Official Recession Thread

apple

Postby apple » November 20th, 2008, 1:11 pm

evo-STI-k wrote:Ah can forsee that Delivery trucks will STOP using the beetham- ESpecially Supligen delivery trucks!

oh crap! fuh trute! lol

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » November 20th, 2008, 1:11 pm

slick wrote:B20 jus have a lil patience.
When d recession hits, ppl will have to sell out their houses to pay off debts.
Houses will start to go real cheap.
Vision 2020 hoss.

x2meelion

apple

Postby apple » November 20th, 2008, 1:11 pm

Vision 2020 hoss.

hmmmm....

*leaves tuner to continue work...need to save to buy cheap* :twisted:

B20VTEK

Postby B20VTEK » November 20th, 2008, 1:13 pm

sweet!
cheap house soon!

slick

Postby slick » November 20th, 2008, 1:20 pm

B20VTEK wrote:sweet!
cheap house soon!

8-) 8-) 8-)

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » November 20th, 2008, 1:25 pm

but tek my advice,,dont get a govt house jedd

B20VTEK

Postby B20VTEK » November 20th, 2008, 1:48 pm

how come man

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » November 20th, 2008, 2:05 pm

environment,ppl who frequent there are not 'law abiding citizens',the neighbours u will have,,u cant park up yuh car normal and sleep,,and the list goes on dawg,,,,remember im there to see and hear what goes on there,,

there are some that are good,but they wudnt let theirs get taken away,plus those who get the good ones,,,can afford it,but hold strong,,,,we go link sumn,,,

inocrew

Postby inocrew » November 20th, 2008, 2:31 pm

Vision 2020 hoss.

I see a repeat of the 80's.

Postby Greypatch » November 20th, 2008, 2:58 pm

dont get a govt house jedd

cheap build....unskilled ppl building them ...cutting corners to make extra $$

shall I go orn ?

***FUGLY neighbours***

Postby eliteauto » November 20th, 2008, 3:07 pm

^^^ and what exactly happened in the 80's? People who could not pay walked into banks and handed in their keys, but house prices did not drop significantly, they merely remained at a constant level for years and the market was stagnant.
The difference now is a lot of people are paying grossly over inflated mortgages for homes and more so apartments and townhouses which were purchased as a "lifestyle" choice, should these ( mostly young professionals) persons see job losses or salary stagnation occur either of which can affect their ability to service these mortgages then the market will become flooded with these places, however the T&T market is too small and unsophisticated to see real downward movements of prices. But the market is currently saturated with properties I received mail yesterday from a realty company offering me some properties and the prices are still exorbitant, which suggest that sellers and developers are willing to wait longer periods to attract their desired price rather than lower it for a quicker sale.

B20VTEK

Postby B20VTEK » November 20th, 2008, 3:09 pm

everyone wanna make a quick buck

Conrad

Postby Conrad » November 20th, 2008, 3:19 pm

corollalover101 wrote:^^^ and what exactly happened in the 80's? People who could not pay walked into banks and handed in their keys, but house prices did not drop significantly, they merely remained at a constant level for years and the market was stagnant.
The difference now is a lot of people are paying grossly over inflated mortgages for homes and more so apartments and townhouses which were purchased as a "lifestyle" choice, should these ( mostly young professionals) persons see job losses or salary stagnation occur either of which can affect their ability to service these mortgages then the market will become flooded with these places, however the T&T market is too small and unsophisticated to see real downward movements of prices. But the market is currently saturated with properties I received mail yesterday from a realty company offering me some properties and the prices are still exorbitant, which suggest that sellers and developers are willing to wait longer periods to attract their desired price rather than lower it for a quicker sale.

Do I smell expats and other foreigners who are witnessing the deflation of their money before their very eyes at home take up residence in a 3rd world country that is all to ready to embrace them and new "dougla" children?

Postby eliteauto » November 20th, 2008, 3:27 pm

Conrad, there are large scale projects planned which will woo both foreigners and many foreign based T&T nationals who are desirous of returning home but only if the lifestyle to which they have become accustomed to can be assured

djcase00

Postby djcase00 » November 20th, 2008, 3:31 pm

^^^^^^^hadda be private money. the government will soon not have any. Where ever it come from i jus doh wanna be unemployed and bored and starving at home.... :cry:

Postby X_Factor » November 20th, 2008, 3:36 pm

after carnival is when most ppl would feel it as a good portion of $$ would have gone in christmas/new year celebrations and then finished with carnival..
the cost of market produce is already increasing every weekend and im sure its gonna go up even more....imagine $4 for a lil bundle of Chive
chicken is now 6.25 and up per lb and expect it to hit a cool 7.00 or more next mth
soo brace urself!!...it comin soon!! and its not a movie

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » November 20th, 2008, 4:16 pm

X_Factor wrote:after carnival is when most ppl would feel it as a good portion of $$ would have gone in christmas/new year celebrations and then finished with carnival..
the cost of market produce is already increasing every weekend and im sure its gonna go up even more....imagine $4 for a lil bundle of Chive
chicken is now 6.25 and up per lb and expect it to hit a cool 7.00 or more next mth
soo brace urself!!...it comin soon!! and its not a movie

i hoping by the time my chikens ready to sell,is much more,no offence to anybody,but i hadda pay plenty for feed,etc.

silentbaby

Postby silentbaby » November 20th, 2008, 4:22 pm

..... WTI touched a low of US$49.93 today.... Crappo smoke we pipe....

Postby equipped2ripp » November 20th, 2008, 5:24 pm

and it will go lower

Postby Greypatch » November 20th, 2008, 5:39 pm

30 dollars here we come

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » November 21st, 2008, 1:19 am

back to $19.50 i feel

phreakazoid

Postby phreakazoid » November 24th, 2008, 1:49 pm

Ok ..so oil prices will reach an all time low very soon. Who here understands the economics of the situaton? .....plz enlighten me.

I was thinking ....if we cannot get good prices for our oil right now ...why dont we just stop pumping until prices go back to normal...In the mean time we can find some other source of income...I mean after all the oil not running away from the ground....I'm thinking pretty soon the price will go back to normal and we can get top dollar for our oil.

Are the oil suppling contracts binding in such a way that we must keep supplying no matter what or do we have the option to not supply?........let me hear your views .... i dunno much bout how this oil thing works

B20VTEK

Postby B20VTEK » November 24th, 2008, 1:56 pm

hmmm

Postby Maserati » November 24th, 2008, 1:56 pm

phreakazoid wrote:Ok ..so oil prices will reach an all time low very soon. Who here understands the economics of the situaton? .....plz enlighten me.

I was thinking ....if we cannot get good prices for our oil right now ...why dont we just stop pumping until prices go back to normal...In the mean time we can find some other source of income...I mean after all the oil not running away from the ground....I'm thinking pretty soon the price will go back to normal and we can get top dollar for our oil.

Are the oil suppling contracts binding in such a way that we must keep supplying no matter what or do we have the option to not supply?........let me hear your views .... i dunno much bout how this oil thing works

stop pumping you say?
the amount of jobs that would be lost and the amount of revenue that would be lost is unthinkable it would do more harm than good.
sorry mate that is just not a feasible option.

phreakazoid

Postby phreakazoid » November 24th, 2008, 2:03 pm

^^well i guess we just have to feel the pinch together and just accept the situation as is ...sigh

Rudman
Location: Finding out all the good tyres in life begins with "R".

Postby Rudman » November 24th, 2008, 2:22 pm

I was thinking ....if we cannot get good prices for our oil right now ...why dont we just stop pumping until prices go back to normal...In the mean time we can find some other source of income...

Other sources of income yuh say?

What do you sugest? Manufacturing? Agriculture?
What did the government do to strenghten these sectors when they had the finances to do so? How have they invested in these sectors to make them more competitive on the world market when the bottom of the oil barel drops out?

Not one Fack my friend......we didn't learn our lessons.

Conrad

Postby Conrad » November 24th, 2008, 2:42 pm

Rudman the gov't may have done very little for agriculture but other industries have benefitted a lot.

phreakazoid

Postby phreakazoid » November 24th, 2008, 3:43 pm

There will be a point if time when we have to stop being so damn dependent on our depleting oil reserves!......agriculture ,manufacturing and tourism should be our focus but what do we do to improve these areas ?

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » November 24th, 2008, 8:49 pm

So ah guess upgrading my turbo and other aspects of my car dis year was a bad idea :? :?

vimal_vs

Postby vimal_vs » November 24th, 2008, 9:22 pm

phreakazoid wrote:There will be a point if time when we have to stop being so damn dependent on our depleting oil reserves!......agriculture ,manufacturing and tourism should be our focus but what do we do to improve these areas ?

but doesnt tourism raise GDP? alot of locals in countries that depend on tourism cant afford land, food etc?
agriculture.. what happened to the farms the government promised? sigh.. the only thing them fackers coming tru with is housing schemes..

The recession? i predict, the PNM will lose the next elections because of how badly they fked up our country, some party will come and clean up everything.. then them dotish PNMites will go back to their beloved manning for another 20 years.