vimal_vs wrote:phreakazoid wrote:There will be a point if time when we have to stop being so damn dependent on our depleting oil reserves!......agriculture ,manufacturing and tourism should be our focus but what do we do to improve these areas ?
but doesnt tourism raise GDP? alot of locals in countries that depend on tourism cant afford land, food etc?
agriculture.. what happened to the farms the government promised? sigh.. the only thing them fackers coming tru with is housing schemes..
The recession? i predict, the PNM will lose the next elections because of how badly they fked up our country, some party will come and clean up everything.. then them dotish PNMites will go back to their beloved manning for another 20 years.
phreakazoid wrote:Ok ..so oil prices will reach an all time low very soon. Who here understands the economics of the situaton? .....plz enlighten me.
I was thinking ....if we cannot get good prices for our oil right now ...why dont we just stop pumping until prices go back to normal...In the mean time we can find some other source of income...I mean after all the oil not running away from the ground....I'm thinking pretty soon the price will go back to normal and we can get top dollar for our oil.
Are the oil suppling contracts binding in such a way that we must keep supplying no matter what or do we have the option to not supply?........let me hear your views .... i dunno much bout how this oil thing works
AbstractPoetic wrote:phreakazoid wrote:Ok ..so oil prices will reach an all time low very soon. Who here understands the economics of the situaton? .....plz enlighten me.
I was thinking ....if we cannot get good prices for our oil right now ...why dont we just stop pumping until prices go back to normal...In the mean time we can find some other source of income...I mean after all the oil not running away from the ground....I'm thinking pretty soon the price will go back to normal and we can get top dollar for our oil.
Are the oil suppling contracts binding in such a way that we must keep supplying no matter what or do we have the option to not supply?........let me hear your views .... i dunno much bout how this oil thing works
Not pumping oil/exploiting gas reserves means not having a sustainable economy. The Trinidadian economy is heavily dependent on its gas production to LNG and domestic markets. If Trinidad stops pumping, then foreign reserves will be non-existent.
Little to no foreign reserves = Somalia FTW.
But the proven + possible gas reserve estimates has diminished. Consultants have already predicted that the gas reserves of Trinidad & Tobago may not even last another 15 years. And seeing how there has been no major discoveries to date (unless the government is willing to invest billions more in discovery), the Trinidad of tomorrow will look more like the Haiti of today.
Moreover, with the change in US government and more European nations intent to divert from oil consumption to sustainable energy/solar power etc., Trinidad's days are numbered.
It's inevitable. Time to pack your bags or enter a field where your degree/education is not transfixed to one economy or one region.
I highly suggest law or medicine. IT as well, though, even that has become more global.
Globalization FTW!
Adios Trinidad.![]()
djcase00 wrote:When allyuh think we will start to feel it here? cause oil dip below $53.00....Think cars will be cheaper?Like all them man who want to sell 10 year ol civic for all kinna 80K, think they go drop d price?
AbstractPoetic wrote:phreakazoid wrote:Ok ..so oil prices will reach an all time low very soon. Who here understands the economics of the situaton? .....plz enlighten me.
Not pumping oil/exploiting gas reserves means not having a sustainable economy. The Trinidadian economy is heavily dependent on its gas production to LNG and domestic markets. If Trinidad stops pumping, then foreign reserves will be non-existent.
Little to no foreign reserves = Somalia FTW.
But the proven + possible gas reserve estimates has diminished. Consultants have already predicted that the gas reserves of Trinidad & Tobago may not even last another 15 years. And seeing how there has been no major discoveries to date (unless the government is willing to invest billions more in discovery), the Trinidad of tomorrow will look more like the Haiti of today.
Moreover, with the change in US government and more European nations intent to divert from oil consumption to sustainable energy/solar power etc., Trinidad's days are numbered.
It's inevitable. Time to pack your bags or enter a field where your degree/education is not transfixed to one economy or one region.
I highly suggest law or medicine. IT as well, though, even that has become more global.
Globalization FTW!
Adios Trinidad.![]()
cornfused wrote:i have never commented on you posts and sometimes i had to wonder how come you're perceived as the most hated female to pollute these forums , but this post has summed it up quite succinctly.
cornfused wrote:What economic developmental strategy had been pursued by the governments of Trinidad and Tobago as compared to an economic disaster that has plagued many African nations including Somalia and in our region Haiti ?
cornfused wrote:Are there other sectors that contribute to GDP, outside of hydrocarbons? what is the developmental status of these sectors?
cornfused wrote:I do hope you have something going for you, but it clear that economic conditions are not studied by many in this thread including you.
cornfused wrote:If you think in your economy in which you're not even a real citizen , you somehow want to portray what a good life you have or what the future holds for you.
Go strong.
AbstractPoetic wrote:
2. I have nothing to prove to you or others on this forum.
NuffRespect wrote:here is more folks.......
http://www.wrc.com/jsp/index.jsp?lnk=10 ... 0programme