informed ppl on tuner would help out. Sorry you cant simply provide a simple helpful response.

Postby M_2NR » January 1st, 2009, 3:04 am

no scene buddy... as i said, is rel madness... have a read:
http://forum.notebookreview.com/showthread.php?t=242434
a lil bit here
http://forum.notebookreview.com/showthr ... 401&page=2
and here
http://forum.notebookreview.com/showthread.php?t=86864

you should find adequate answers inside there! i cant seem to find the topic where the guy replaced his with a better one. The hardest part of it is the heatsink and compatibility. Sourcing maybe the easiest! www.ebay.com !

Regards

Raziel

Postby Raziel » January 1st, 2009, 10:11 am

New laptops selling for under US$400, RAM is cheap as sheit.

IMO buy a new one, and if you want upgradability in future, check out something like the Lenovo's advanced dock which allows for a pci express card and additional drive.

Postby bushwakka » January 1st, 2009, 10:27 am

corolla_2nr wrote:bushwakka, lol anything is possible, its the cost involve and yuh might need to do some cutting, etc. On notebookreview, the asus section, a guy replaced his card successfully but, the cost and stuff he had to do... you have to know what you doing.

i was under the impression that most video cards are integrated (soldered) to the laptop motherboards with the exception of DIY upgradeable laptops such as some of the Dell XPS line.....and removal of the soldered cards is near impossible and the motherboard is just replaced (at great cost as well) along with the card

KURMAman

Postby KURMAman » January 1st, 2009, 11:56 am

nice..thanx for the info again corolla_2nr, Raziel and bushwakka. Figure i should just invest in a new laptop one time and avoid the hassle of those problems.
thnx :)

Postby M_2NR » January 1st, 2009, 2:54 pm

bushwakka wrote:i was under the impression that most video cards are integrated (soldered) to the laptop motherboards with the exception of DIY upgradeable laptops such as some of the Dell XPS line.....and removal of the soldered cards is near impossible and the motherboard is just replaced (at great cost as well) along with the card

lol... read the OP, its an 8400M GS, thats dedicated sir ;) an intel X3100, etc. are integrated :) apparently dell systems are in the 1% of the laptops that you can successfully do a replace. I think the last thread i linked kurmaMAN to discussed it.

Wolfie

Postby Wolfie » January 1st, 2009, 2:59 pm

Don't generate more heat and power consumption in laptop :idea:

Postby bushwakka » January 1st, 2009, 7:53 pm

corolla_2nr wrote:
bushwakka wrote:i was under the impression that most video cards are integrated (soldered) to the laptop motherboards with the exception of DIY upgradeable laptops such as some of the Dell XPS line.....and removal of the soldered cards is near impossible and the motherboard is just replaced (at great cost as well) along with the card

lol... read the OP, its an 8400M GS, thats dedicated sir ;) an intel X3100, etc. are integrated :) apparently dell systems are in the 1% of the laptops that you can successfully do a replace. I think the last thread i linked kurmaMAN to discussed it.

mm ok...if u say it is, i believe it...i know there are....i was jus sayin he shud make sure but like u already do that for him :)

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » January 1st, 2009, 8:12 pm

Zeriam wrote:people is waste they time and money to upgrade laptops

laptops are the way to go...fire for desktops
http://www.sagernotebook.com/product_cu ... ?pid=29175
more poweerful than most desktops :shock:

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » January 1st, 2009, 8:13 pm

by the way a 512Mb 9800M GTS or even the 9800 GT or GTX now thats a proper upgrade

and buying a dell or any other popular brand name computer is a complete waste of money

Raziel wrote:New laptops selling for under US$400, RAM is cheap as sheit.

IMO buy a new one, and if you want upgradability in future, check out something like the Lenovo's advanced dock which allows for a pci express card and additional drive.

those laptops that are selling for under $400 are not upgradeable