God Bless the Black Top*

Postby God Bless the Black Top* » November 3rd, 2008, 1:35 pm

how much yuh think he will call for it?

God Bless the Black Top*

Postby God Bless the Black Top* » November 3rd, 2008, 1:39 pm

talking about that, anyone know where i can get/buy/source/bring down fender guitars????

Postby Sky » November 5th, 2008, 10:41 pm

Sky wrote:
zodiaque wrote:On a side note, met InDeforest yesterday briefly. You know your tube amps!8)

Same here actually.
Was planning to buy an 80's jap strat that needed refretting and a little cleaning and I told him about it. I planned to take it to him to refret when I got it. Last night when I bought it he happened to be there so he took a look at it one time.

http://www.wammiworld.com/system%201%20history.html
super strat immc.
no pics cuz i sold my cybershot to buy it lol. And I don't think anyone would believe how much i paid for it. Can't wait till it's fixed!!!!!!!

Sorry about the crappy pics. Used a cheapo phone to take them.
Well there it is. '85 Japanese "superstrat". Check by the index finger where a fret's missing. And he has about 5 buddies doin the same thing. Carrying it tomorrow for repair. Between Shyam and InDeForest I got pretty much the history of the guitar. Someone had petroleum jelly on the fretboard once :? like ebony's not smooth enough. the middle Tone knob's also turning without end so I'll need to open her up and check and change. Then find a whammy bar for that "floyd like" bridge Fender try there.

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » November 8th, 2008, 7:39 pm

^nice, I saw that at the shop for a while befor you got it. You have your work cut out though.
Last edited by zodiaque on November 8th, 2008, 7:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » November 8th, 2008, 7:42 pm

Koa flame top Carvin hollow body. :D
Saw it at Live n Loud last night 8)

Postby Cjruckus » November 8th, 2008, 9:20 pm

zodiaque wrote:Koa flame top Carvin hollow body. :D
Saw it at Live n Loud last night 8)

just was at live and loud and test drove that axe through the Carvin.

Not a bad piece. The picture doesn't do the axe justice.

Postby Sky » November 8th, 2008, 10:16 pm

No justice at all. I was there last night also when they took it out lol. "where yuh belt buckle?" lol
I'm looking to get another guitar with humbuckers and maybe a hardtail. If I wasn't I'd go for that Cobalt jed. On body tuner ftmfw!!!! it's not much work for the strat. Just gotta replace all the frets after sanding down the fretboard. Then a tone pot needs replacing. InDeForest already has it and gonna work his magic.

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » November 9th, 2008, 10:53 pm

^lol! I need to buy a padded belt buckle if I were to play most of the guitars in there! Buckles really do mess up finishes.
Good to know the strat is on it's way back. I had my eye on it, but it's not my style. I'm more of a single cut double hum player.

Snags

Postby Snags » November 10th, 2008, 12:38 am

heyyyyyyy , guitar jam at alan and jeromy's! hoo rah.

shady23

Postby shady23 » November 10th, 2008, 6:44 am

shady23 wrote:ESP EX50.

Sounds great for a low end ESP :)

A lil soliciting here myself. This is for sale :(

Anybody who wants it send a pm. Thanks.

God Bless the Black Top*

Postby God Bless the Black Top* » November 10th, 2008, 8:43 am

does live n loud sell strat bridges? (i've never been...) i need a vintage strat bridge, yuh know the one with 6 screws on the body. simon's had one for 300 bux and it wasn't anything to talk about...

God Bless the Black Top*

Postby God Bless the Black Top* » November 10th, 2008, 10:27 am

also, where can i get parts on a whole. i used to have a GREAT facking link in england, but since i back home i just cyah make tuh find?

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » November 11th, 2008, 1:25 pm

Parts hard to come by down here I find. You will get mostly generic parts.

God Bless the Black Top*

Postby God Bless the Black Top* » November 11th, 2008, 1:26 pm

shizer - i look for wilkinson parts jed... fork

Postby Sky » November 11th, 2008, 2:13 pm

Live n Loud don't really support strats. Mine's prolly the only one that passed through there. Check Audiocon on Long Circular rd. I was told by two people to check there for a whammy bar for mine.

I saw people talking about Squiers in a....well not negative, but not positive way either. What's wrong with them? My Rogue's not bad at all. The finish is solid, only cractes inflicted by me. It never saw a hardshell case. It stayed in tune ( unlike PRS SE's) The neck was built well and never warped. When I quit playing and put it down the 4 strings it had stayed in tune for over 3 years :lol: The only problem was the cheapo pickups.
The squier strat's even more solid. Never heard anything bad about them except the tone. Now Squier's name changed to Squier by Fender, and like they come out for Fender now. The Squier 50's vibe strat and Deluxe strat rivaling the Mexican Fender strat. Most reviews said if you don't need the novelty of a Fender then go for the squier 50's instead of the mim Fender.
mmmm I feelin to get one :mrgreen:

God Bless the Black Top*

Postby God Bless the Black Top* » November 11th, 2008, 2:16 pm

post korean squier strats are rubbish... only good for parts imo... the MIJ squiers go for REALLLL $$$ if you look for them on ebay... some nice stuff.

yuh selling yuh squier... i need a new body to make another partscaster.

Postby Sky » November 11th, 2008, 2:58 pm

Naw. Bringing it back. Plexy pickguard and 2 coil tapped Carvin C22 humbuckers goin in. What about them are rubbish if you can use the parts :? if you're looking to build a strat, you have to outdo Fender themselves. A warmoth body would be a great.

Check what these people do
http://www.warmoth.com/gallery/gallery. ... lude_strat

Swamp ash body ftw.

God Bless the Black Top*

Postby God Bless the Black Top* » November 11th, 2008, 3:03 pm

well all i would use is.... the body (plywood) and maybe the bridge... other that, toss away! wait wait no, the input jack

God Bless the Black Top*

Postby God Bless the Black Top* » November 11th, 2008, 3:04 pm

warmoth is good, but too expensive jed, i was looking at their bodies for a strat build, but i decided to use the body from a 16 yr old squier strat... nice and relic'd already

i used to be able to buy stuff from here:

www.axesrus.com

tacky site, but great parts at a good price

Postby Sky » November 11th, 2008, 5:35 pm

Wide selection too. Me likes...

God Bless the Black Top*

Postby God Bless the Black Top* » November 13th, 2008, 8:36 am

those wilkinson pickups are a steal of a deal...

i also found a site that ships fender to the caribbean:

www.guitartrader.com

thinking of bringing in a MIM black strat, and converting it to a David Gilmour strat with some parts i have here... need to get an SSL-1 Seymour Duncan pickup for the bridge though...

God Bless the Black Top*

Postby God Bless the Black Top* » November 13th, 2008, 8:59 am

also guys,

willing to trade a 1998 Epiphone SG (G-400) cherry red (reflects wood, looks cripz), mahogany body, rosewood fretboard, in mint condition.

refretted in 2003, had the nut bored to prevent buzz/stay in tune with .011's, has grover tuners, a replaced stock switch with a gibson selector switch etc.

hardly gets played, cos i'm too much into fenders these days - therefore, willing to trade for a MIM strat or a strat of equivalent value.

Snags

Postby Snags » November 13th, 2008, 12:07 pm

^I'll give you dell :lol:

God Bless the Black Top*

Postby God Bless the Black Top* » November 13th, 2008, 12:16 pm

hahahahaha

God Bless the Black Top*

Postby God Bless the Black Top* » November 13th, 2008, 12:33 pm

http://www.gibson.com/robotguitar/guitar.html

holy shi* i want one of those....

self tuning, assited string assembly and intonation....

Snags

Postby Snags » November 13th, 2008, 1:43 pm

That's not funny Nick, I'll really give you a dell laptop :| :lol:

God Bless the Black Top*

Postby God Bless the Black Top* » November 13th, 2008, 3:15 pm

umm... umm... negative :lol:

Postby Cjruckus » November 13th, 2008, 7:00 pm

If you need Spare Parts check out www.stewmac.com

I used to get their catalogs. Everything you need, and then some.

God Bless the Black Top*

Postby God Bless the Black Top* » November 13th, 2008, 7:03 pm

oh yes... international

thanks for the heads up man

Postby Cjruckus » November 13th, 2008, 7:05 pm

yeah.. If you are placing a order, see if you can get me the screws for a 2002 LSR roller nut. One of mine is missing. Will pay cash.