Air your Ideas please

Firewall

Air your Ideas please

Postby Firewall » July 19th, 2008, 9:12 pm

So, we're working on another project and we are now in the equipment and idea gathering phase.

The car is to be a 2009 corolla, arriving on the 3rd August and to be cleared soon after (not the best looking car, but that's what we have).
Since to preserve the electrical warranty, a second battery cannot be added.

Now, on stock electricals, what do you think would be the best system, in terms of the max rms to be run safely. (not parking up and blasting for long periods)

Looking into a loud, street bass setup (hoping to be tuned around 38Hz.) This would not be termed car show loud.

The plans that are circulating right now is to use a single 5 channel amp to run the entire system. Consisting of the stock speakers for mids (2 6.5" clarion and 2 6 x 9" clarion) and a single sub for bass.

A single 4 channel (the ss 640.4 lil wonder III) was also considered in place of the 5 channel (output of 320x2 @4 ohms bridged)

Or if the system can handle it:
a lil wonder 480.4 for mids and a 800.1 for bass (same stock mids but 2 12" subs or 1 15")

The purpose of this thread as some may be wondering, is to get some info about how much power should be used and to share a build.

any responses will be appreciated

southside connections

Postby southside connections » July 19th, 2008, 9:23 pm

i would recommend-

powerbass 700.5 amp
75wrmsx4 @4ohms + 200wrms x 1 @4ohms
100wrmsx 4@2ohms + 400wrms x 1 @ 2ohms

pair of components upfront with tweeter mounted on the a-pillar(passive x-over and highpass at amp at 50hz),i recommend -

dls k6 kit
dls r6a kit
soundstream(componet kit only)
jbl
all are under $1200 i believe

6x9's,look into something well balanced and clear, i recommend the jbl gto series, from my experience, they get loud and are very clean

sub-a 10" or 12" will suffice, i'd recommend-
dls classic
rockford p2 or p3
cadence triplexxx

fuzz_174

Postby fuzz_174 » July 19th, 2008, 9:33 pm

I recommend you look at the Directed 2205 D

Its a 5 channel amplifier, with the bass channel giving 600rms @ 1 ohm

It should run pretty good off your stock electricals

An Alpine Type R sub should run well of this amplifier

Re: Air your Ideas please

Postby 3stagevtec » July 19th, 2008, 9:36 pm

Firewall wrote:The plans that are circulating right now is to use a single 5 channel amp to run the entire system. Consisting of the stock speakers for mids (2 6.5" clarion and 2 6 x 9" clarion) and a single sub for bass.

A single 4 channel (the ss 640.4 lil wonder III) was also considered in place of the 5 channel (output of 320x2 @4 ohms bridged)

i did my boss's system kinda like that.. i.e. using back the stock speakers for mids.. the stock speakers gave an excellent midrange response.. not like most pro audio mids..

what's your budget for the system?

Firewall

Postby Firewall » July 19th, 2008, 9:38 pm

budget is somewhere around 3 - 5 K

Postby 3stagevtec » July 19th, 2008, 9:47 pm

a 5CH would be more cost effective, and with the $$ you saved over buying multiple amps, you could get better subs..

note, with the limited power for bass, i'd recommend a pair of 12"s over a single 15" as the sensitivity of a pair of 12"s should be higher.. i.e. more bass per watt..

Firewall

Postby Firewall » July 19th, 2008, 9:58 pm

i was looking at the directed that fuxx suggested and it looks adequate, but in terms of bass, why not one 600w 15" rather than 2 300w 12". (other than the obvious cone area advantage?)

Postby cinco » July 19th, 2008, 10:02 pm

fuzz took the words right out of my mouth
d2205 and 2 12's
IMHO the 2 12's will give you a lower bass

Postby 3stagevtec » July 19th, 2008, 10:04 pm

Firewall wrote:i was looking at the directed that fuxx suggested and it looks adequate, but in terms of bass, why not one 600w 15" rather than 2 300w 12". (other than the obvious cone area advantage?)

2 12"s might require a larger box than 1 15"..

1 15" in the right box will sound better than 2 12"s crammed into a small box..

2 12"s in the right box should out perform 1 15" in the right box..

and then there is the price difference between the two choices...

Postby SR » July 19th, 2008, 10:42 pm

lets be realistic
the budget is too small

the new corolla stock speakers are quite crappy
the output from the head unit sucks balls

system is best left as is as a package as once you start changing u need to replace everything

best bang for the buck witht he stock electrical would definatly be the direceted 2205 5 channel amp

components can easily be install in front stock locations same goes for 6x9's in the rear dash

the dls rs6a's will drop right in with no clearance issues

any standard 6x9 will fit on the rear dash once the mid/tweeter housing does not rise too high

suggest a dual 2 ohm 12" in a ported enclosure

depending on what you want from the bass
any sub requiring up to 500 rms will do the job with the above amp

jl w6 sub would probably be the highest in the price range for required power

Firewall

Postby Firewall » July 19th, 2008, 10:50 pm

ok, so SR, can you work up an estimate of what you would suggest and pm it to me, using the directed amp?

was just looking for a small thing, but might as well

(exclude cost of wiring and dynamat, but include cost of a head unit and the required dash mounting kit)

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 19th, 2008, 11:38 pm

SR said a good system with the direct amp.. except i`d use the type r over the JL.. having owned both.. i somewhat like that the type r could get clean and low..yet quite loud when ready...

the loud part the JL couldnt do as good...
but clean and low as expected..

another thing.. if u do not want to remove your head unit..just use a rockfosgate 3sixty .. google it :twisted:

DE AUDIO

Postby DE AUDIO » July 20th, 2008, 12:03 am

Upgrading your factory system is now easier and more affordable than ever.

1 CDE-9874L– CD Receiver
2 SPS-600 – Coaxial @ each (2 PAIRS)
1 MRP-M500 Mono Power Amp
1 SWS-1243D/1223D 12’’ Dual 4 Voice Coil
TOTAL - UNDER $5500.00

You can use the above system with the midrange powered by the deck. If you require more power from the headunit to power the midrange, you can simply add the KTP-445 Headunit powerpack - $850.00

Pm for extra discount promotions.

725-0905

All above products come with factory warranty, availability of parts and support.

Many more options and products available. Tyoe S 6x9's available as well as Type E Subwoofers. I can custom build a package for you using one outstanding brand at am affordable price.

www.alpine-usa.com

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » July 20th, 2008, 1:16 am

fuzz_174 wrote:I recommend you look at the Directed 2205 D

Its a 5 channel amplifier, with the bass channel giving 600rms @ 1 ohm

It should run pretty good off your stock electricals

An Alpine Type R sub should run well of this amplifier

i like this approach .....

Firewall

Postby Firewall » July 20th, 2008, 7:00 am

^ Rovin i think that i agreeing with you there. start to measure out the mdf eh! :mrgreen:

only thing is where can the directed be found brand new and average price?

Postby SR » July 20th, 2008, 7:24 am

We have in stock $3400

Dr. Mod

Postby Dr. Mod » July 21st, 2008, 11:52 am

ok.........ah observe a few tings here guys.but hear me out here ppl......now is ah 2009 corolla....yes? remember he cannot void his electrical warranty.....yes? so i observe yall talking bout directed audio, powerbass etc....now directed audio is good but dat requires a lot of juice (power nah) for dat to reach its peak performance and powerbass sometimes in few corollas not all does pick up d static from d engine and sends it to d amp and yuh get an annoyin squeal dat could drive ah man up ah wall mad. So I would recommend two amps for d stock deck first one:JBL Gts series. doh take upmuch powerand it affordable yuh gettin dat in curepe in a store called one stop electronics for about $2500 approximately.. Or one Hifonics zeus amp. yuh getting dat one in autotronics in chaguanas....D guys dere have one on display and he will preview it for u right on d spot....cyah remember d price off hand and dat one will be perfect for yuh corolla firewall. :D :D :D

Firewall

Postby Firewall » July 21st, 2008, 1:21 pm

nah hoss,

firstly,i think the JBL series and the hifonics rated at 14.4.

additionally, i think that you can only run approx 800 rms safely off your stock electricals.

as per this thread http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... highlight=

what you talking about is about 1500 rms (if its the same amps i'm thinking about)

besides, both those amps coming up to 5000, while the single directed coming up to 3400

riadb

Postby riadb » July 21st, 2008, 1:57 pm

go with the directed....used them already and you won't be dissapointed

Firewall

Postby Firewall » July 21st, 2008, 3:32 pm

planning to,

just sourcing the other components right now

and that reminds me, take a look at the stock speakers in the rear dash of the corolla and let me know what you think.

first time i see a speaker like this (they may be common but its my first time seeing one)

bear in mind that the black thing is not the magnet eh

Postby 3stagevtec » July 21st, 2008, 5:06 pm

^ :shock: de magnet fall off... :lol:

gfbl

Postby gfbl » July 21st, 2008, 5:13 pm

neos?

33 hertz

Postby 33 hertz » July 21st, 2008, 5:52 pm

^yup neo's. They actually quite impressive when powered with an amp for stock speakers. I did a system with these in a camry recently and the stock speakers sounded better than the aftermarket budget stuff (won't call any names :roll: )

Firewall

Postby Firewall » July 21st, 2008, 6:15 pm

boy call the fleckin name before i go and change them to the one that you use :twisted:

please (even if is PM self)

Firewall

Postby Firewall » July 21st, 2008, 6:16 pm

oh and i thought it was neo's but never seen them that small

Dr. Mod

Postby Dr. Mod » July 23rd, 2008, 3:43 pm

ok ah see speakers like dat (on ah small man bike) but anyhow....do a lilttle research on d rocksford fosgate amps ah seeing good views on d latest ones especially for ppl who doh want to "spoil" dey new ride :)

Postby crazybalhead » July 24th, 2008, 8:37 am

Interesting thread.

Postby nervewrecker » July 24th, 2008, 8:40 am

^^^^

wah de firetruck kinda speaker is dat?

wah brand is it? sony?

Firewall

Postby Firewall » July 24th, 2008, 9:27 am

once again, i'm not sure, but i think that all toyota vehicles come with clarion systems

*edit*

at least the ones that we get in Trinidad, cause, the LE, which is the highest model here (with 1.5 engine) is not even the basic in the states. their LE has a 1.8 engine.

the XRS which is the highest model has an optional JBL system

Postby nervewrecker » July 24th, 2008, 9:42 am

buh ent they used tuh come with sony? or dem was de roro's?