hilux men -- how the cornering ?

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.

hilux men -- how the cornering ?

Postby Greypatch » September 4th, 2008, 1:17 pm

alluh does feel like the van guh flip

how much body roll alluh does get ?

ray_S.T.R.A_man

Postby ray_S.T.R.A_man » September 4th, 2008, 1:33 pm

i have the low one and i does feel like it will flip with hard corning. i imagine the high one ah little worse. :|

Postby Greypatch » September 4th, 2008, 1:42 pm

so you slow down a lot at corners then..

the gasparillo corner what speed do you take it ?

ray_S.T.R.A_man

Postby ray_S.T.R.A_man » September 4th, 2008, 1:45 pm

yeap. you have to. other wise you in sheit.
gasparillo corner take it easy easy.

Postby Greypatch » September 4th, 2008, 2:03 pm

man I do about 120 through there in the D22 (but its lowered 2")

R Boodoosingh

Re: hilux men -- how the cornering ?

Postby R Boodoosingh » September 4th, 2008, 3:42 pm

The kind of things i do with my Hilux i just wonder how people does flip. I think its just those Hilux tunerhaters that paint a bad picture. All pickups have their advantages and disadvantages. Just have a little more confidence in your hilux. I have the stock rim and tires and if iam cornering i know to slow down when the tires start to scream but thats on dry road some time i dont even bother and keep on going (thats when my passangers puton their seat belts :) ). I think if your comfortable takeing corners how you normally do just do that until you gain alittle more confidence in your ride.

pc13776

Postby pc13776 » September 4th, 2008, 6:50 pm

the first time i went around the roundabout by the caroni bridge i felt as if the van was going airborne. whew! close call. i go around slow now.

badart

Postby badart » September 4th, 2008, 9:15 pm

high center of gravity advisable to slow down...the gaspirilo curve i used to take tht at 140km/h easy when i had my car

ZD30DDT

Postby ZD30DDT » September 4th, 2008, 10:48 pm

What's up with the Gaspirillo corner . . . ? Very difficult?

I like the sweet S curve on the Churchill Roosevelt highway (under the new Grand Bazzar flyover construction). How fast can you pass through the S whilst staying within your lane lines??

Also over the Lady Young road is a nice drive :)

ray_S.T.R.A_man

Postby ray_S.T.R.A_man » September 5th, 2008, 4:10 am

this is how i does drive meh van in the morning
Last edited by ray_S.T.R.A_man on September 6th, 2008, 3:31 pm, edited 2 times in total.

badart

Postby badart » September 5th, 2008, 6:37 am

real man does fly off tht gaspirilo curve :? i go fraid to drive fast wit a pick up..but tht mite be a good thing

Re: hilux men -- how the cornering ?

Postby Greypatch » September 5th, 2008, 7:55 am

R Boodoosingh wrote:The kind of things i do with my Hilux i just wonder how people does flip. I think its just those Hilux tunerhaters that paint a bad picture. All pickups have their advantages and disadvantages. Just have a little more confidence in your hilux. I have the stock rim and tires and if iam cornering i know to slow down when the tires start to scream but thats on dry road some time i dont even bother and keep on going (thats when my passangers puton their seat belts :) ). I think if your comfortable takeing corners how you normally do just do that until you gain alittle more confidence in your ride.

do you have a high or a low one ?

wating to hear from more toyota men...

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » September 5th, 2008, 9:31 am

Where the other Mafia men...??

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » September 5th, 2008, 10:46 am

Note to self ... Don't get a Hilux ... :|

snowman

Postby snowman » September 5th, 2008, 10:52 am

TThe cornering was alright before with the stock rim and tyres. When we changed up the rim sizes, we started being more careful. But sometimes when you're alone in the van, it does feel it wants to tip over sometimes.

kimolal

Postby kimolal » September 5th, 2008, 11:29 am

i good too no hilux for me. cause my foot heavy. i good. i will stick with my almera

ray_S.T.R.A_man

Postby ray_S.T.R.A_man » September 5th, 2008, 2:05 pm

kimolal the good thing about the van is that you can drive fairly fast on rough roads and humps. when you in a car you have to slow down and stuff. And also you can use the sidewalks. another thing diesel is cheap compared to gas 1.50 compared 3.00 premium and last twice as long. My foot heavy too. sometimes i like to terrorize cars :lol: and race behind them. the van could keep up with the normally aspirated cars and them but not like turbo cars sr20det and thing.

Postby Team Loco » September 6th, 2008, 8:53 am

well you all know the model i have, TBR 4x4. I have to beg that thing to gimme some drift. mines really hold the road. i can go around gasparillo bend up to 120kms (meh top speed anyway). i have on 16s wrapped in toyo open country. those tyres have a great bite. however, its a different story when you try to stop from hitting an oncomming taxi on your side of the road, as i learnt a few months ago. i skidded sideways into him.
So go ahead, buy a hilux, but remember its not a racecar yuh driving

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » September 6th, 2008, 10:20 am

Well said Shaun... well said!!!
Every machine has it's purpose. the hilux vigo is not about speed it's about alot of other stuff tho. Want speed in a Hilux check out the TRD Spec Hilux. it will make that Gasparillo corner faster than most cars. Check the specs...

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » September 6th, 2008, 11:00 am

:twisted:

badart

Postby badart » September 6th, 2008, 2:44 pm

THAZ AH HOT HILUX

ray_S.T.R.A_man

Postby ray_S.T.R.A_man » September 6th, 2008, 3:31 pm

Fire_Fighter786 wrote:Image

:twisted:

i like the TRD sigh on it dey.
drive it like this
I made this vid

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » September 6th, 2008, 6:21 pm

:wink:

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » September 6th, 2008, 6:34 pm

:D

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » September 6th, 2008, 7:18 pm

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/OzvEaPg4AqA&hl=en&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed>

drift_master

Postby drift_master » September 6th, 2008, 10:09 pm

i had ppl bowling inside d van taking sum corners inside uwi, dem say dey swear d van goin an turn over.

After a while u, become 1 with ur van, and feel confident wen taking d corners, if u watch d vid, u will see dat its more likely to tip over at over a certain speed when tking at least 2 consecutive turns, or if u jus make a sudden abropt turn if someone pulls on u.

not trying to bring down d hilux. i find dey was driving d L200 slower.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aZF8N9NItHI

ray_S.T.R.A_man

Postby ray_S.T.R.A_man » September 7th, 2008, 5:43 am

<object width="425" height="344"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/-egquD1iNeo&hl=en&fs=1"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/-egquD1iNeo&hl=en&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>
more vids

Postby Team Loco » September 7th, 2008, 10:26 am

^^^ i swear i see sweeks rounzing up some cattle in that first vid

ray_S.T.R.A_man

Postby ray_S.T.R.A_man » September 7th, 2008, 4:32 pm

Stuckindmud
yeah the 21st is the next meeting.
meet meh buy aqua care car wash 14th ceperio street sando.

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » September 7th, 2008, 9:05 pm

Aqua Care... ent that is Assad's place???

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”