eitech

Postby eitech » July 2nd, 2008, 10:57 am

did the mechanic use a scanner?

^^!SPAWN!^^

Postby ^^!SPAWN!^^ » July 2nd, 2008, 11:02 am

Nope , didn't have to , he diagnosed the problem without using a scanner .

eitech

Postby eitech » July 2nd, 2008, 11:16 am

imagine that! goes to show u d kinda quacks it have out dey usin dem ting and dunno what dey doin...

^^!SPAWN!^^

Postby ^^!SPAWN!^^ » July 2nd, 2008, 11:19 am

Exactly .

Rodn3y

Postby Rodn3y » July 2nd, 2008, 1:32 pm

^^ have a padna with a qg15 in an ad wagon and he said he felt more gains from the CAI . he had a SRI before then he converted to CAI....

^^!SPAWN!^^

Postby ^^!SPAWN!^^ » July 2nd, 2008, 2:55 pm

Rodn3y wrote:^^ have a padna with a qg15 in an ad wagon and he said he felt more gains from the CAI . he had a SRI before then he converted to CAI....

^^ Probably the CAI works better with the QG15 , I have the QG13DE , my theory is that the SRI works better with the 1.3 instead of the 1.5 ?

Postby cinco » July 2nd, 2008, 7:15 pm

did u use the same filter on the SRI and CAI?
only the pipe length changed?

^^!SPAWN!^^

Postby ^^!SPAWN!^^ » July 2nd, 2008, 7:17 pm

Same filter ...

Postby Hook » July 3rd, 2008, 5:01 am

^^!SPAWN!^^ wrote:Thanks guys ,
Hook , I believe so , because when he put the SRI , the engine's power increased tremendously , maybe someone with expeience on these engines can elaborate .

how would u really know if u cleaned injectors AND changes to a SRI at the same time? u can't attribute the solution to either or both of them without testing after each one

AFAIK, there's absolutely no downside to a cooler intake air charge...your problem may have been injectors all along

Rodn3y

Postby Rodn3y » July 3rd, 2008, 7:29 am

^^ thats what i thinking , cuz when the radiator fan comes on a lot of hot air is blown directly onto the filter..... mayb the car work better bcuz injectors were cleaned.....

or mayb the engine jus wont work with the CAI. i have a padna with an altis and he put in a CAI and the engine check light came on, car was shutting down all kinda thing. reset the ecu and still nothing. when he put back the stock intake everything working ok.
so i guess some engines dont work well with CAI.

^^!SPAWN!^^

Postby ^^!SPAWN!^^ » July 3rd, 2008, 10:33 am

Well Hook , the 1st thing the mech did was clean the injectors , put it back on and he took the car for a test run , still wasn't feeling right , so I suggested he try the SRI and to our suprise the gain was increased , u feeling it with and without a/c .

Sheriff

Postby Sheriff » July 3rd, 2008, 10:55 am

interesting, will give this guy a call.

^^!SPAWN!^^

Postby ^^!SPAWN!^^ » July 3rd, 2008, 12:59 pm

^^ Yeah Sheriff , he real good you won't regret it ...

eitech

Postby eitech » July 3rd, 2008, 5:15 pm

i tryin to understand these CAI systems..How "cold" is the actually air goin to the engine? I know the physics of cold air to hot air bla bla bla, but what happens if ur intake air is too cold? won't it make the engine lazier, burn more fuel to get the engine to NOT?

Postby Hook » July 3rd, 2008, 6:26 pm

naaaaaaah...unless u like in Antarctica or something I doh see it as a problem...cuz then cold air would be the least of your problems

remember, the engine bay gets pretty hot, so any decrease in the temperature of the intake air is welcome...but a CAI is only effective if the length of the piping is insulated..no sense pulling nice cool air from outside and it gets heated back up by the time it gets to the throttle body

eitech

Postby eitech » July 3rd, 2008, 7:02 pm

aite..

Rodn3y

Postby Rodn3y » July 4th, 2008, 10:59 am

so hook . what can i use to wrap aluminium piping that i use for my cai? can i use the heat wrap? what is the best material?

Postby Hook » July 4th, 2008, 11:37 am

any kind of heat insulation will work...swami used to use one of those reflective windshield blinds and it worked

even the really expensive aftermarket CAI kits come ceramic insulated for the same reason...so I never understood why anyone would put a hot chrome metal pipe and think it's making a difference

Postby Rainman » July 8th, 2008, 7:52 am

Actually heat wrap is used to keep heat in, not to block it. these are traditionally used on headers to keep the heat away from the intake channels. what you need is something to deflect the heat not retain it.

I've never personally believed in using CAI's on smaller engines the result is more or less placebo (more noise so you think your car goes faster), for smaller engine you will be better off using your stock intake channel and scoop with a high quality drop in filter (k&n).

As for your dirty injectors, using a good treatment periodically may help you in the future, as for which in-tank cleaner i cant help you there because there are sooooo many products and guys usually have a hard time making up their mind which is the best one. i use redline fuel system cleaner on every fill up (well most fill ups).