HELP!!! Van Buckin

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
Ronnie203

HELP!!! Van Buckin

Postby Ronnie203 » December 11th, 2008, 9:29 pm

what you guys think might be causing this?? its a 2.5 frontier

I thought it was bad diesel, i started to drain the tank, but the fuel was clean.

I changed the fuel filter and the air filter

I put 2 bottle of Redline in the tank...I even ran some redline direct through the pump.

A guy told me their might be a strainer on the intake of the fuel pump that needs cleaning....is this ture ??? anybody know??

Stuckindmud

Postby Stuckindmud » December 11th, 2008, 10:26 pm

i think the strainer is only on the mazda/ford WL`s ..

when and how it buckin?

Postby equipped2ripp » December 12th, 2008, 12:49 am

injectors maybe? or even the fuel injector pump...

Postby Greypatch » December 12th, 2008, 7:32 am

there is water in the system..have you changed your fuel filter...

also lean your tank...

after taht what is left should burn out at low speeds b4 you attempt to drive normal..

if that does not work you may have to take down your fuel pump and drain it...

Ronnie203

Postby Ronnie203 » December 12th, 2008, 7:41 am

equipped2ripp, what you think injectors gone bad? or just cleaning

Postby equipped2ripp » December 12th, 2008, 11:33 am

they could be bad yeah... or it needs cleaning.

you might have to do a bunch of sheit to find the problem though.

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » December 12th, 2008, 11:37 am

when i had the proble of bad siesel, the mech said thet the entire fuel rail had to be taken down and cleaned. maybe like Patchie said, there are residual contaminants in your system.

but e2r is right....start with the pump and work forwards....you'll isolate the problem eventually :roll:

Stuckindmud

Postby Stuckindmud » December 12th, 2008, 4:11 pm

^^ sceen

there was a guy on the forum said his van used to buck on rough roads only - when he check it was cuz he wore steel toes through the rough roads and as the the van bounced his foot stayed and feathered the throttle causin it to buck !!! lol

Hope is somn minor like this.

Postby Greypatch » December 13th, 2008, 7:25 am

problem solved ?

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » December 13th, 2008, 9:05 am

Stuckindmud wrote:^^ sceen

there was a guy on the forum said his van used to buck on rough roads only - when he check it was cuz he wore steel toes through the rough roads and as the the van bounced his foot stayed and feathered the throttle causin it to buck !!! lol

haha...this happens on the road fror my house cos the accelerator pedal is quite soft

Ronnie203

Postby Ronnie203 » December 13th, 2008, 12:12 pm

Greypatch wrote:problem solved ?

:lol: ....i wish....i don't drive with steel toe boots

So i drained the tank and fill new diesel...... :cry: same problem :cry:

going to do a scan, then work from their

Postby 3stagevtec » December 13th, 2008, 4:42 pm

biggy82 wrote:
Stuckindmud wrote:^^ sceen

haha...this happens on the road fror my house cos the accelerator pedal is quite soft

i had asked about that in the tech forum once.. our Frontier at work used to buck in 3rd gear alot..

it turned out that it was the heavy steel tip boots i wore + rough roads caused the feathering effect on the throttle.. it used to happen to everyone at work and NO one knew why.. :lol:

Stuckindmud

Postby Stuckindmud » December 13th, 2008, 6:14 pm

^^ lol the culprit exposed !! :lol: :lol:

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » December 14th, 2008, 5:59 am

see how real simple stuff can have you scratchin head :rofl:

prelude2madness

Postby prelude2madness » February 3rd, 2009, 8:35 am

I am experiencing the same problem, were you able to rectify it.

prelude2madness

van bucking

Postby prelude2madness » February 7th, 2009, 8:27 am

I can do with some help here tuners

Postby equipped2ripp » February 7th, 2009, 1:24 pm

prelude2madness, bucking at which speed? which gear?

prelude2madness

van bucking

Postby prelude2madness » February 7th, 2009, 5:28 pm

The vehicle is bucking from the 2nd gear and up its worst on 3rd and 4th once you run out the gears it starts bucking over 80 kms its really annoying very similar to the problem which generated this tread. So far I have changed all filters origal from massy, drained and cleaned tank, serviced egr valve, serviced injectors and pump now my biggest fear is its the injector pump.

Postby equipped2ripp » February 7th, 2009, 11:44 pm

the pump needs to service... pistons in it might be worn etc.

call sookhai's diesel service in chaguanas and organise with them.

it would cost about $10,000 to service it though... unless you could source an injector pump from a crashed vehicle, then yuh on there...

prelude2madness

van bucking

Postby prelude2madness » February 10th, 2009, 5:12 pm

Changed out the pump with another and experiencing same problems, installed boost gauge and the system holding 14 psi +/_ constantly

Postby equipped2ripp » February 10th, 2009, 5:20 pm

prelude2madness, did you decat the vehicle?

go to a good muffler shop and tell them you want to take out the catalyst from it.. they will break it out from underneath the vehicle. it takes like 1/2hr to 45mins to do.

the catalyst could become clogged and dirty, thus affecting the performance.

diddy007

Postby diddy007 » February 14th, 2009, 3:26 am

Clean the injector pump strainer. Thats your problem, 99.99% certain. That will cost you some beers.

prelude2madness

help van bucking

Postby prelude2madness » February 19th, 2009, 11:25 am

there is no strainer in the fuel pump 100% sure

Postby 3stagevtec » February 19th, 2009, 6:03 pm

equipped2ripp wrote:the pump needs to service... pistons in it might be worn etc.

call sookhai's diesel service in chaguanas and organise with them.

it would cost about $10,000 to service it though... unless you could source an injector pump from a crashed vehicle, then yuh on there...

SO MUCH!!!! :faint:

dbaby

Postby dbaby » February 20th, 2009, 7:17 am

there is no strainer...pm me i could purge the system for you.

jackal

Postby jackal » March 9th, 2009, 5:59 pm

Dude........

Its your fuel filter, change it out, and don't put the original. The original only give me about 2000 km and then is trouble. Put in an after market, the one for about 35 to 45$$ and your problem solve. If you still getting problems, then you have some real issues, sugest that you carry it to a good diesel mechanic.

Postby equipped2ripp » April 21st, 2009, 10:29 pm

Ronnie203, you ever got this sorted out?

was it one of the sensors on the gearbox?

nick009

Postby nick009 » October 26th, 2009, 8:11 pm

interested in answer

Postby equipped2ripp » October 26th, 2009, 8:32 pm

yeah it was the neutral sensor... spoke to him about it already.

Ronnie203

Postby Ronnie203 » November 2nd, 2009, 9:23 am

yep....a lil neutral sensor on de gearbox was bad and causing the van to 'buck' the good part about it, it waz only $125 :shock: by Massy

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”