Advice before buying a Peugeot 307 HB

BMW, Mercedes, Mini, Audi, Peugeot, Renault, VW, Rover, Volvo, Porsche, Jaguar etc.

damieG82

Advice before buying a Peugeot 307 HB

Postby damieG82 » May 1st, 2008, 11:01 pm

Euro tuners,

want some advice on the 307. I found what appears to be a really good example of the car... 2002 PBN reg with just over 80,000 kms on the clock.

Just want to know what are the known faults with these cars and what I should look out for so I could ask the current owner if the suspect parts have been changed already.

Any advice greatly appreciated!

plex

Postby plex » May 3rd, 2008, 5:36 am

If the car is serviced by the firm on a schedule basis then it should be maintained properly..
  • A common fault that i am aware from some owners is the transmission software error. The display showed that there is an problem, more like a software error..We had this problem, the car will go in a safe mode and will not change all the gears..It was took back to dealership who downloaded the software all over..
  • The car did some mileage(80k) so check out the quality of the belts.

What i told you is the problems we encountered, we have one its more than 5yrs old PBO series and so far its going fine..

Last thing test drive it.

damieG82

Postby damieG82 » May 3rd, 2008, 5:33 pm

Thanks a mil for the advice... I did hear about the tranny problem before but didn't know what the route cause was, so I'm glad to know its only a software issue.

And I'll definitely have a mechanic check out the car before I finalise the sale.

plex

Postby plex » May 3rd, 2008, 5:46 pm

damieG82, what i posted is what we encountered so far to date; but do take a mechanic to check out the car..Take a peugeot mechanic, they know what to look for..

damieG82

Postby damieG82 » May 3rd, 2008, 8:20 pm

plex wrote:damieG82, what i posted is what we encountered so far to date; but do take a mechanic to check out the car..Take a peugeot mechanic, they know what to look for..

Ok, anyone is particular you could recommend?

plex

Postby plex » May 3rd, 2008, 8:40 pm

damieG82 wrote:
plex wrote:damieG82, what i posted is what we encountered so far to date; but do take a mechanic to check out the car..Take a peugeot mechanic, they know what to look for..

Ok, anyone is particular you could recommend?

i pm u a friend number he has a 307 and he could tell you who go by..

damieG82

Postby damieG82 » May 3rd, 2008, 8:43 pm

Thanks again :D

proud

Postby proud » May 11th, 2008, 5:48 am

If it has 80,000 km on it make sure that it has had all of the belts changed, great car - got one myself and no problems.

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » May 11th, 2008, 10:35 am

plex wrote:If the car is serviced by the firm on a schedule basis then it should be maintained properly..
  • A common fault that i am aware from some owners is the transmission software error. The display showed that there is an problem, more like a software error..We had this problem, the car will go in a safe mode and will not change all the gears..It was took back to dealership who downloaded the software all over..
  • The car did some mileage(80k) so check out the quality of the belts.

What i told you is the problems we encountered, we have one its more than 5yrs old PBO series and so far its going fine..

Last thing test drive it.

Ah tell yuh is time you open up a PUG consultancy firm you know.

What about waterpump since the vehicle is approaching 90,000km. Like with the Renault, they advise to change this every 120000km.

plex

Postby plex » May 13th, 2008, 12:52 pm

Pointman-IA, i have not changed my waterpump in my car yet...The 307 has not changed any major parts, mostly wear and tear..But i must say the transmissions are quite tricky and if abuse can be costly in repairs..

Return to “EURO”