looking for offshore work

Postby Rainman » October 9th, 2008, 9:45 am

AllTrac wrote:Joe grimes does get de call study :lol:

hahaha ohhh god yuh know how long me eh hear that name i know it as Joe Grind though.

Postby Gem_in_i » October 9th, 2008, 9:46 am

3 people I know and one friend was getting horn when they were offshore. The $$ might be good but at wht price you willing to pay.

My friend got his divorce last year.

Notorious Scullman

Postby Notorious Scullman » October 9th, 2008, 9:48 am

always wanted to work offshore...wasn't to be

:(

Postby Rainman » October 9th, 2008, 9:51 am

Gem_in_i wrote:3 people I know and one friend was getting horn when they were offshore. The $$ might be good but at wht price you willing to pay.

it have plenty man working on the hard getting horn too what is your point?
where your woman right now? because yesterday was offshore crew change!

Postby mitsu_chick941 » October 9th, 2008, 10:01 am

Anton wrote:
hottgyul wrote:well,hope your girlfriend dont mind it cuz my boyfriend works offshore and its very difficult to not see him regularly. :(

2 weeks on 2 weeks horn

actually is 1 week on 1 week off..

2 weeks???? i woulda dead! :? :?

Postby AllTrac » October 9th, 2008, 10:05 am

:lol: :lol: hear dis one ah pardah tell meh, he brother does work offshore, so ah night he call he wife arround 10pm and ah next man pick up de phone and say "aye doh call people house so late boy!" and de man put down de phone :lol: hear nah de man wanted to jump off de platform yes lol

de man get ruff up for calling he own house late by de horner man yes, thats grim! :lol:

Postby r3iXmann » October 9th, 2008, 10:09 am

rainman wrote:
Gem_in_i wrote:3 people I know and one friend was getting horn when they were offshore. The $$ might be good but at wht price you willing to pay.

gemini is a girl eh :lol: :lol:

Postby Rainman » October 9th, 2008, 10:30 am

reiXmann wrote:
rainman wrote:

gemini is a girl eh :lol: :lol:

:oops: i going and throw meh frame off the seperator deck.

sorry dey gemini

Skanky

Postby Skanky » October 9th, 2008, 10:40 am

AllTrac wrote::lol: :lol: hear dis one ah pardah tell meh, he brother does work offshore, so ah night he call he wife arround 10pm and ah next man pick up de phone and say "aye doh call people house so late boy!" and de man put down de phone :lol: hear nah de man wanted to jump off de platform yes lol

de man get ruff up for calling he own house late by de horner man yes, thats grim! :lol:

That not bad...

Fella I knew was working offshore came home knocked on his door....stranger came out.

stranger:Yes sir can I help you
man:Who are you?
stranger:Who are you and why you knocking on my door?
man:Sir this is my house
stranger:Sir this is my house I bought it a couple weeks ago
man:You can't buy it this is my house
stranger:Well a woman sold me it and I have the deed.Goodbye sir have a good day*Slams door*

Daiz ting to go mental for...incidentally he was Dutch and his wife was a Trini so he doesn't like trinis very much now.

Postby Maserati » October 9th, 2008, 10:49 am

:shock: :lol: pressure

JD......

Postby JD...... » October 9th, 2008, 11:01 am

not the most glamorous work, also time on and off depends on the company u work with, wen we go off for d well test, u on till the job done no matter how long or short, my first spell, a bunch of us was up for 42hours straight, only stopping to piss and eat cause of some problems.............so whoeva interested doh think is a nice industry at all......everyone after everyone, cover your ass at all times and leave a case of beers for d horner man, but make sure he fill it back

Rallyfignis

Postby Rallyfignis » October 9th, 2008, 11:06 am

Yea, it can be tough. As I said it's not for everyone, but give it a shot if you can and see how you like it.
I have one pardner in particular that from his first time on a rig, he loved it, the more work the better for him, he had no problems staying up or on the rig as long as they needed him to.

Me so, fork dat - when I done, I done - and I damn glad I not on a rig anymore!!! :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby Gem_in_i » October 9th, 2008, 4:56 pm

rainman wrote:
reiXmann wrote:gemini is a girl eh :lol: :lol:

:oops: i going and throw meh frame off the seperator deck.

sorry dey gemini

Is all good. :D

Postby tr1ad » October 9th, 2008, 5:06 pm

ent

i glad i leff dat wukk

Shawnz

Postby Shawnz » October 9th, 2008, 5:51 pm

HHmmm Almost every local I talk to who work offshore told me they get level horn... and the horner man is usually their own partners who on a different crew. :lol:

Anyhow, I wanna work offshore too yes :mrgreen:

gencon

Postby gencon » October 9th, 2008, 9:07 pm

anyway......as the creator of this post I can say that it has certainly diverged from it's original purpose.

I have 7 years or so work experience, 2 technical diplomas from a local technical institute, and the offshore training course was 3 days long and including fire suppression techniques, underwater egress of helicopter and plenty more.

Not married and no GF either, so I think i would do well out there, 6 foot 1 inch and 220 pounds.

bluespeed

Postby bluespeed » October 9th, 2008, 10:01 pm

pptp33, but how good can you handle confinement son??

Rallyfignis

Postby Rallyfignis » October 10th, 2008, 5:34 am

Physical strength doe count for everything out there, more importantly you got to have mental strength.

Tha time off is great, and I'm fortunate enough (for now) to be able to have a rotation, but not be on a rig - that to me is the ideal situation.

Postby RBphoto » October 10th, 2008, 7:28 am

I taking a two months offshore just now. pptp33, if you in E&I I might have some onshore work comming up, followed by offshore wuk. Lemme know.

Postby Rainman » October 10th, 2008, 7:50 am

bluespeed wrote:pptp33, but how good can you handle confinement son??

what confinement you talking about?

yuh getting 3 square meals a day and not no bread and water yuh getting bess food, and u have people serving u your food.

yuh have a gym, yuh have free use of the phones and the internet.

it have people washing yuh clothes and making up your bed.

what else alluh want?

Postby RBphoto » October 10th, 2008, 8:04 am

rainman wrote:yuh have a gym, yuh have free use of the phones and the internet.

All the gym equipment I see on rigs does be spanking new, like they never use. I think they not even broken in :lol:

Postby crazybalhead » October 10th, 2008, 8:07 am

People does WANt to work offshore?? :shock: :shock: :shock:

Pops going een 35 years now yes.
Uncles about the same.

Postby RBphoto » October 10th, 2008, 8:12 am

crazybalhead wrote:People does WANt to work offshore?? :shock: :shock: :shock:

PPl who running dong offshore should work Trinmar for a few days. They will come back on land and kiss the ground.

Postby crazybalhead » October 10th, 2008, 8:14 am

never worked Trinmar nah.

air wick

Postby air wick » October 10th, 2008, 8:27 am

Trinmar work nice now...

good big boats with ac and bucket seats like planes to transport workers from base to platforms

Postby RBphoto » October 10th, 2008, 8:28 am

crazybalhead wrote:never worked Trinmar nah.

Yuh going out in boat, comming back in boat (one hour each way) and have to work on some of the most derilict platforms, cary your own lunch, pray that the people on the boat doh throw up on yuh, hear a set of man crying that they loss all they money gambing on the boat, you have to literally jump from the boat unto the landing.... Just another day in paradise.

Postby RBphoto » October 10th, 2008, 8:30 am

Travis wrote:Trinmar work nice now...

good big boats with ac and bucket seats like planes to transport workers from base to platforms

Thank god. The "Ring Leader" was like a cruise liner compared to the crew boats back in the day.

Postby Rainman » October 10th, 2008, 8:33 am

crossdrilled wrote:
rainman wrote:yuh have a gym, yuh have free use of the phones and the internet.

All the gym equipment I see on rigs does be spanking new, like they never use. I think they not even broken in :lol:

well rig life is different to platform life, on a platform u have a lot more time in the evening to workout. on the rig u have a tighter schedule so i wouldn't doubt that the gym doesn't get any or much use.

i could only talk about my offshore life, people onshore does get horn too, maybe more than offshore, the fact that we spend half of the year does not make us more susceptible to horn. I personally will feel like an uncle tom to wake up every morning to go in to that traffic for a few hours to sit down in an office in a shirt and tie and make half of what i making now, because the truth is if you ask anyone out here they will tell you they not out here to make friends they out here to make money. Joe Grind will be dealt with in a timing.

the offshore life is not for everyone, different people deal with it differently. to anyone considering it i would say don't listen to anyone. try it first if you dont like it or you think it's not for you then leave.

Skanky

Postby Skanky » October 10th, 2008, 8:49 am

Nobody wants to or even likes to work offshore.Really it is like jail especially when you make some long stints (2-3 months) but it is about the money.
Most people offshore make in 6 weeks what most people would make in a year and more.
Imagine going offshore for 6 weeks and coming back and buying a R34 cash! :wink:

bluespeed

Postby bluespeed » October 10th, 2008, 12:00 pm

rainman wrote:
bluespeed wrote:pptp33, but how good can you handle confinement son??

what confinement you talking about?

confined to a platform.....so you could walk on water?