aye tuners this forum cold look inside

Everything Suzuki - Swift GTi and Ignis Sport to Grand Vitara and XL7

Slayer

Postby Slayer » December 17th, 2008, 3:06 pm

^^ i like your thorough commentary on the swift sport....
very useful for those considering the SS

post some pics!!

funatic, u gonna sell the P11 and get the SS now? many pros if u go that direction, or are you going to finally change your name :lol: ........a swift funatic with a P11 :roll:

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » December 17th, 2008, 3:22 pm

Yea i must admit the warranty isn't all that great and they are very strict on thier policies in terms of mods you can do to you vehicle btw How is it in traffic? all in all seems like a fun car to drive but would u recommend it? I use premium in my p11 anyways wouldn't make much of a difference to me.

Well the SS's really easy to drive in traffic. The clutch is really soft (requyires little effort to push down the pedal), yet it has a positive engagement w/o feeling too vague like some other cars I've driven.

However, I find the engagement point is a little high for me (about just before the height of the brake pedal). I normally like the clutch "engagement point" to be a little lower down on the pedal travel......but I couldn't see any way to adjust it (at least from inside the foot well).

The aluminum pedals are also nice, and good positioning for heel-and-toe (if you're good at it.......I'm not..yet anyway :lol:).

In terms of mods, I intend to keep the car stock....it's really fun to drive as it is, oh...and I must say, for a stock exhaust system, the car has a lovely note at higher rpm :shock:

In terms of performance, since the car is so light, and it's pushing about 125 hp.......it has a really good power to weight ratio......had no problems dusting a 1.8 (i assume the 1zz-FE) powered corolla already.

And the seats are great!

i like your thorough commentary on the swift sport....
very useful for those considering the SS

post some pics!!

Thanks man.......pics.....nah mih car stock :oops:

Some downsides to consider though:

1) It's small. So if you regularly carry lots of passengers, it HAS surprising rear leg room, but it isn't of the Tiida's class in that aspect.

2) It has precious little cargo space

3) No spare tyre (fix a flat kit/tyre inflator etc). - weight savings as the regular swift has one. The kit would work well, as I used a similar t"fix a flat" kit thing on one of my prev cars once....and had no issues. But some people get paranoid :lol:

4) Ride is a bit harsher than your average grocery getter.

5) Ride height is a little lower than your average car too, so be careful. I don't have amazing slopes or inclines to go over, so I manage fine with both cars (which are low-ish).

Slayer

Postby Slayer » December 17th, 2008, 3:35 pm

stock pics are good, be proud of your ride!! lol!!

yeah i agree with your comments, got a thorough rundown and a chance to abuse one, from a friend of mine who bought one earlier this year. i laughed at the "fix a flat" kit, but my fanatical weight saving obsession is leading me down that road as well lol!!

kudos to your write up!

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » December 17th, 2008, 3:52 pm

Yah yah I'll post a pic fear not. Glad you like the review man........how do you find it compares to teh GTi?

Car looks good Slayer!

By chance, do you normally pass on the highway (southbound) on evenings? A similar GTi (white w/black bonnet) was bent on trying to run the suby about a month or so ago. Can't say if it had white rims or not :

Guy put up a good fight I guess....but I think he got the message after. :lol:

Slayer

Postby Slayer » December 17th, 2008, 4:36 pm

glad u like the pic, car has a new colour scheme now, was off the road for a couple of months so it wasnt me, but i can probably guess who it is lol

god i loved it my car as it was! ah well..... n thats the only pic that i have of it like that :(

well, i bought my gti with small mods, was never stock while in my possession, i think the gti is a bit quicker in a straight line, maybe the same......but a stock gti mightn't keep up in the turns (gti has more body roll). as for the comforts, the SS is obviously superior, EXCEPT for the seats......gti front seats are more comfy, n cooler in my humble opinion :)

stock for stock, grandpa will give em a good fight.. the youngster has too much fat for me, hefty by comparison...
Last edited by Slayer on December 17th, 2008, 5:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.

swift gti funatic

Postby swift gti funatic » December 17th, 2008, 4:49 pm

Slayer your "grandpa" uses viagra and redbull!!! lol it will give a scooby a hell of a run * smiles from ear 2 ear" :mrgreen:

Slayer

Postby Slayer » December 17th, 2008, 5:09 pm

well you gotta get the drugs if u want to rumble with the young'uns :lol: hadda cheat a lil bit!!

ah tell yuh, the P11 would do good with a lil "fresh air" of the compressed kind.....

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » December 17th, 2008, 7:03 pm

^^Ever dynoed? Sounding like a beast with the....um........drugs :lol:

In terms of mods, I intend to keep the car stock....

WTF....did I write that? Flipping warranty :lol:

Here are some pics of mih stocker SS as you requested:

Slayer your "grandpa" uses viagra and redbull!!! lol it will give a scooby a hell of a run * smiles from ear 2 ear"

Buh wha kinda..........

....ah thought yuh sig say GTiR? Is a P11 GTiR or ah Swift GTiR............ :lol:

swift gti funatic

Postby swift gti funatic » December 17th, 2008, 7:23 pm

Boy i confused :? haha... I have a 4wd p11 but Slayer himself inspired me to have my current name :mrgreen: sooo you hadda excuse me...

Slayer

Postby Slayer » December 17th, 2008, 7:31 pm

sexy in stock form...i like the yellow SS best, dunno why..... :wink: dont u think the yellow is cool, funatic? :)

oh n funatic not GTiR'ing nothing......all talk :lol:

does your warranty prevent you from changing rims and headlights?

my cuz has the coolest projector headlights on her 1.3 swift.......it really sets her car apart from the rest....

swift gti funatic

Postby swift gti funatic » December 17th, 2008, 7:36 pm

Big bird colourrrr !! haha do they come in white? ... helloo don't be talkin my business! :cry: i believe anything that affects performance voids the warranty.. i could be wrong not sure :lol:

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » December 17th, 2008, 7:39 pm

^^Ever seen teh projectors from Suzuki-Sport?

On the note of rims, fellas does be quick to change rims, w/o putting on good tyres. Last thing yuh wanna do is be like another SS I saw (PCK) which swapped out for some nice looking 17's on some crappy Nexen's.

Talk about a downgrade :roll: :lol:

sexy in stock form...i like the yellow SS best, dunno why..... dont u think the yellow is cool, funatic?

:oops: :lol:

my cuz has the coolest projector headlights on her 1.3 swift.......it really sets her car apart from the rest....

GL or current model?
Last edited by Alpha_2nr on December 17th, 2008, 7:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.

swift gti funatic

Postby swift gti funatic » December 17th, 2008, 7:50 pm

Does the SS come in white??

Slayer

Postby Slayer » December 17th, 2008, 8:00 pm

lol funatic always making fun of certain ppl's yellow swifts :lol: i just think he hatin' :lol: :lol:

her's is the current model....saw the headlight sumwhere online... halos, triple projector with HID's

haven't seen the suzuki sport lights

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » December 18th, 2008, 4:19 am

Big bird colourrrr !!

These projectors:

Slayer

Postby Slayer » December 18th, 2008, 3:00 pm

badass!!!

yeah, the one on the widebody swift, those are the ones that she has, came from japan with it, also aftermarket ECU of some sort, front upper and lower body braces, poly bushings i think.....

the wide body SS is nice!!!

the blue one is cool too, but the bonnet is altered to accomodate those lights, or they sell the bonnet to go with the suzuki sport lights?

swift gti funatic

Postby swift gti funatic » December 18th, 2008, 3:06 pm

I swear you don't work you kno! don't you have some lives to save? :lol: and you still didn't answer my question

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » December 18th, 2008, 6:56 pm

I was actually referring to the ones in the white pic.

the blue one is cool too, but the bonnet is altered to accomodate those lights, or they sell the bonnet to go with the suzuki sport lights?

Hmmm.......looking so :shock:

yeah, the one on the widebody swift, those are the ones that she has, came from japan with it, also aftermarket ECU of some sort, front upper and lower body braces, poly bushings i think.....

Yep...those would be the stock HID's.

Just for being so pushy....call Lifestyle and ask them :lol:

swift gti funatic

Postby swift gti funatic » December 18th, 2008, 7:42 pm

Just for being so pushy....call Lifestyle and ask them

Will do bro... :cry:

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » December 19th, 2008, 9:02 am

^^^Jeez fine......yes it's available in white :lol:

QG

Postby QG » December 19th, 2008, 9:38 pm

Question:

Can the Baleno geabox work on a Swift GTi?

azoturbo

Postby azoturbo » December 20th, 2008, 8:17 pm

QG wrote:Question:

Can the Baleno geabox work on a Swift GTi?

yup

azoturbo

Postby azoturbo » December 23rd, 2008, 1:53 pm

dont let the ched die guys

azoturbo

Postby azoturbo » December 25th, 2008, 7:50 pm

azoturbo wrote:dont let the ched die guys

x2222

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » December 25th, 2008, 11:02 pm

:arrow:

Slayer

Postby Slayer » December 26th, 2008, 9:19 pm

hey for all those who are interested in seriously boosting your g13b, i have a link for multilayered steel headgaskets.

1.8mm thick (compressed) vs 1.2 mm stock, lowers compression a bit, and will hold up better than the stock on boosted engines

building another engine, ordering one for myself soon, if anybodys interested its about $1100 landed in TT

swift gti funatic

Postby swift gti funatic » December 26th, 2008, 9:25 pm

^ you checked the thing i told you to check??? :mrgreen:

Postby gt4tified » December 28th, 2008, 3:00 am

What about a 1.3GTi head on a Baleno 1.5 block? Is that a proper/feasible combo for more power without boosting?

azoturbo

Postby azoturbo » December 31st, 2008, 11:14 pm

what you all think about high comp boosting wit ignition retardation instead ah low comp

Slayer

Postby Slayer » January 1st, 2009, 2:42 am

for a low boost setup the high comp is fine....

use a good management, that provides good control over ignition timing, not just a BTM (although it'll do fine), and exercise some self control i.e. dont turn up the boost!

along with fuel upgrades as well...

u'll bet a fun car out of it for relatively little work

if u want u can get the gasket i mentioned, will drop the comp a bit...

Return to “SUZUKI”