Electricity - shocking me - door

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

sickolancergyal

Electricity - shocking me - door

Postby sickolancergyal » October 4th, 2008, 12:09 am

I told a electrician and he told me get a new car. my mechanic said he has to feel it first and wouldn't know until.

Sometimes i get this jolt of electricity (really plenty) when i touch the door. I mainly drive by myself but on one occasion my gf opened the door and said the door shocked her. I have no idea what's causing it. But i'm not making this up. Open to suggestions Y this is happening. I really can't handle getting shocked one more time. laterz peeps

VW_Exec

Postby VW_Exec » October 4th, 2008, 1:04 am

im curious to know what model lancer you've got cuz believe it or not..the new CY is doing this as well.

i've initially chalked it up to be static electricity build up (unknown as to why) becuz it shocks you on bare skin contact with say the metal of the door and only when you've stopped/shut of ignition. happens no other time.

i'll explore this both with local DM as well as CY forums in US/JDM.

any other input will be appreciated.. :idea:

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » October 4th, 2008, 5:32 am

If it's static electricity,

Does it happen if the car is parked in the same area or in different places?

Morpheus23

Postby Morpheus23 » October 4th, 2008, 11:15 am

I have had this happen a few times as well. CK Lancer.

I also think it is static electricity. It only happened when I started the car in the morning, drove out the garage and opened the door to go close the gate. Thats when i got the zap. Metal part of the door.

At any other time,not shock,no problem. I avoid touching the door now in the morning :lol:

it shocks you on bare skin contact with say the metal of the door and only when you've stopped/shut of ignition

^^Mine occurred while the car was idling.

Oh and I had to experience it a few times to ensure my mind was not playing tricks on me! :twisted:

Morpheus23

Postby Morpheus23 » October 4th, 2008, 11:17 am

Buh wait....sickolancergyal you have a GF!!??

:twisted:

^^!SPAWN!^^

Postby ^^!SPAWN!^^ » October 4th, 2008, 11:54 am

Morpheus23 wrote:Buh wait....sickolancergyal you have a GF!!??

:twisted:

Yeah I wondering the same thing :shock:

Postby ~Vēġó~ » October 4th, 2008, 12:03 pm

^^^ok don't get distracted..me too!!!...keep it tech!!! :)

VW_Exec

Postby VW_Exec » October 4th, 2008, 12:28 pm

MISHI wrote:If it's static electricity,

Does it happen if the car is parked in the same area or in different places?

different areas bro. absolutely puzzling...

as with morpheus, i had to experience it a few times before i realize it was consistent. as i said, for me, it only occurs when ive made a run and switched off. only occurs on edge of car door (metal part) and against open skin.

gonna Google this $hit!

:?

VW_Exec

Postby VW_Exec » October 4th, 2008, 1:00 pm

here - http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index ... 145AAKWE4w

the fabric theory makes sense to me...its not the usual soft fabric, but synthetic sort i believe...cant be clothing/shoes cuz that varies..

seems common enuff...anybody else with these issues?

Postby *KRONIK* » October 4th, 2008, 5:31 pm

in TnT static is never a major issue since the air here is too moist for static transmission of electricity

i eh saying it cyah happen but its hightly unlikely :( :? :? :?

sickolancergyal

Postby sickolancergyal » October 4th, 2008, 6:41 pm

Hey guys, well i got a CK4 local, been in the family for 10 years. I get the shocks -

day and night, while idling and after i shut off and the last time i got it was really

bad, i screamed in front of an audience of ppl who were waiting for taxis in Arima;

my bf had to rub my hand for me thereafter. the only time i had felt that kind of shock

be4 was the electricity running through an ice box. ( don't ask) - was cleaning the area and i didn't know that the plug was directly behind the ice box.

BTW no gf just a friend but i told her of ur guys comments and she wants to be my gf. So look what u guys caused .... lol :lol:

bOOsTmaN

Postby bOOsTmaN » October 4th, 2008, 9:08 pm

Mitsu_Exec, i does get shocks too.. a time i get shock 3 times in one day in the CY

always when the car idling and i in ac and i open the door ZAP!

or

when i shut off the car and open the door ZAP!

i dont get it in the ck buh that CY is something else yes

Morpheus23

Postby Morpheus23 » October 4th, 2008, 9:25 pm

BTW no gf just a friend but i told her of ur guys comments and she wants to be my gf. So look what u guys caused .... lol

^^You see? You can't say we eh help you in any way :lol:

10points for everybody in this thread!

Postby *KRONIK* » October 5th, 2008, 10:29 am

Morpheus23 wrote:
10points for everybody in this thread!

WOOOOOOOOOOO

HOOOOOOOOOOOOO

*runs off to celebrate ten arbitrary points***

Rudman
Location: Finding out all the good tyres in life begins with "R".

Postby Rudman » October 5th, 2008, 11:03 am

I have to say that I am shocked!....... :shock:

Never happened to me with any Mitsu vehicle.

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » October 5th, 2008, 12:04 pm

I get shock all over in the A172 :lol:

Postby *KRONIK* » October 5th, 2008, 12:17 pm

Rudman, like u and me is the only lucky ppl here here

JUS4SHO

Postby JUS4SHO » October 5th, 2008, 4:18 pm

my wife experiece that on both the CS & CY until i installed an antistatic plate

Morpheus23

Postby Morpheus23 » October 5th, 2008, 7:02 pm

JUS4SHO wrote:my wife experiece that on both the CS & CY until i installed an antistatic plate

Whey de info Sho. What,where and how? Oh and cost too

VW_Exec

Postby VW_Exec » October 5th, 2008, 7:05 pm

JUS4SHO wrote:my wife experiece that on both the CS & CY until i installed an antistatic plate

cost? and sorry bout not linking in time for the K&N. just couldnt find the time.

where is the installation on the vehicle? (seeing it on the door in that picture)

bOOsTmaN

Postby bOOsTmaN » October 5th, 2008, 7:20 pm

looks interesting.. yea SHO sry bout that k & n as well will have to get that another time.. on a ck4 project at the moment

Kronik

Postby Kronik » October 6th, 2008, 12:10 am

first time i hearing about this, usually when i get shock is cus i holding a positive wire in my hand

Postby ronsin1 » October 6th, 2008, 9:29 am

it's static electricity I have gotten shocked already from it

also have a parthner with a CK that has the same issue

trvs

Postby trvs » October 6th, 2008, 10:24 am

its static electricity you actually see the spark lol

Morpheus23

Postby Morpheus23 » October 6th, 2008, 12:30 pm

jadez wrote:its static electricity you actually see the spark lol

You does hear the lil crackle too..like "..WTF was dat?"

venum

Postby venum » October 6th, 2008, 12:41 pm

sicky

now you have a bf and and a gf

luck for him if your gf is his gf as well :twisted:

as for teh electric shocks

my CK does that to me a lot

mostly in teh hot sun

and it is dependant on teh clothes you wear

polyester and cotton mixes love to build charge

a lil charge ever do often good for your heart

:P

trvs

Postby trvs » October 6th, 2008, 1:12 pm

yep the crackle is weird...

i think its the seats.. when your ass rubs up on it after a while.. and you open the car door and then touch the pillar to close the door your ass gets zapped... it was funny... now its not anymore lol

it happened to me in a Almera and a Lancer both from Singapore.. which had those "leather seats"

so i assumed it was the seats... then again it could be your clothes... :?

JUS4SHO

Postby JUS4SHO » October 6th, 2008, 8:25 pm

to many free electrons

that was the generic pic from japanparts will post a pic of the actaul install

Postby ronsin1 » October 7th, 2008, 7:34 am

jadez, this have me rolling :lol: :lol: :lol:

saltydog
CARS Member

Postby saltydog » October 7th, 2008, 9:25 am

well it even happens to me in my office, sometimes the shock real bad from the door. The static electricity is stored inside you not the car and it is simply looking for a ground path to get out. After switching off the car put your palm on the glass for a second or two and this will help to discharge all static safely.

This is caused by the fabric on the seats and what you are wearing as well as the aircondition has the humidity level right for it.

Return to “MITSUBISHI”