WTK: XP Pro vs Vista

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » December 30th, 2008, 9:42 am

Thanks for the insight corolla_2nr.

corolla_2nr wrote:What are you going to be using the systems for bro? gaming, business, just checking mail, video editing? what you want to do is another determining factor.

I really should have stated this earlier:

Primarily business using the following apps in a multitasking environment -
Adobe Creative Suite 3
MS Office 2007 Pro

Basically a system with the ability to run simultaneous bandwidth-intensive applications alongside background tasks like virus scans and multiple broadband file downloads

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » December 30th, 2008, 11:49 am

Strauss wrote:Windows 7 beta 1 is just that..... BETA.

Get allyuh ass on Vista 64. Forget the 32bit... waste of time.

And get a GOOD machine that is expandable to around 16 to 32GB of RAM.

i think i'll be installing the 7 beta today, did u run it on any system yet>?

Strauss

Postby Strauss » December 30th, 2008, 12:09 pm

^^^ Still downloading :)

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » December 30th, 2008, 12:23 pm

oh scene..i have both the 32bit and the 64bit version....didnt install it yet...but i feel like i siad, i wud do so later today..

Swisha

Postby Swisha » December 30th, 2008, 2:37 pm

just finished installing windows 7 beta 1. never had any problems with vista but this is a nice improvement and it's still only in beta...

Mr. Wheeler

Postby Mr. Wheeler » December 30th, 2008, 3:34 pm

Anybody remembers windows ME?......well vista is in the unenviable situation between tried and tested Windows XP Pro.....and Blackcomb (aka Windows 7)

What does that mean to a pirate.....absolutely nuting!!

Uttorent = The best choice in OS that is....you just download what you want :twisted:

Happy leaching! :mrgreen:

Computerman

Postby Computerman » December 30th, 2008, 3:53 pm

Postby M_2NR » December 30th, 2008, 4:40 pm

Mr. Wheeler wrote:Anybody remembers windows ME?......well vista is in the unenviable situation between tried and tested Windows XP Pro.....and Blackcomb (aka Windows 7)

Uttorent = The best choice in OS that is....you just download what you want :twisted:

Microsoft wishes to thank you for supporting our products :|

Strauss

Postby Strauss » December 30th, 2008, 5:18 pm

Mr. Wheeler wrote:Anybody remembers windows ME?......well vista is in the unenviable situation between tried and tested Windows XP Pro.....and Blackcomb (aka Windows 7)

It's not piracy.
The license says you can install and distribute as much times as you want.

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » January 2nd, 2009, 12:38 pm

Thanks guys. So the considerations are:

Win XP Pro for function and stability. You indicated the specs I listed will support Vista, but only BUSINESS and ULTIMATE should be considered, none of the HOME versions.

Even if Win.7 launches in Q309, I always give a new OS at least a year to assess stability, debug, via tech reviews, etc.

Mr. Wheeler

Postby Mr. Wheeler » January 2nd, 2009, 11:46 pm

corolla_2nr wrote:

Microsoft wishes to thank you for supporting our products :|

You are quite welcome-----> "typed with a microsoft keyboard.....modified with a microsoft mouse" :roll:

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » January 2nd, 2009, 11:55 pm

Vista home (32bit) works perfectly for me with no problems whatsoever...has run every game i've wanted to, from 5 yrs ago to last month's releases...every program i've asked from SPSS to Vegas...i've had it since last year and its only ever crashed once...simply rebooting fixed the prob with no losses...and my system isn't that great...oh and multitasking is a breeze (as well as being pretty :lol: )...

Snags

Postby Snags » January 3rd, 2009, 12:14 am

^You know what else is pretty, Peeeeds? Getting your ass pwnt by the System account. 8)
Oh yeah, I'm not talking about scheduled tasks, oh no, sir, I'm talking about genius man, brilliance, ffs! I'm talking about pwnage supremacy.

Postby wagonrunner » January 3rd, 2009, 12:17 am

norstar2k wrote:Thanks guys. So the considerations are:

Win XP Pro for function and stability. You indicated the specs I listed will support Vista, but only BUSINESS and ULTIMATE should be considered, none of the HOME versions.

Even if Win.7 launches in Q309, I always give a new OS at least a year to assess stability, debug, via tech reviews, etc.

and get driver support. :!:

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » January 3rd, 2009, 12:23 am

I hate vista... typical of microsoft, you gotta wait a couple years for things to work out...

Remember having windows ME... LOVED that OS even much over windows 2000...

oh well maybe sometime I'll get vista and start singing

ooohhh mojaaaveeeee....... :lol: :lol: :lol:

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » January 3rd, 2009, 8:59 pm

Michael, have you been stealing those cookies again :|

villain

Postby villain » January 3rd, 2009, 10:32 pm

hmmn i got to see all 6gb of ram with vista ultimate...but ive got no problems even though xp pro in my opinion is one of the better os....you need to be up to spec with vista....or spend some time searching for driver supports....
aye but on a different topic...quad cores...are they worth it or stick to dual cores?

Chiney

Postby Chiney » January 4th, 2009, 12:38 am

yeh...with specs like that.. windows vista ultimate sp1 x64 version will be sweet!

slimsexytrini

Postby slimsexytrini » January 4th, 2009, 12:40 am

:roll: :shock: :shock: RUN AND DOH TURN BACK....most ridiculous OS

Mr. Wheeler

Postby Mr. Wheeler » February 4th, 2009, 3:21 pm

Piracy or not.....Days for 32-bit OS gone....and Dependency on Microsoft DOS.

OK that was my nostalgia rearing up.....lol