Almera Problems

Rodn3y

Almera Problems

Postby Rodn3y » May 23rd, 2008, 8:05 am

i own a 2003 almera and last week i statred experiencing the following:

when the car reached 40kmph i get a shim in the steering wheel, this continues until 60kmph and then eases down. i still see the steering moving left to right (shimming) from 60 to 110 but i dont feel it as much as from 40 to 60.

after 110 to max speed the shimming increases, and at this speed i hear a noise from the engine area, a kinda wobling noise. i also feel the shim with my feet..

went to the mechanic and as a result i end up changing all tyres, speed balance, align and he re-greased the tranny cups.

problem still exists.. any help would be greatly appreciated... thanks

RadDogJr

Postby RadDogJr » May 24th, 2008, 10:29 pm

Check your mounting rubbers, steering linkage, axle and suspension. May cost some money but hey no solution ever comes cheap. At least you learn something new in the end. If your mechanic did not check all of these stuff before aligning get rid of him. Only quacks align without checking to see whats deteriorated.

Postby Cjruckus » May 25th, 2008, 12:32 am

Have the Mechanic check the Steering Rack Clamp Rubber and Steering rack bushing.

While you are at it.. define Shim.

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » May 25th, 2008, 11:40 am

try Rotating and Balancing ur wheels...

Bent axle could also cause this

Postby Cjruckus » May 25th, 2008, 3:10 pm

Dragsta wrote:try Rotating and Balancing ur wheels...

Bent axle could also cause this

doubt it would be a bent axle. When the mechanic took of the inner CV joint to re grease it he would have noticed that problem from the minute the shaft was taken off.

Your problem is the Steering Rack Clamp Rubber and bushing. The Almera carries a Round Clamp rubber on one side and a small bushing on the other. These two rubbers hold the steering rack in place, when they are worn/destroyed the rack will move from left to right while the car moves.

The two rubbers would cost you about 80 dollars and to install shouldn't take long... Its a routine thing.

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » May 25th, 2008, 10:52 pm

doubt it would be a bent axle. When the mechanic took of the inner CV joint to re grease it he would have noticed that problem from the minute the shaft was taken off.

hoss, u cannot see a slightly bent axle with ur naked eye!

i have experienced this b4, tried all kinda thing and the problem was a bent axle...

we used a Dial guage to figure this out... i am not saying this is HIS problem...but it could also cause vibration

Rodn3y

Postby Rodn3y » May 31st, 2008, 2:37 pm

went to another mechanic today and he said he would check the steering rack... when i go bac tomorrow i would tell him about your suggestions... also the back engine mount was bad.

thanks....

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » June 1st, 2008, 7:37 pm

rodn3y better bet is to go to an allignment place or a place with a ramp and jacks.
those boys can get under and actually see what they doing .
leave the mechanic as a last resort if you need to change out parts.
if you from south try penal auto. they normally diagnose for free

Rodn3y

Postby Rodn3y » June 2nd, 2008, 8:30 am

^^ i am from the east. when i went to the alignment people they said everything looked ok (all joints, bushings etc)

nybody knows a good mechanic in the east??????????