The guitar string (thread)

God Bless the Black Top*

Postby God Bless the Black Top* » December 2nd, 2008, 8:08 am

Sky wrote:God Bless the Black Top*, why you wanna trade that SG?
is it this one?
http://guitars.musiciansfriend.com/prod ... sku=518291

yup that's it, some small changes - swapped out the epi selector; it was too noisy, some nut work and a bunch of little things.

right now it's in the shop with InDeForest for a minor setup. i want a strat...again

God Bless the Black Top*

Postby God Bless the Black Top* » December 2nd, 2008, 8:14 am

that's a picture i took of it last year when i was in foreign. removed the sticker under the pickguard.

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » December 2nd, 2008, 11:15 am

^You have an SG?

God Bless the Black Top*

Postby God Bless the Black Top* » December 2nd, 2008, 11:20 am

zodiaque wrote:^You have an SG?

srsly...

Snags

Postby Snags » December 2nd, 2008, 1:22 pm

^rofl

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » December 2nd, 2008, 3:18 pm

You fix up for your setup yet Mike?

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » December 2nd, 2008, 3:23 pm

btw anyone can recommend a good medium priced 1x12 or 2x12? Laney twins looking good.

I also havent heard good things about the new Marshall lineups.

Snags

Postby Snags » December 2nd, 2008, 3:23 pm

^Nope. I still need to make my way up north to meet InDeForest. Would have been easier if I could have just passed it on :( . On a side note though Sean, I have added the dimarzio's to my cart. As soon as my sword clears(which should be weekend) I'm buyin myself new pickups for christmas, but the fretbuzz has got to go!

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » December 2nd, 2008, 3:33 pm

cool man.......if they're not active....i can help you with the installation.

Postby Sky » December 2nd, 2008, 10:31 pm

seanf3000 wrote:btw anyone can recommend a good medium priced 1x12 or 2x12? Laney twins looking good.

I also havent heard good things about the new Marshall lineups.

Cuz it have nuttin good to say :|

Right now Carvin blowin them out...

Postby Cjruckus » December 2nd, 2008, 10:37 pm

Michael wrote:^Nope. I still need to make my way up north to meet InDeForest. Would have been easier if I could have just passed it on :( . On a side note though Sean, I have added the dimarzio's to my cart. As soon as my sword clears(which should be weekend) I'm buyin myself new pickups for christmas, but the fretbuzz has got to go!

new pickups are on my list as well.

Fender noiseless have to go.

God Bless the Black Top*

Postby God Bless the Black Top* » December 3rd, 2008, 7:49 am

Cjruckus wrote:
Michael wrote:^Nope. I still need to make my way up north to meet InDeForest. Would have been easier if I could have just passed it on :( . On a side note though Sean, I have added the dimarzio's to my cart. As soon as my sword clears(which should be weekend) I'm buyin myself new pickups for christmas, but the fretbuzz has got to go!

seriously? those are some good pups you already have there...

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » December 3rd, 2008, 9:56 am

What ya getting? I'm getting a pair of DiMarzios for mine for Christmas, Chopper in neck, Fast track 1 in center. Steve Vai Evo already in bridge.

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » December 3rd, 2008, 6:12 pm

Think he said Dimarzio Mo Joe and Paf Joes. I have a Paf Joe in neck position and a Norton in bridge position. Man that Paf Joe is smooooothhhhhh.

I find the ceramic DiMarzio/IBZ pickups in my RG are too harsh so.....think i'll toss those as well and get another pair for that guitar. Maybe Breed....maybe tone zone....

Postby Cjruckus » December 3rd, 2008, 6:59 pm

God Bless the Black Top* wrote:
Cjruckus wrote:

They dont have the single coil shimmer and shine

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » December 3rd, 2008, 8:05 pm

I'm going for more warmth. Even though the EG is Stratish in shape (I don't think it looks like one though) it is all Mahogany. It has it's own unique tone.

Postby Cjruckus » December 3rd, 2008, 8:16 pm

you need the ATTAX man.

Guitar needs bite.

Postby Sky » December 3rd, 2008, 10:30 pm

Cjruckus wrote:

i knew you shouldn't have played Joe's strat.

God Bless the Black Top*

Postby God Bless the Black Top* » December 3rd, 2008, 11:00 pm

i hate my strat (for now)...one setta money behind it... fret buzz phenomenon!?! :cry:

Snags

Postby Snags » December 3rd, 2008, 11:05 pm

^Yeah fretbuzz is a real assfsck. I'm gonna chain ru$$ell up to drive me up north , maybe I can finally drop this thing in to get sorted the fsck out

God Bless the Black Top*

Postby God Bless the Black Top* » December 3rd, 2008, 11:09 pm

saw the job on CIJ strat by idf... looks good

Postby Sky » December 3rd, 2008, 11:11 pm

The black one? :mrgreen:
I wanna seeeee!!! Can't wait.
Last edited by Sky on December 4th, 2008, 12:12 am, edited 1 time in total.

Snags

Postby Snags » December 3rd, 2008, 11:11 pm

^Who the hell is CIJ, gbtbt? :| :lol: :lol: you lazy mexican :lol:

Postby buzz » December 3rd, 2008, 11:13 pm

oh yea no fretbuzz on my end :|

Postby Sky » December 3rd, 2008, 11:31 pm

God Bless the Black Top*, if you go back, take a pic please!!!!!

Snags

Postby Snags » December 3rd, 2008, 11:57 pm

buzz wrote:oh yea no fretbuzz on my end :|

Hm, well it's all over me like a mexican on a burrito. I don't know - hey, wanna trade?
http://img296.imageshack.us/my.php?image=guitarjb9.jpg

Nick, you ready for that dell as yet?You can take that or my acer with the two atheros cards(replaced the internal and I have a netgear wag511) for the modified evil tiny twin attack 8-). I'll even give you free Snags lessons. Call a Snags, Nick, don't be a mexican all your life meng. You know you want to trade. 8-)

Postby Cjruckus » December 4th, 2008, 12:13 am

Sky wrote:
Cjruckus wrote:

i knew you shouldn't have played Joe's strat.

Well it wasnt joes strat that did it for me. Even joe himself noticed the unbalance between the super hot humbucker and the noiseless pickups.

The Noiseless pickups are quiet, but they dont do the single coil thing like they should and the sustain is so meh.

God Bless the Black Top*

Postby God Bless the Black Top* » December 4th, 2008, 8:02 am

Sky wrote:God Bless the Black Top*, if you go back, take a pic please!!!!!

daz yours ent? when yuh picking it up? have to go back there to sort my buzz and i just get the ting tuesday self...sit down with it wednesday, ready fuh it and den 'buurghhzzztttt', F@cking 7th fret...

fyah for floating trems yes... if you see a problematic white strat where yuh CIJ supposed to be... HARD LUCK! :lol:

God Bless the Black Top*

Postby God Bless the Black Top* » December 4th, 2008, 8:07 am

Michael wrote:
buzz wrote:oh yea no fretbuzz on my end :|

Hm, well it's all over me like a mexican on a burrito. I don't know - hey, wanna trade?
http://img296.imageshack.us/my.php?image=guitarjb9.jpg

Nick, you ready for that dell as yet?You can take that or my acer with the two atheros cards(replaced the internal and I have a netgear wag511) for the modified evil tiny twin attack 8-). I'll even give you free Snags lessons. Call a Snags, Nick, don't be a mexican all your life meng. You know you want to trade. 8-)

hahah, thanks man, buh i already have a dell... and unfortunately dem things have ZERO resale value, d@mn thing is disposable...

...at least meh SG humming and sustaining; it really is a good guitar. just got it setup by InDeForest as well... only thing i will see off for, is another GOOD strat.

Postby Sky » December 4th, 2008, 2:37 pm

Sky wrote:God Bless the Black Top*, if you go back, take a pic please!!!!!

daz yours ent? when yuh picking it up? have to go back there to sort my buzz and i just get the ting tuesday self...sit down with it wednesday, ready fuh it and den 'buurghhzzztttt', F@cking 7th fret...

fyah for floating trems yes... if you see a problematic white strat where yuh CIJ supposed to be... HARD LUCK! :lol:

It's not mine actually. It's a friend's. His name's Cyanide :| Huge fellow.
He killed our bassist for playing the wrong note. RIP Dave :(
So I wouldn't take that axe if I were you >_>

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?Vi ... %26ps%3D42

mmmmmm check that. I feel I have another hobby/vice yes. What cc could reg with paypal?

http://cgi.ebay.com/Fender-Eric-Johnson ... dZViewItem
^^^ Slap that on it...whogaadd!!