I.C.E. Club Meeting #4/Test & Tune Nov. 2008. costs up

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » November 17th, 2008, 10:50 am

The event proved to be very fruitful, as I got to see the strengths and weakness of my system on the RTA and hear the comments from the Industry Specialist.

I own much thanks to Jonathan for organizing the event and using his personal time and resources to make the event come to life, Roger, Rave, Jeff, Sully for comments and assistance in tuning the system, and everyone who was there. Without you guys the event was not possible.

The event gave me the opportunity to listen to other members vehicles and hear the differences in systems. The differences were very subtle in terms of tonality, phasing and dynamics etc. but it was well worth the it...

The event also made me to appreciate the time effort and resources people spend their systems and in light of this it shows the seriousness people place on their I.C.E.

I must say the event was an experience and i hope we have another like this in the first quarter of 2009.

Tintman

casper

Postby casper » November 17th, 2008, 1:18 pm

the event was relll cool....after sunday i hadda start to call jonathan xzibit yesss.....he had the whole pimp my ride type install down packed :lol:

jeff's system literally had me day dreaming...i felt like a relll bad ting dat eh wah come up the front seat for nothing... :oops: ...lol

he didnt even have to tell me where to look for the sound and i was picking it up for myself....where the guitarist, drummer, singer were positioned etc....superman sounded great...the rumbling "cant hear" bass is out of this world....

SS626's sub giving u lows like wawwww.....couldn't last a good 3 minutes in his car...low bass hurts my ears :(

was rel suprised to see my RTA curve too...thought it would have been horrible but it looked ok-ish...

was a very fun and informative day as roger,rave and the others were offering much assistance and advice on how to better our systems....great job on the organizing silent.... :wink:

Postby SR » November 17th, 2008, 2:03 pm

what dls demo vehicle??

jeff

Postby jeff » November 17th, 2008, 2:30 pm

SR wrote:what dls demo vehicle??

o i just saw some white hatch with some dls in it, maybe i saw wrong

Postby SR » November 17th, 2008, 3:33 pm

hmm

what was your opinion on it

Postby 3stagevtec » November 17th, 2008, 3:34 pm

SR wrote:hmm

lacks traction in 1st...

riadb

Postby riadb » November 17th, 2008, 3:35 pm

tooooo much torque!! lol

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » November 17th, 2008, 3:50 pm

Thanks for all the good comments guys.
I would like to hear lancer3 and sandfly's comments about their systems now after the event.
Sadly, I didn't get to hear much systems on the day (except casper's of course!!).
It was good to see people of different applications (sq, spl, gallery) look forward to listen to applications other than their own.

For SPL on the AC meter,
Rene did 146.4, then 150.1
(I hope all is well after that bass boxing trial!)
markzz did 141.1, then 143.7

I will post up the termlab results tonight when I get home.

Postby 3stagevtec » November 17th, 2008, 4:49 pm

silent_riot wrote:Thanks for all the good comments guys.
I would like to hear lancer3 and sandfly's comments about their systems now after the event.
Sadly, I didn't get to hear much systems on the day (except casper's of course!!).
It was good to see people of different applications (sq, spl, gallery) look forward to listen to applications other than their own.

For SPL on the AC meter,
Rene did 146.4, then 150.1
(I hope all is well after that bass boxing trial!)
markzz did 141.1, then 143.7

I will post up the termlab results tonight when I get home.

subs still alive and kicking.. but no more bass boxing for me thanks..

you wouldn't believe how much i was hoping NOT to see smoke... :lol: that was the hardest i've ever beat on them.. but the 146.1dB average was worth it, and alot more than i expected.. :shock:

the 146.4 was done with my subs wired at 4ohms.. when i re-wired them to 1ohm, i made the 150.1dBs..

Pirate

Postby Pirate » November 17th, 2008, 4:52 pm

riadb wrote:
silent riot gallery setup...yes i said gallery setup

for real....there is some gallery blood running through his veins after all :lol:

^^^4 real!
:D

u have excellent mid bass response up front...it was almost like u had a sub in d front doors! :)

Jeff...words cannot describe ur setup...sounded better that excellent!

Casper make meh feel like i in ato boldon stadium! Dat DD real KICK!
nice!

very informative and well organised event!

sandfly

Postby sandfly » November 17th, 2008, 5:17 pm

silent_riot wrote:I would like to hear lancer3 and sandfly's comments about their systems now after the event.

Well at first I thought I didn't have any knowledge about SQ but after I realized I actually know some stuff. Rave said I did good for a rookie and gave me a few tips. And well you guys said I had a good RTA curve which I saw for the first time. This gave me some inspiration to put more effort into my system and for sure now I'll attend all the rest of ICE meetings.
Thanks

riadb

Postby riadb » November 17th, 2008, 5:56 pm

hmmmm we might need to find a bigger venue for ice meetings :wink:

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » November 17th, 2008, 8:15 pm

Termlab SPL Results
(according to boom's crapaud-foot handwriting):

Riadb - 140.01@38Hz
yos19 - 138.38@48Hz
markzz - 141.12 @ 52Hz, 143.26@53Hz (Backseat off), 143.32@52Hz (Backseat off)
EYEandEYE/fuzz - 139.01@45Hz

sandfly, good to hear man.

I hope you guys realise from the comments so far (from sandfly, pirate, casper etc) that what the so-called "average guy" hears is not that much different from what SQ competitors hear. Everyone can hear the differences in the systems. The biggest difference is seasoned competitors know what to listen for, the "average guy" just doesn't know as yet.

3stage, excellent job in SPL and bass boxing! esp with only one battery. Have you tried to underload your amps yet?

Postby SR » November 17th, 2008, 9:10 pm

3stagevtec wrote:

lacks traction in 1st...

2nd and 3rd as well

i didnt floor it

as for the system maybe it might be ready for the show for demo

yos19

Postby yos19 » November 18th, 2008, 9:16 am

at least my score gone up a bit,,,, :wink:

nice idea on the event,it was good since i got to meet everyone and try to learn from their experience, didn't do a rta cuz i know i wudda be off like wow but hopefully i get some help to tune up d mids a likkle bit,,,

de spl score hopefully could make more with a few adjustments as well...

riadb

Postby riadb » November 18th, 2008, 9:17 am

can i get a shot at your system Yos????

roger

Postby roger » November 18th, 2008, 9:22 am

looking forward to the next one...

i enjoyed it...

should have my system complete for demo as well.

roger

Postby roger » November 18th, 2008, 9:36 am

Aimar wrote:Definitely a little more mid bass after first tweak but still don't like my high end response to much, but it was ok on the rta. :|

that is sometimes the catch22.....a good rta response can sometimes sound shiddy! (not saying your high end response was)

from listening to the systems i did, i noticed that the main issue was linearity....so i tried to firstly make the system more linear and balanced.

after i paid a lil attention to tonality...did not get into imageing, soundstage or depth at all.

remember guys that you can achive a respectable sounding car, by maximizing what you have, what ever it is....and understand that in many regards you do not need to have to be competition ready or be completely techinically sound, to have a good sounding daily driver......you just need to apply the basics.

regards

yos19

Postby yos19 » November 18th, 2008, 9:39 am

sure,,,,,n e help is very welcomed..thx, :wink:

Postby 3stagevtec » November 18th, 2008, 1:47 pm

SR wrote:
3stagevtec wrote:

lacks traction in 1st...

2nd and 3rd as well

i didnt floor it

as for the system maybe it might be ready for the show for demo

:lol: you not easy nah... i've never heard any of your systems yet.. looking forward to it at Nov 30th..

silent_riot wrote:3stage, excellent job in SPL and bass boxing! esp with only one battery. Have you tried to underload your amps yet?

yeah, when i had my subs wired to 4ohms final, the amps were seeing 2ohms each.. at 1ohm final impedance, they would have seen 0.5ohms each before rise..

gfbl

Postby gfbl » November 18th, 2008, 5:17 pm

it was a success. thanks to jon for organising the event. critical listenign of systems by rog, sully, rave. really helped guys to make assessments of their system and wheer they need improvement, especially myself. good meeting the other guys

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » November 19th, 2008, 1:25 pm

Oh, before I forget, if anyone has any suitable venue recommendations for the next event please let me know.

Aimar

Postby Aimar » November 19th, 2008, 2:10 pm

silent... anytime you ready to email the plots :lol:

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » November 19th, 2008, 2:22 pm

:oops:
Most were emailed out already.
The few that are left were mixed up.
I have to try to sort them out when I get home.

Postby kurpal_v2 » November 20th, 2008, 9:34 am

EH CASPER THE BASS AMP RACKLING TOOO BAD PADNA...

Guys the meet was wow, listening to all those cars was amazing. Jeff major respect homie on that bass..

jeff

Postby jeff » November 20th, 2008, 10:18 am

that was with my sub on sq mode, the others wernt turned on....
boom next time come and sit down in the car

Postby kurpal_v2 » November 20th, 2008, 3:10 pm

I sooooo wanted to.. Kay donna defiantly..

Yall tickle my SQ fetish so much I cant wait to finish my rookie year in IDBL.. Or at least get a mids line like DK's :twisted: ....Ok ill go back in my corner now.

Advil
Location: searching for an avatar that will not offend the idiots

Postby Advil » November 20th, 2008, 3:36 pm

i'm only now getting time to read the email, :(

Advil
Location: searching for an avatar that will not offend the idiots

Postby Advil » November 20th, 2008, 4:07 pm

what about having it closer to the rest of civilization...

7th or 14th December

(i'm still thinking of a location)

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » November 20th, 2008, 4:54 pm

:?: :?: December
The event is done. The next event is scheduled for January/February tentatively.
I remember calling you and telling you about this, as I did with most people.