sport 20 or 1800 vvt -- read please urgent -- mazda men

MAZDA People United - it continues here

rebel sounds

sport 20 or 1800 vvt -- read please urgent -- mazda men

Postby rebel sounds » November 19th, 2008, 9:30 am

here's the predicament my engine (zl 1500) the block has a crack so whenever the temp. gets too high the oil runs out through my exhaust manifold . so i've decided to change engines. i've already seen two - namely the 1800 vvt and the sport 20 . now what i need help with is

1. any pictures of a sport 20 and the 1800 vvt that might help with identification so i can be sure what i'm buying because the salesman doesnt sound sure

2. a good mechanic to install

3. which one of these engines can handle or can be incorporated with a turbo

AcousticEng

Postby AcousticEng » November 19th, 2008, 10:58 am

what VVT 1800 engine is this?? The only VVT engine for the BJ is the ZL-VE which is a 1500. you can get engine and trans for around 6000-8000 in d bamboo. Why dont u just change the block?? it will cost you under $5000.00. they are litterally throwing away in the bamboo. A Sport20 can run you about 12K-15K.

http://www.protege323.com/content/24_engines/index.php
you can see what works in your car and specs

rebel sounds

Postby rebel sounds » November 19th, 2008, 11:42 am

i'm sorry i didnt take a pic . but as i say i 'm not sure what it is --- i'm getting the engine for 3600. here 's a description it looks just like the 1500zl but all i noticed was that it had the vvt black cover or cap or whatever it was over the area where the coil packs would be. as for the sport 20 i'm getting it for 7500 engine and trannie. as for the changing of the block i'm thinking of stepping up -- a lil faster

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » November 19th, 2008, 11:51 am

thats a ZL-VE and thats a good price. The sport20 is good but parts are harder to get. Both are good prices.

rebel sounds

Postby rebel sounds » November 19th, 2008, 1:23 pm

do you guys have a close up pic of a sport 20 -that i can use to verify --- or any other suggestions as to what engine i can use - what are the power rating of the nomal zl 15oo as compared to the zl-ve

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » November 19th, 2008, 2:09 pm

128.74 hp @7000 zlve svt 1.5
104.00 lb/ft torque @4000 rpm

108.62 hp @5500 zl de 1.5
101.05 lb/ft torque @4000 rpm
Last edited by nareshseep on November 19th, 2008, 2:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » November 19th, 2008, 2:22 pm

with I/H/E i believe you can get hp upto 140 hp, red bwoy can you verify?

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » November 19th, 2008, 2:55 pm

rebel sounds wrote:do you guys have a close up pic of a sport 20 -that i can use to verify --- or any other suggestions as to what engine i can use - what are the power rating of the nomal zl 15oo as compared to the zl-ve

use that link AcousticEng put up. it have pics of the engines on that site. He is a bottom but he knows his Mazdas!!

ζђίΰД™

Postby ζђίΰД™ » November 19th, 2008, 5:09 pm

Thaz a real good price for a ZL-VE! Buy the ZL-VE and leave the FS rite day.

rebel sounds

Postby rebel sounds » November 20th, 2008, 9:04 am

okay thanks for the advice -- i might just do that -- any other things i should be aware of when changing with regards to trnsmission on electrical or anything

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » November 20th, 2008, 9:29 am

shiva you handle this one.

ζђίΰД™

Postby ζђίΰД™ » November 20th, 2008, 9:10 pm

rebel sounds wrote:any other things i should be aware of when changing with regards to trnsmission on electrical or anything

I can't say for the transmission, but get a good electrician to wire your car and make sure you get the ZL-VE ECU. The normal ZL-DE ECU won't activate the SVT and the car will feel like your old engine.

The ZL-VE automatic ECU is in a silver case and has a 4 plug input, the code for it iz ZL-O2. The manual ECU is in a black case and has a 3 plug input, I can't remember the number off hand.

Most of the parts from your ZL-DE can work in the ZL-VE.. coilpacks, airflow sensor, cam sensor, alternator.. all is the same just double check the serial numbers to make sure.

The ZL-VE is a little power house.. u won't regret buying it.. only thing you might regret is not putting a gearbox on it. Oh, only use 10W30 oil, Mobil1 or Redline works great!

Happy Driving..

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » November 21st, 2008, 12:03 am

and get this a tuned zl-ve run rings around a fs-de any day with less work and money my stockish zl-ve does have some sr men wondering what have dem wukkin so hard to leave it out trust de mazda crew we not nice but we know we mazdas

any how fellas ah on de market from month end ah sellin mih baby pm mih allyuh bess price who interested mazda men get first preference and de bess price :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

mingrio

Postby mingrio » November 21st, 2008, 1:31 pm

Sorry for riding your tread but can a Automatic ZLVE ECU & Engine be wired to work with a gearbox?,cause a have a ZM engine and box already and want to up grade to the ZLVE plus only getting the ZLVE automatic to buy!!!

ζђίΰД™

Postby ζђίΰД™ » November 21st, 2008, 3:42 pm

The ZL-VE box and the ZM box has a diff gear ratio, so you done going wrong aready if u plan on usein the ZM box.. The automatic ECU would work with a gearbox, but the performance would not be the same as with the manual ECU.

If you have the money, get a complete manual engine and box.. it's not cheap, and hard to come by..

If your serious talk to Maztune, maybe he could organize yuh.

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » November 21st, 2008, 6:07 pm

dais true even for the tranny a friend swapped his zm head for zl-ve head got ecu and did all wiring so he has a 1.6 zl-ve but the zm tranny gear ratio not matched to the new torque and power he still cant catch me he just takes off before me

rebel sounds

Postby rebel sounds » November 21st, 2008, 9:47 pm

so this is the scenario --
1. we going with the zl-ve
2. we using the same zl tranny
3. we have to change the ecu

so where we getting the ecu if it doesnt come with the engine or should it come with the engine . jeeze i looking really bad ah feeling like i now buy a car - and i thought i knew a few things about my mazda ...allyuh fellas chronic

mazdamig

Postby mazdamig » November 21st, 2008, 10:09 pm

rebel sounds, all the mazda BJ ZM-DE, ZL-DE, ZL-VE I know running the AT engine with a gearbox. Car working good

rebel sounds

Postby rebel sounds » November 21st, 2008, 10:30 pm

so what i cant use my factory installed tranny with the zl-ve

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » November 21st, 2008, 11:16 pm

rebel sounds wrote:so what i cant use my factory installed tranny with the zl-ve

yes you can. you will not have an issue there. Just make sure you get an automatic ZL-VE ECU (4 pinouts) you tranny pinout will jack right in.

rebel sounds

Postby rebel sounds » November 21st, 2008, 11:18 pm

would you be able to source it

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » November 21st, 2008, 11:20 pm

ζђίΰД™ wrote:The ZL-VE box and the ZM box has a diff gear ratio, so you done going wrong aready if u plan on usein the ZM box.. The automatic ECU would work with a gearbox, but the performance would not be the same as with the manual ECU.

If you have the money, get a complete manual engine and box.. it's not cheap, and hard to come by..

If your serious talk to Maztune, maybe he could organize yuh.

well the thing is shiva, its going to be real hard to get a full ZL-VE gearbox setup so he may have to settle for d 3.9 ratio not the 4.4 like you. Rem what you got its kinda hard to get. so He will have to get a ZL-VE auto engine, harness, ECU and a ZM/ZL/Z5 boxsetup.

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » November 21st, 2008, 11:24 pm

there is about 7 ZL-VE's around d place. Price ranging between $3500-$6500

Bicks and IandS and the other place next to it in penal have 2.

Mahadeos penal have 1(immaculate engine!!)

Mahadeos in the bamboo have 2. one actually upsidedown in the wet. (bastards!!!)

Seenaths - have one but i dunno it i have ECU and harness.(red bouy confirm)

Poya in the bamboo have 1

rebel sounds

Postby rebel sounds » November 21st, 2008, 11:35 pm

no i getting the engine for 3600 and the guy has about six both engine and trannie . i thought the ecu didnt come with the engine

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » November 22nd, 2008, 6:23 am

yeah maz he can but his topend will suffer the ve tranny has a higher final gear ratio than the zl-de tranny 3.683:1 on de zl-de 3.904:1 on de zl-ve but it will work better if he uses a zm tranny

rebel sounds

Postby rebel sounds » November 22nd, 2008, 6:39 am

so what you saying red bwoy buy the engine and tranny complete

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » November 22nd, 2008, 10:59 am

What about this engine found in the Familia Sport 20? Imagine that mounted to a 5-speed manual :twisted:

Displacement, cc 1991
Engine model FS-ZE
Max.power (Net), kw(PS)/rpm 165 ps (121.36 kw) / 6800 rpm
Max.torque(Net), N*m(kg*m)/rpm 18.1 kg*m (177.50 N*m) / 5000 rpm
Power density 7.09
Engine type Water cooling serial 4 cylinder DOHC16 valve
Engine information
Fuel system EGI (electronic gasoline injection)
Turbocharger No
Fuel type Unleaded premium gasoline
LEV system (Low emission vehicle) Yes
Compression ratio 10.4
Bore, mm 83
Stroke, mm 92

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » November 22nd, 2008, 11:09 am

actually i drove a sport20 4WD manual last night. it was the most fun i had in a while. extremely good acceleration, perfect handling, braking everything. even saw meh pardner with a Impreza STI and we had a nice run though the back streets of Cocoyea.

If you getting the sport20 its a good buy but some parts are JDM spec only, so you cant subsitute with FS-DE american parts like crank, connecting rod bearings. more block than head. If you do decid to buy you will have to order in some parts if anything goes wrong, i could order it in for you, 2 weeks.

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » November 22nd, 2008, 11:11 am

rebel sounds wrote:so what you saying red bwoy buy the engine and tranny complete

yes if you getting the full package take it... well tranny on the whole to me is mess though but if you have to go tranny go with the ZL-VE if you can get it.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » November 22nd, 2008, 11:45 am

maztune, but aren't some sport20 hatchbacks FWD only? My friend has one and its FWD but has 16" 5-lug rims, 4-airbags, fog lights, spoiler, fabric seats and 4-speed activematic. If I could get one with the sunroof, leather seats, cruise control and 17" rims that would be nice. I find the 4WD version heavier and less responsive and eats tyres faster.

This same fella shame a stock Subaru Impreza 2.0R the other night, stock Honda Civic SiR EK4, Mitsubishi Lancer CK MIVEC, Toyota BZR 4A-GE and Nissan Primera (P11) Hyper-CVT M6 SR20VE NEO VVL....but I think most were automatics :lol:

Return to “MAZDA”