World Food Crisis Looms Again

xtech

World Food Crisis Looms Again

Postby xtech » May 3rd, 2008, 11:45 am

New Food Crisis Looms

US government reports of much cooler-than-normal water temperatures in the Pacific, which traditionally lead to extreme weather patterns around the world added to food price uncertainties.

The world experienced a major food crisis in 2008 that led to civil and political unrest from Bangladesh to Haiti and added millions more to those suffering from malnutrition. Though prices have dropped somewhat, some analysts say the crisis never totally ended. With prices rising dramatically in 2010, the world could be on the brink of a new crisis in 2011 with the la nina weather pattern taking hold over the world.

Rising food prices and shortages could cause instability in many countries as the cost of staple foods and vegetables reached their highest levels in two years, with scientists predicting further widespread droughts and floods. Global meat prices are at 20-year highs. Concerns about global wheat supplies are sparking fears that price inflation in the wheat market could lead to a food crisis akin to the one in 2008.

Some countries are already beginning to respond. Russia announced in October it would continue its ban on grain exports for another eight months, a measure put in place in August following the severe drought and wildfires that decimated crops in the country this summer. China, experiencing the worst food inflation since 2008 announced last week it would cap prices on grains, edible oil, and sugar. The US predicted that global wheat harvests would be 30m tonnes lower than last year, a 5.5% fall. Meanwhile, the price of tomatoes in Egypt, garlic in China and bread in Pakistan are at near-record levels. World wheat and maize prices have risen 57%, rice 45% and sugar 55% over the last six months and soybeans are at their highest price for 16 months.

The governments of Kenya, Uganda, Nigeria, Indonesia, Brazil and the Philippines have all warned of possible food shortages this year, citing floods and droughts in 2010, expected extreme weather in 2011, and speculation by traders who are buying up food stocks for release when prices rise.

According to the US Commodity Futures Trading Commission, speculators on the trading floor of the Chicago Exchange bought futures contracts for about 40m tonnes of maize and 6m tonnes of wheat in the summer.
Longtime hedge fund manager Mike Masters, who has worked with WDM, said: "Because there is already much more capital available in the world than hard commodities, speculators can increase the price of consumable commodities, like foodstuffs or energy, much higher than traditional consumers and producers can react.

In 2008 I wanted to bring in a barrel of food from NY

1 (20 lbs) Carolina Rice
1 (20 lbs) Flour
1 (10 lbs) White Sugar
2 (10 lbs) Brown Sugar
8 lbs Salt Fish
2 (96 oz) Corn Oil
2 (18 oz) Corn Flakes Cereal
12 (7.25 oz) Macaroni & Cheese Packs
6 Packs Elbow Macaroni
4 (24 oz) Heinz Ketchups
2 (32 oz) Heinz Vinegar
2 (13 oz) Adobe All-Purpose Seasoning
12 (12 oz) Evaporated Milk
3 (18 oz) Skippy Peanut Butter
3 (15 oz) Hellmann Mayonnaise
14 (6 oz) Bumble Bee Tuna
2 (4.5 lbs) Quaker Oats
2 (10 lb) Cornmeal Cereal
3 (18 oz) Kraft BBQ Sauce
12 (10 oz) Libby Corn Beef
16 (5 oz) Vienna Sausages
6 (12 oz) Canned Macarel
16 (3.75 oz) Brunswick Sardines
10 (1 lb) Lentils
10 (1 lb) Red Beans
3 (19 oz) Kool-aid Mixes
2 (19 oz) Nesquik Chocolate Drink
4 Rolls of Paper Towels
12 Boxes Of Popcorn
1 Gallon Trend Liquid Laundry Detergent
1 Gallon Nice/Fluffy Fabric Softener
4 (18 oz) Ajax Dishwashing Liquids
3 (6.4oz) Tubes of Toothpaste
12 Bars of Ivory Bathing Soap

Just about a $1000TT in all
Last edited by xtech on January 6th, 2011, 2:25 pm, edited 3 times in total.

boom

Postby boom » May 3rd, 2008, 11:51 am

12 Rolls Toilet Paper

de phoq, thing so bad now in trini?

Postby RBphoto » May 3rd, 2008, 12:55 pm

bring one for me too. We will link every month if the first shipment clear.

FugiTECH

Postby FugiTECH » May 3rd, 2008, 1:04 pm

Check the Big Business going and start here

Postby RBphoto » May 3rd, 2008, 1:22 pm

Aye, dat is groceries for my house, my aunty house, meh modder house and what I ain't want I giving to charity (we doh eat beef or mack&cheese) I fine we should have a tuner group buy for the barel o'food.

elbowsfromabove

Postby elbowsfromabove » May 3rd, 2008, 2:32 pm

That is alot of food for 1000,my family of 4could live on that for 4 months+

Postby nervewrecker » May 3rd, 2008, 2:40 pm

crossdrilled wrote:bring one for me too. We will link every month if the first shipment clear.

x2 & i'll handel you with a lil extra cash on de side as well.

JM

Postby JM » May 3rd, 2008, 3:01 pm

Now all yuh need is a connection to help u clear it...

Terran

Postby Terran » May 3rd, 2008, 3:14 pm

That'll cost you around $400 - $500 to clear.

Do a group buy from the distributors down here - it will cost you about the same, maybe even less.

Terran

Postby Terran » May 3rd, 2008, 3:22 pm

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » May 3rd, 2008, 4:24 pm

Man now starting to import his own food :( , since PNM take over i am doing that :) ..... because i know he cant run a country he can only run it dry :( :( :lol: :lol:

wickedestman

Postby wickedestman » May 3rd, 2008, 4:50 pm

hmmm 1000... wtmc.. :shock: thas rel good... i hadda know how much u paing to clear.. i tink everyone should start this.. lol

EmpireKing

Postby EmpireKing » May 3rd, 2008, 5:11 pm

yeah sounds like a great plan

Postby hustla_ambition101 » May 3rd, 2008, 6:23 pm

sounds good until they realize what peple doing and start to level ah whole setta extra charges in they behind

xtech

Postby xtech » May 3rd, 2008, 6:35 pm

wickedestman wrote:hmmm 1000... wtmc.. :shock: thas rel good... i hadda know how much u paing to clear.. i tink everyone should start this.. lol

It is called inflation my boy.............an you can buy food at wholesale prices.

In the next tread 25 people in a huge $25,000 group buy could not get wholesale price from a wholesale store cause they not buying regular enough.....................

I stop buying food from Pricemart because of that same sheit why must i be paying member fee just to walk through the door to pay regular Grocery prices an on top of dat i being forced to buy bulk with limited choices. No points added to my card to get free stuff

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » May 3rd, 2008, 6:50 pm

No points added to my card to get free stuff

xtech

Postby xtech » May 3rd, 2008, 7:26 pm

yes where are my reward points it happens every where else in d world

Postby bushwakka » May 3rd, 2008, 9:15 pm

no need to import....slimthug is enuff rice 4 everyone to eat :lol: :lol: sorry, cheap shot

shottah_crew

Postby shottah_crew » May 3rd, 2008, 9:35 pm

i wonder when RapToR go start sellin flour and rice...maybe even doubles if we ask please...

Terran

Postby Terran » May 3rd, 2008, 10:06 pm

xtech wrote:In the next tread 25 people in a huge $25,000 group buy could not get wholesale price from a wholesale store cause they not buying regular enough.....................

We've been buying every month for the last 7-8 months. Same thing we're doing now for flour, rice and oil. Whereas you pay $15 for a 2kg bag of flour in the grocery, we pay $10.

Same thing goes for milk, juices, detergents, canned foods, snacks, pasta, frozen vegetables, cereals, etc.. I pay $22-$25 for a box of cereal that sells in the grocery for almost $40. $40 for a bottle of canola oil when it retails for $60+ in the grocery. $20-$25 for imported natural juices which retail for $36-$40. $84 for a large bag of powdered milk (1800g). $20 for a pound of cheese.

Like I said, the savings are great, even though we're still not getting stuff at the lower prices that the groceries pay.

Postby nervewrecker » May 3rd, 2008, 11:54 pm

shottah_crew wrote:i wonder when RapToR go start sellin flour and rice...maybe even doubles if we ask please...

thas a good idea :idea:

MD Marketers
Location: 391-4558 tntresearchers@hotmail.com www.trinidadforsale.com

Postby MD Marketers » May 4th, 2008, 8:02 am

Sounds good, can we get something going with the bulk wholesale buying for south people. I'm in if it will help me reduce grocery bills.

Terran

Postby Terran » May 4th, 2008, 9:08 am

Trust me - I've learned lately that there is a LOT of truth behind the government's claim that businessmen are partially responsible for high food prices. These distributors that we deal with DELIVER to us free of charge (well, except one - we have to collect). Think about it according to those prices I posted earlier.

slick

Postby slick » May 4th, 2008, 11:18 am

Hey Terran them prices sounding good.
Link up d 2NRs nah.

RadeonHD

Postby RadeonHD » May 4th, 2008, 11:24 am

terran how can I get them things at them prices?

I am seriously interested.

Terran

Postby Terran » May 4th, 2008, 11:51 am

I'll get you contact information of the salespeople for all the distributors we currently deal with and send a PM:

Micon
Marketing & Distribution
Hadco
A.S. Brydens
Vemco
Geddes Grant

As I mentioned on the other thread, you can get something going on your end with your family, friends and co-workers.

Buying goods from NFM is easiest - go down to their co-operative and buy whatever you want, in whatever quantity you want. You will be outraged at the prices groceries are charging.

MD Marketers
Location: 391-4558 tntresearchers@hotmail.com www.trinidadforsale.com

Postby MD Marketers » May 4th, 2008, 12:14 pm

NFM sells flour and ???

Re: If I import my own food..........

Postby RASC » May 4th, 2008, 1:17 pm

xtech wrote:..........in a barrel will i be charged import duties an how much ?

1 (20 lbs) Carolina Rice
1 (20 lbs) Flour
1 (10 lbs) White Sugar
2 (10 lbs) Brown Sugar
8 lbs Salt Fish
2 (96 oz) Corn Oil
2 (18 oz) Corn Flakes Cereal
12 (7.25 oz) Macaroni & Cheese Packs
6 Packs Elbow Macaroni
4 (24 oz) Heinz Ketchups
2 (32 oz) Heinz Vinegar
2 (13 oz) Adobe All-Purpose Seasoning
12 (12 oz) Evaporated Milk
3 (18 oz) Skippy Peanut Butter
3 (15 oz) Hellmann Mayonnaise
14 (6 oz) Bumble Bee Tuna
2 (4.5 lbs) Quaker Oats
2 (10 lb) Cornmeal Cereal
3 (18 oz) Kraft BBQ Sauce
12 (10 oz) Libby Corn Beef
16 (5 oz) Vienna Sausages
6 (12 oz) Canned Macarel
16 (3.75 oz) Brunswick Sardines
10 (1 lb) Lentils
10 (1 lb) Red Beans
3 (19 oz) Kool-aid Mixes
2 (19 oz) Nesquik Chocolate Drink
4 Rolls of Paper Towels
12 Boxes Of Popcorn
1 Gallon Trend Liquid Laundry Detergent
1 Gallon Nice/Fluffy Fabric Softener
4 (18 oz) Ajax Dishwashing Liquids
3 (6.4oz) Tubes of Toothpaste
12 Bars of Ivory Bathing Soap

Just about a $1000TT in all

WoW You eat alot of trash in your household :?

*OUTSIDER*

Postby *OUTSIDER* » May 4th, 2008, 3:34 pm

crocsrule wrote:Man now starting to import his own food :( , since PNM take over i am doing that :) ..... because i know he cant run a country he can only run it dry :( :( :lol: :lol:
VOTE PNM. :lol: :lol: :lol:

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » May 4th, 2008, 3:38 pm

shottah_crew wrote:i wonder when RapToR go start sellin flour and rice...maybe even doubles if we ask please...

i am already stocking it for next year

its being stocked in a warehouse in miami