EVO X on the road finally

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

Postby mitsu_chick941 » December 16th, 2008, 7:49 am

^^^^^^tsk tsk tsk

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

thrilseker

Postby thrilseker » December 16th, 2008, 1:48 pm

The STI's steering effort feels slightly better weighted than that of the Evo, although the Mitsubishi's overall level of feedback through the wheel is still superior. Once you get the Evo into a rhythm, it corners more quickly through the twisties, but not by much, as the STI reveals slightly more understeer.

At the limit however, the Evo's S-AWC electronics make the driving experience oddly digital in a way, as if you are leaving too much of the cornering to the car. On the other hand, the STI's newly fitted VDC works surprisingly well. It intrudes when it's needed, but it never detracts from the spirit of the driving experience.

When you lay into the throttle, the Evo's turbo inline-4 responds with more eagerness and sharper throttle control than the STI, which needs to be spun over 4,000 rpm to deliver sufficient boost for rapid progress. This Evo's close-ratio five-speed gearbox also handicaps the engine in road driving compared to the STI's six-speed.

The Evo looks better on the road, while the STI boasts the practicality of five doors. Inside, the STI incorporates a slightly more appealing dash design, while the Evo X has inherited the former Lancer's plasticky interior. Seats in both cars are excellent, with good lumbar support.

It's not going to be easy. The STI if you want a wagonlike car that handles with a more intuitive, analog feel. The Evo gets the nod if you're happier with a good-looking sedan that has excellent throttle response.

It's close, but the decision is unanimous: By virtue of its sharper handling and superior fun factor, the Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution takes the title of all-wheel-drive, turbo four-cylinder

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » December 16th, 2008, 3:14 pm

^^Again......another excellent use of the "Copy and paste" function.

Bravo - sounds like a review right off of Road and Track or Car and Driver earlier this year (around July?)

thrilseker

Postby thrilseker » December 16th, 2008, 3:20 pm

if all yuh tuners still not convinced that the evo x is the superior car check out this review:

http://videos.streetfire.net/video/Top- ... 169396.htm

thrilseker

Postby thrilseker » December 18th, 2008, 9:35 am

Knight1....yuh sounding bias about the review weather it is copy & paste it is still factual research and testing...so live with it....

silver racer

Postby silver racer » December 18th, 2008, 2:33 pm

MAZDA-MAFIA wrote:any of you guys see the white r35 on demonstration plates
up in cunupia

yea.. i seen it a few times usually by d bank..

Messi

Postby Messi » December 18th, 2008, 10:37 pm

the evo x looks nothing like a regular lancer from behind. The diffuser, boxed fenders, spoiler, dual exhausts bear no resemblance to the regular lancer which looks scrawny to an evo x. I know.. i own an X

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » December 19th, 2008, 9:44 am

^ ^ ^ Congrats on your new Evo X... but we'll agree to differ on its pros and cons.
Because of the owners' reviews above, I'll still hold onto my original opinion...
Performance:
Sanctifier wrote:Average so far... but that's improving quickly, thank God.
But it will always suffer from a weight penalty that hurts handling and performance.
It's too damn heavy... Nearly 800 lbs more than an E6 RS :roll:
Evo X will always carry FOUR BIG passengers... in EXTRA weight :!:

Handling:
Sanctifier wrote:Great electronic handling aids... pushes the limit much higher than most drivers' skill...
Maybe even beyond the usual conventional level of tyre adhesion... a PLUS in the rain
but that also causes a "numb feel"... a somewhat "spiritless driving experience".
That's a no, no for me. Give me infinately adjustable Traction Control instead...
I'm sure that SiR bill will agree with that... :wink:

Styling & Appearance:
This is always subjective. IMHO Evo X leaves a lot of room for improvement.
IMHO it's too "executive fat cat" but not enough "BMW M5-smooth" to compete sucessfully
in that niche market. "Fat and smooth", with a few agressive styling cues just doesn't cause
enough excitement for me to want to go out and spend hard-earned $$$$ on an Evo X.

Let Image built THIS Evo X (as a 3-door Coupe) and I'll save up to buy one (second-hand... :wink: )

ImageImageImageImage

Until then, I prefer the BALLZ OUT, "in yuh face", SEXY-Fugly look of an E6 TME :twisted:
Sanctifier wrote:If I have to spend all this gas money on a low-milage toy; keep it simple for reliability.
I prefer to FLY (& LAND) safely under the radar (or speed camera!) :lol:
I prefer to have scalpel-quick mechanical steering response...
I prefer to have SOLID handling characteristics, without any quirks...
even if all the electronic magic FAILS in an emergency!

But then... that's IMHO and my $0.02¢ :wink:

Messi

Postby Messi » December 19th, 2008, 10:55 am

this debate rages on worldwide.... the evo 6 is a classic and the 4g63 is an engine proven to be bullet proof over the last 15 years or so. The 4B11, the new shape, chassis is the way of the future. All the tuners are hailing the 4B11 power handling capabilities and more importantly how easy it is to get response out of it from simple tuning and bolt ons. I have owned a 2000, 2002, 2004 STI and those cars albeit older cars never felt anything close to this Evo. IMHO, i have a client based job and the EVO X does not shout boy racer so thats great for me.

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » December 19th, 2008, 9:24 pm

The E12 ought to be good. Give it time

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » December 19th, 2008, 9:30 pm

There’s nothing in my post that’s open to debate, Messi.
An extra 800 lbs deadweight + "numb" electronic handling aids + styling that I don't like.

I don't like these things... and you don’t mind them too much. No biggie!

A good E5-9 + Traction Control + rim/tyre upgrade + torque/power upgrade suits me fine.
That will beat (new) Evo X FQ400's handling and performance for less than one third the price.

It's also more reliable (less things to go wrong) and easier to work on by myself.
You don't need too many fingers to count the few really good Evo mechanics out there.
That's IMPORTANT to me when I'm too busy.
Sanctifier wrote:Until then, I prefer the BALLZ OUT, "in yuh face", SEXY-Fugly look of an E6 TME :twisted:

Using an E6 TME RS2 as a base just puts more icing on the cake for me.

My Evo is for my personal use. When I need more sedate transportation to impress a
client, I’ll use my wife’s car.

As I said... that's IMHO and my $0.02¢

Messi

Postby Messi » December 20th, 2008, 7:56 pm

drive one... people had the same things to say about the GC8 impreza. They said all the other models were heavier, etc etc... and the GC8 impreza was the best.. stop using money as a comparison.. the new evo x is prohibitively exps for people like us cause we have to import it and subject to the yen movements and import taxes...in other parts of the world.. this money to spend comparison is a moot point.

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » December 20th, 2008, 8:52 pm

Messi wrote:drive one... stop using money as a comparison... this money to spend comparison is a moot point.

drive one... I'd love to drive one to compare... I just don't feel any need to OWN one.
stop using money as a comparison... My friend, if $$$ means that little to you, congrats.
Unfortunately, I'm not in a similar position; so it is a major issue for comparison.
money to spend comparison is a moot point... Moot point?... Really? Consider my previous comment
repeated... and try not to sound so offhanded about spending money on expensive toys.
Most of the world is already in recession. T&T growth will slow in 2009-2010.
Sanctifier wrote:I intend to stick to a strict upgrade buget and still beat Evo X FQ400 performance. 8-)
I prefer to spend as little as possible and still rest ah cutazz on cars costing four times more... but that's just my choice; it's not compulsory to agree with me. :wink:

If you want to buy an Evo X, feel free. It's a very good car. It's just not a great Evo yet IMHO.
As I said above, I prefer to upgrade an older Evo to get even better performance and handling.
Maybe you could comment on the tuning (and $$$) needed to make an Evo X keep up with
a well-built "el cheapo" Evo. :lol:

Return to “MITSUBISHI”