Why is it that people who dont eat meat or fasting etc......

pandu

Postby pandu » October 26th, 2008, 9:58 am

^^^^ No smartypants, is because there is a soul in each creature, you arent supposed to kill them just to stuff your belly. That is why hindus are NOT supposed to eat meat.

Postby hydroep » October 26th, 2008, 10:58 am

LOL...I'd question whether or not the 4 year old child relayed verbatim what the teacher said. Children are limited in their understanding so I'd suspect that the whole truth of the matter was lost in translation.

Also let's assume that what the teacher said was true. While I don't necessarily agree with the Teacher's comments it's a Hindu school and they have the right to promote their faith as they see fit. No one is forcing a non-hindu child to go to the school.

This kinda reminds me of when the Muslim girl was forbidden from wearing her Hijab in St. Joseph's Convent (a R.C. school) because it didn't conform to the school's dress code and then wanted to cry discrimination. The people have their own rules on school dress and you want to change that? IMO she should have gone to a Muslim school that had rules and regulations which suited her religious beliefs.

And all that talk about children are impressionable and that one must be careful about what one says around them, that's nothing new. Even parents use fear to control their children. I remember attending a R.C. school and being told that I would burn in hell for all eternity if I wasn't a good boy...:?

Personally I've never come across any Hindus who abstain from meat that appear to be holier than thou. I've had more such experiences from those of the Christian faiths though. But that's just me. Perhaps individual perception is the real issue here?... :idea:

JM

Postby JM » October 27th, 2008, 2:48 am

streetbeastINC. wrote:the religion is indeed peaceful...but as everything man spoils it...

Yes but u letting man spoil you, your mood, your judgement and ur perception....
I dont find this attitude to be a common thing amongst vegetarian hindu's and i can think of 3 who in my opinion are strict about it, i interact with them daily...and im Christian, within the group are muslims and hindu's who eat nething that used to breathe..and its never caused a problem...
We talking about ppl from all over the country, different creeds and races...

While i dont agree with the teacher's methods or even telling the child that...

The post above this proves a potentially valid pt....children often relay things a bit warped..

Postby streetbeastINC. » October 27th, 2008, 3:17 am

i based my assumptions on alot of other things.......this with the lil dude is just ONE......
this is after many years of observing more than 10 individuals......even in this thread i see it....

so u are saying that children see the world in a warped way and u should not take on what they say??? ----- as i said....my statement is reality....and it is indeed true.....-in my humble opinion....

Re: Why is it that people who dont eat meat or fasting etc..

Postby crazybalhead » October 27th, 2008, 9:48 am

streetbeastINC. wrote:.my bad mood thread.

Why is it that people who dont eat meat etc, who goes to temple etc..or any other religious fanatics.. (but i am basing this generally on hindus..''----'')
why is it that they Look down on other people.???? They somehow feel that because they live this ''life'' that they are some sort of divine presence and untouchable...and they can somehow bestow 'blessings' on to others! and it is indeed these people who wont lift a flickin finger or spend an extra $1 to help someone even an Animal in need...they more or less scorn the rest of society..
they are of the belief that being a Totally devout hindu/ not partaking in "flesh" having ten ''puja'' a year--- makes them helpful to mankind.....but in reality all these prayers/puja are done for one thing..--- to make their business more prosperous etc.... not for anyone else but themselves and greed.,,i came from a hindu background...went to temples when i was younger only to observe that the temple is set up in a hierarchical manner--

that is the rich builds a temple the poor does all the work and take whatever hand out they get........

maybe i am being biased.....i dunno..

Why all this? i was listening to a child (of a co worker)who is not hindu but goes to a hindu school ,he was saying his teacher said all those who eat meat are not good people etc etc...the lil boy took this to fright.....and now is questioning his own diet .....(4 years old) SO his teacher (who is a vegetarian/pundit) has the right to make this kid feel less human????
and portray him/herself to be ''divine''???? if one eats what he wants...why is it that u being a vege makes u better than another????

i am sorry if the english is a mess i got angry... :wink:

Stop studying other people so much. There are muffler bearings everywhere. Manage yuh own business.

Re: Why is it that people who dont eat meat or fasting etc..

Postby RBphoto » October 27th, 2008, 11:33 am

streetbeastINC. wrote:.my bad mood thread.

Why is it that people who dont eat meat etc, who goes to temple etc..or any other religious fanatics.. (but i am basing this generally on hindus..''----'')
why is it that they Look down on other people.???? They somehow feel that because they live this ''life'' that they are some sort of divine presence and untouchable...and they can somehow bestow 'blessings' on to others! and it is indeed these people who wont lift a flickin finger or spend an extra $1 to help someone even an Animal in need...they more or less scorn the rest of society..
they are of the belief that being a Totally devout hindu/ not partaking in "flesh" having ten ''puja'' a year--- makes them helpful to mankind.....but in reality all these prayers/puja are done for one thing..--- to make their business more prosperous etc.... not for anyone else but themselves and greed.,,i came from a hindu background...went to temples when i was younger only to observe that the temple is set up in a hierarchical manner--

that is the rich builds a temple the poor does all the work and take whatever hand out they get........

maybe i am being biased.....i dunno..

Why all this? i was listening to a child (of a co worker)who is not hindu but goes to a hindu school ,he was saying his teacher said all those who eat meat are not good people etc etc...the lil boy took this to fright.....and now is questioning his own diet .....(4 years old) SO his teacher (who is a vegetarian/pundit) has the right to make this kid feel less human????
and portray him/herself to be ''divine''???? if one eats what he wants...why is it that u being a vege makes u better than another????

i am sorry if the english is a mess i got angry... :wink:

Being angry is no excuse for bad english, being trinidadian is ;). but anyway, that teacher is an a-hole. Hinduism is supposed to be the most tolerant loving and accepting religion, with the belief that all religions are a path to god.

When you concentrate on the form and fashion of the religion and not on the spiritual upliftment that it creates, you are missing the point of the whole exercise. the fact that the teacher is bothered by the boy eating meat shows that she does not accept the the fact that under his religion, there is no sanction against it, thus she is not being tolerant.

Your anger is misdirected to hindu's and should be directed to A-holes in general, and they belong to every religion. From the idiot who spoil my return trip from tobago trying to convert me with his bible thumping and calling me an idol worshiper to the muslims who look down on me and call me a kaufar behind my back when I am with my girl. They come in all creed and race, and their fanaticism and idiotic way of thinking is sanctioned by their religious leaders in some cases. I have seen examples of intolerance from the hindu camp but is mostly racial biggotry and not religious biggotry.

To be honest, I want to go to hell when I die, because heaven will be a lonely place with everyone condemning everyone else to hell. I doubt you will be able to knock a good round of fours over a bottle of forres park in heaven.

Postby RBphoto » October 27th, 2008, 11:37 am

hydroep wrote:Personally I've never come across any Hindus who abstain from meat that appear to be holier than thou.

Yuh young yet. They are called chamars.

OffshoreMarketing

Postby OffshoreMarketing » October 27th, 2008, 12:50 pm

wait this thread based up ona teacher in ahindu school? dem teachers are no pundits eh doh forget that and if yuh doh want yuh child exposed to bias views of a them or i shudnt say biased i mean the personal views of teachers dont send them there because it happens in all schools of diffrent faiths with all teachers....this thread fail

JM

Postby JM » October 27th, 2008, 3:21 pm

streetbeastINC. wrote:i based my assumptions on alot of other things.......this with the lil dude is just ONE......
this is after many years of observing more than 10 individuals......even in this thread i see it....

Well the only person u can see it in in this thread is pandu...
and it would be where he talk bout scaring the boy...

Postby RBphoto » October 27th, 2008, 3:22 pm

RPM wrote:wait this thread based up ona teacher in ahindu school? dem teachers are no pundits eh doh forget that and if yuh doh want yuh child exposed to bias views of a them or i shudnt say biased i mean the personal views of teachers dont send them there because it happens in all schools of diffrent faiths with all teachers....this thread fail

Indeed.

Postby streetbeastINC. » October 27th, 2008, 4:50 pm

anyway.....i aint eat meat for 2 whole days now..went gym ah almsot dead..see stars and all kinda scene....------

:(

bluespeed

Postby bluespeed » October 27th, 2008, 5:16 pm

streetbeastINC. wrote:anyway.....i aint eat meat for 2 whole days now..went gym ah almsot dead..see stars and all kinda scene....------

:(

2 days of not eating meat is not going to cause dat...

lack of oxygen, poor blood flow to your brain or dehydration..... may be your culprits...

Postby streetbeastINC. » October 27th, 2008, 5:21 pm

lol....it no meat i tell you.!!!!!!!!!!!

bluespeed

Postby bluespeed » October 27th, 2008, 5:34 pm

streetbeastINC. wrote:lol....it no meat i tell you.!!!!!!!!!!!

yuh could ah eat ah saltfish :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby streetbeastINC. » October 27th, 2008, 5:41 pm

considered meat :mrgreen:

pandu

Postby pandu » October 27th, 2008, 8:26 pm

JM wrote:

Well the only person u can see it in in this thread is pandu...
and it would be where he talk bout scaring the boy...

cho yuh frame!

robbieg

Postby robbieg » October 27th, 2008, 9:30 pm

now eat a nice beef steak there...
happy divali all
:rofl: :rofl: :rofl:

EdVedder

Postby EdVedder » October 28th, 2008, 2:04 am

dat religion is a pack ah sheit

explain to me how ppl worship a monkey man as god? this religion is a bloody fairy tale that some insane ass ppl took seriously

how is it dat a god cud accidentally chop off somebody head. a true god doesnt make mistakes.....and to make d garbage of a sheit story worse he is "god" but yet cant put bak on d head n has to put some elephant head on d poor child...dont eat meat, but it ok to kill an elephant because ur dumb ass chop off sum1 head n needs a replacement

do u ppl really think about d nonsense uall believe in n ever consider for a moment if it makes any sense at all ?

Postby hydroep » October 28th, 2008, 7:34 am

^^Those are some pretty harsh words there fella. On the surface it may seem that the religion is based on idolatry, especially if one has been brainwashed by mainstream orthodox religions.

However, my understanding is that the intention is not to worship "a monkey man" or a man with an "elephant head" for its own sake.

They're simply symbols that represent the various aspects of God i.e. to show more clearly his different capabilities. Ganesh ("elephant head") for instance represents the power of God to overcome obstacles. By separating the various aspects of God, followers can focus on a particular issue when needed.

From a practical point of view this gives the religion a type of structure that is easy to follow and use. Even I can see the wisdom in that approach despite the fact that I'm not a Hindu...:mrgreen:

sexy_ke70_chick

Postby sexy_ke70_chick » October 28th, 2008, 9:53 am

Thou shalt not make to thyself an idol, and you shall not bow down to them or worship them: for I the Lord your God! :mrgreen:

pandu

Postby pandu » October 28th, 2008, 11:04 am

^^^ It is not an idol, it is an image in the form of God.

God took various forms, and to concentrate on them better, Hindus make murtis of them. We dont worship a piece of stone...

If you say that God can only be without form, then you are limiting God. Which is dumb.

To make it easier for you to understand - if I walk in a church and break a state of jesus, wouldnt you be pissed off? It is not the stone you worship, but the Christ... same principle as with murtis

Postby hydroep » October 28th, 2008, 11:04 am

Kapathika: "How should a wise man maintain truth?"

The Buddha: "A man has a faith. If he says 'This is my faith,' so far he maintains truth. But by that he cannot proceed to the absolute conclusion: 'This alone is Truth, and everything else is false.'"

Buddhism. Majjhima Nikaya, Canki-sutta...:mrgreen:

pandu

Postby pandu » October 28th, 2008, 11:07 am

EdVedder wrote:dat religion is a pack ah sheit

explain to me how ppl worship a monkey man as god? this religion is a bloody fairy tale that some insane ass ppl took seriously

how is it dat a god cud accidentally chop off somebody head. a true god doesnt make mistakes.....and to make d garbage of a sheit story worse he is "god" but yet cant put bak on d head n has to put some elephant head on d poor child...dont eat meat, but it ok to kill an elephant because ur dumb ass chop off sum1 head n needs a replacement

do u ppl really think about d nonsense uall believe in n ever consider for a moment if it makes any sense at all ?

you see, you dont even know the proper accounts of the stories, so how could you expect to understand it?

And, even though I doubt someone of your idiocy could comprehend this, if God only acted as God, how could mere mortals like us understand how to live? Therefore, in all scriptures, you read that it was an example shown for people to follow.

sookoo

Postby sookoo » October 28th, 2008, 11:11 am

I can't understand people sometimes.....if you don't know / understand then shut the hell up !

Tell me this. Have you seen god ? how do you know he's real ? Why is it people think that their god is The god ...

As i always say , all rivers flow to the same sea.

Do you think that god will bless you for critizing someone . Those who have not sinned , cast the first stone !

Please do not behave like Hitler and the Jews . Thought we all learned our lesson from that .

on the issue of idol...everyone flaming on hidus worshiping idols . I know , been to churches , and done it my self worshiping jusus on the cross . Is he not the son of god as claimed ? ok enough said . Thou shal not worship no other god

Are we soo distracted these days that we are missing the main idea ?

I have family who tried to convince me to change my religion to christianity . Because i did not want to comply my family stopped talking to me + saying stuff about me behind my back . Tell me this ...is this what christianity all about ? If you do not do what they want you to do does god give them permission to go about doing what they did in that manner ?

please note i am not a christian , but went to christian school , did christian stuff , lived like a christian yet i celebrate every relegious events . I am a Trini , let not my relegion divide my culture and block my path for richeousness

We living in an intelligent society .....we know right from wrong , good from bad , yet we ....................................

Society is filled with Hypocrites !!!

Postby AllTrac » October 28th, 2008, 11:20 am

sookoo wrote:Society is filled with Hypocrites !!!

SHOT!!!!

especially the ones who pretend to be the most religious.

pandu

Postby pandu » October 28th, 2008, 11:20 am

One God, many names. It does not matter which ones you use. I am a staunch Hindu. I love Jesus. There is no problem.

Vinesh

Postby Vinesh » October 28th, 2008, 11:37 am

HAPPY DIVALI 2 ALL DE PPL FASTIN AND
Why is it that people who dont eat meat or fasting etc......

bluespeed

Postby bluespeed » October 28th, 2008, 12:39 pm

pandu, the churches with idols are catholic ones.... that is catholicism..

Christan denominations don't follow the catholic beliefs......Christians were persecuted by the Roman Catholics during roman rule....... Christianity and Roman Catholicism are 2 totally different religions so don't get them mixed up.....

Postby hydroep » October 28th, 2008, 12:57 pm

An idol doesn't have to be a statue. It can take various forms such as pictures and fabricated symbols. There are pictures of Jesus in the Presbyterian Church and almost all Pentecostal Churches have Crosses...:?

bluespeed

Postby bluespeed » October 28th, 2008, 2:05 pm

hydroep wrote:An idol doesn't have to be a statue. It can take various forms such as pictures and fabricated symbols. There are pictures of Jesus in the Presbyterian Church and almost all Pentecostal Churches have Crosses...:?

Presbyterian & Anglican religions are catholicism based.....eg the colour around the necks of the ministers of religion...