so fellas with new vans, anybody void their waranty yet?

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
HondaB20B

so fellas with new vans, anybody void their waranty yet?

Postby HondaB20B » November 4th, 2008, 10:28 pm

de reason i asking is that yuh know these firms charge you $$$$ every 5000KM to do a service. I paid just under $1200 for de first service about 2 wks ago. a guy who brought in his corolla for his 40,000KM service was told $4200. de man ask them where the hell they expect him to get that kinda money. I was like WTF :shock: :shock: . de man say sheit dat, i voiding waranty rite now.
so i ask them when my 40,000KM come up, what will be my total....... they told me same price. :shock: :shock: they tell me they does change all de fluids an ting........................ i was like yeah,but 4200???? whether it be nissan, toyota, mazda or ford, whats your service prices like.

Postby wagonrunner » November 5th, 2008, 5:56 am

when you buy from the stealership, sorry dealership, yuh feel its only the price to put the vehicle on the road you pay? yuh need to factor in their service charges as well. (remembers amir and the bill for changing the rotor tensioning pulley on the focus). :evil:
i think we still waiting on the steal........sorry again.............dealership to explain WTF is a rotor tensioning pulley.

venum

Postby venum » November 5th, 2008, 7:10 am

HondaB20B go to toyota and ask for a handout detailing the services and approx prices

they have this readily available - I got one

this will assist you in making an informed decision on the warranty

when you make up your mind - check 323_wagon_dude

we did the 40,000km service on this 3.0L lux at the last garage lime

:D

323_wagon_dude

Postby 323_wagon_dude » November 5th, 2008, 7:50 am

For the hilux (based on the prices I got)
Each 5000Km service is approx $1200
the 10000Km service is approx $1500
the 40000KM service is approx $6000 and takes 2 days.

venum

Postby venum » November 5th, 2008, 9:49 am

D4D_Hilux_dude wrote:the 40000KM service is approx $6000 and takes 2 days.

how long did we take again :?:

:D

323_wagon_dude

Postby 323_wagon_dude » November 5th, 2008, 11:43 am

^^ with or without the lime breaks?

Stuckindmud

Postby Stuckindmud » November 5th, 2008, 12:25 pm

do youHAVE to make ALL the services to keep the warranty ?
I heard its only the big ones - the 40 000kms
and a record of the others

Postby Greypatch » November 5th, 2008, 12:35 pm

LMAO 2 days...

fafrumlosin

Postby fafrumlosin » November 5th, 2008, 2:01 pm

well ironically when my van was 3 weeks old some rasshole hit it next time i went to the dealer they informed me that my warranty was void since that i have been servicing my van myself

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » November 5th, 2008, 2:01 pm

wagonrunner wrote:(remembers amir and the bill for changing the rotor tensioning pulley on the focus). :evil:
i think we still waiting on the steal........sorry again.............dealership to explain WTF is a rotor tensioning pulley.

all ahh dat happen??? what was de bill.

Postby equipped2ripp » November 5th, 2008, 2:20 pm

HondaB20B, can't remember paying THAT much to do my 40K service at massy...

i stop servicing @ massy since i crossed 100K, reason not only being that they were expensive, but they did not want to change a part that was under warranty which i told them needed changing (front right cradle, upper ball joints were bad). i told them about the sound i was getting since the vehicle had about 87000kms and they didn't want to replace it... vehicle crossed 100K and i told them about it again, they told me they can't do anything for that because warranty up.. i was like :wtf:
they did change the front left side power window module and the sunroof shade for me under warranty though.

the only time they would see me is when i go to buy parts... and that's it.

right now i trying to bend from getting a Navara when replacing the Frontier, because I don't want to have to deal with their sheit all over again.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » November 5th, 2008, 2:28 pm

let dem start any shite.............. ahh cussing up dey muddaarse :fist:

323_wagon_dude

Postby 323_wagon_dude » November 5th, 2008, 3:30 pm

HondaB20B wrote:let dem start any shite.............. ahh cussing up dey muddaarse :fist:

Been there...done that.

They had installed my sports bar badly and it damaged the paint on top of the cab. They were supposed to fix it under warranty but refused to. After almost a year of running me around I told them off...

venum

Postby venum » November 6th, 2008, 10:22 am

Stuckindmud wrote:do youHAVE to make ALL the services to keep the warranty ?
I heard its only the big ones - the 40 000kms
and a record of the others

so some ppl, incl one of my cousins who bought a 4x2 told me

but the showroom sales agents tell you that it is mandatory for ALL services

if fact, he made some kind of arrangements to do every other service by them 10k, 20k, 30k etc

the 5k, 15k, 25k etc he does outside

Bezman

Postby Bezman » November 7th, 2008, 11:09 am

service prices mat sound crazy, but do any of you want to have to replace a gearbox, tranny, turbo or ABS sensors or actuators?? those things are bloody expensive....

gettign them to change ti may eb a nightmare, but i rather them replace my 50,000 auto tranny, than myself have to pay for it if needed :)

Postby equipped2ripp » November 7th, 2008, 11:23 am

^ yeah i've been through that.

25 to LIFE

Postby 25 to LIFE » November 7th, 2008, 4:06 pm

Got a Toyota Hilux 4x2.
Put on 20's .................threatened to viod warranty.
They did not call to confirm the 20,000 service, made another appointment the next day and was given a date a month away, so I did it myself............threatened to viod warranty.
Went for the 25,000 warranty.........threatened to viod warranty (if I did not redo the 20,000 service with them)
Sucked it up. Did my service and it cost $2400.00. i was like WTF :evil:
Last service I did. Now my services cost $600.00 with geniune Toyota parts from Faiz in Marabella.

It safe to say I f :arrow: cked my warranty.

Mr. Cheese

Postby Mr. Cheese » November 8th, 2008, 5:59 pm

this is my 2nd van and toyota service sucks
i buy my own filters and accessories and do my own service home
my pardner was the service manager in south and he said that the only time you could void ur warranty wrt to servicing is if you do not use genuine toyota parts.
i have a set of 22's on my van and they say that i am voiding my warranty...i said okay.
i checked toyota's website and did up my own spreadsheet on the different levels of service (a,b,c,d) and do my own thing based on that and also keep records like bills for filters, fluids, alignment, greasings etc etc etc

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » November 8th, 2008, 7:34 pm

Mr. Cheese care to share some of those spreadsheets?

Mr. Cheese

Postby Mr. Cheese » November 9th, 2008, 4:15 pm

no scene....
send me your email addresses and i would forward them to you guys

Mr. Cheese

Postby Mr. Cheese » November 10th, 2008, 6:10 am

HondaB20B and Stuckindmud,
I emailed you guys the spreadsheet...you could distribute.

Cheese.

Stuckindmud

Postby Stuckindmud » November 10th, 2008, 8:27 am

Thanks bro

25 to LIFE

Postby 25 to LIFE » November 10th, 2008, 8:47 am

At my last service I got the service sheets specific to our new Hilux. If anyone wants these they can pm me.

nicholaz53

Postby nicholaz53 » November 10th, 2008, 11:00 am

let me give you the story, between my cousins and myself we have seven hilux vans, four 4x4's and three 4x2's, they specifically tell us the more money we spend the better treatment you get. our service bills run nothing less than 1200$ per service. my cousin decided to go outside and service one of the 4x2's, no problem since. the rest of vans, the 4x4's are having turbo problems, each one has had their turbo changed out. they would normally call to inform you of a service date until the 25000KM and then thereafter you call and arrange.

when toyota does a service they pretend to service the van, not guessing or assuming, first hand knowledge. i have seen the 4x2 being service and there is nothing to it. YES you may void your warranty, but to change out those turbo's the amout of run around we get, and the sales reps have to come into play cause THE MORE MONEY YOU SPEND THE BETTER TREATMENT.

So guys i am recommending to you if you dont really cherish your warranty go ahead and do it yourself or at an outside garage, if you do want warranty and cannot do a 100K in two years or less keep the warranty.

i have done 100K, which is the warranty limit - 100K or 3YRS, and then decided to change out the service to an outside garage which i ahve come to realise is the way to go.

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”