de sad truth is that all these info articles written by ppl who live in foreign countries are almost non-applicable when it comes to gasoline in trinidad
the premium gasoline we get in trinidad is not 95 RON, it is one or 2 octane points lower, same thing wit de super, not to mention the gas is just all round dirtier
Chemical Darryl wrote:de sad truth is that all these info articles written by ppl who live in foreign countries are almost non-applicable when it comes to gasoline in trinidad
the premium gasoline we get in trinidad is not 95 RON, it is one or 2 octane points lower, same thing wit de super, not to mention the gas is just all round dirtier
Where do you people derive these from?
BS, super will work in MOST cars just as well as permium.
crossdrilled wrote:Chemical Darryl wrote:de sad truth is that all these info articles written by ppl who live in foreign countries are almost non-applicable when it comes to gasoline in trinidad
Not in a QG engine though.
MANIAC wrote:bushwakka wrote:the premium gasoline we get in trinidad is not 95 RON, it is one or 2 octane points lower, same thing wit de super, not to mention the gas is just all round dirtier
... and how can you prove this ?
ghostbusters wrote:QG is rated at 91 octane not so? this is what i found:
# 1.6L
- QG16DE, 1597cc, petrol >=91 RON, 4-cyls, smpfi, 4-valves/cyl, valve timing control, dohc
- bore: 76mm, stroke: 88mm, c.r.: 9.5:1
- power: 83kW at 6000rpm, torque: 140Nm at 4400rpm
- economy: city 7.4L/100km manual (7.6L/100km auto'), highway 5.2 (5.4)
# 1.8L
- QG18DE, 1769cc, petrol >=91 RON, 4-cyls, smpfi, 4-valves/cyl, valve timing control, dohc
- bore: 80mm, stroke: 88mm, c.r.: 9.5:1
- power: 92kW at 5600rpm, torque: 161Nm at 4400rpm
- economy: city 7.8L/100km manual (8.0L/100km auto'), highway 5.2 (5.4)
crossdrilled wrote:Chemical Darryl wrote:de sad truth is that all these info articles written by ppl who live in foreign countries are almost non-applicable when it comes to gasoline in trinidad
Not in a QG engine though.
bushwakka wrote:MANIAC wrote:bushwakka wrote:the premium gasoline we get in trinidad is not 95 RON, it is one or 2 octane points lower, same thing wit de super, not to mention the gas is just all round dirtier
we tested it in the laboratory for a research project using the GC (Gas Chromatograph) and the HPLC (High Performance Liquid Chromatography)
the student's conclusion stated that the Premium and Super gasoline obtained from a number of different gas stations was lower than the posted RON value
regular gasoline was not tested for fear that particulates found in dirty regular gasoline would clog the equipment (dey rel expensive)
i doh have the report on hand, it in sum lecturer office
but yea, thas how i kno...believe me or not, ur choice until another independent evaluation is made
MANIAC wrote:bushwakka wrote:MANIAC wrote:bushwakka wrote:the premium gasoline we get in trinidad is not 95 RON, it is one or 2 octane points lower, same thing wit de super, not to mention the gas is just all round dirtier
we tested it in the laboratory for a research project using the GC (Gas Chromatograph) and the HPLC (High Performance Liquid Chromatography)
the student's conclusion stated that the Premium and Super gasoline obtained from a number of different gas stations was lower than the posted RON value
regular gasoline was not tested for fear that particulates found in dirty regular gasoline would clog the equipment (dey rel expensive)
i doh have the report on hand, it in sum lecturer office
but yea, thas how i kno...believe me or not, ur choice until another independent evaluation is made
Strange, cause, I am working with someone who used to work in the Lab at NP and he confirmed to me that they used to check that the RON Rating is correct on the gases and quality certify it before distribution ...
UML wrote:Neal & Massy Automotive Ltd. Vehicles - Gasoline Octane Requirements
RON Rating - Minimum Manufacturer recommendation as per owner's manuals
Octane rate 91 Super Unleaded
Octane rate 95 Premium
Brand / Model Octane Rate
Nissan
Almera 91
Tiida 95
Sylphy 91
Cefiro 2.0 91
Cefiro 2.3 91
Cefiro 3.5 95