What grease to use

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
scoojoonks

What grease to use

Postby scoojoonks » April 27th, 2008, 8:02 am

Can I use one type of grease to grease all the nipples on my TAX Hilux or do I have to use a different type depending on where the nipple is located.

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » April 27th, 2008, 8:09 am

are you referring to the front and rear diffs?

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » April 27th, 2008, 10:13 am

No he's talking about the drive shaft(s)...

And as far as I know you can use the same grease for all the sliding joints, etc.

scoojoonks

Postby scoojoonks » April 27th, 2008, 8:22 pm

Sorry, I was talking about all the areas where there is a nipple.

323_wagon_dude

Postby 323_wagon_dude » April 27th, 2008, 8:40 pm

Give us some examples of where you're talking about

Stuckindmud

Postby Stuckindmud » April 28th, 2008, 11:53 am

buddy ,

is a 2 door ?
yuh sellin ?

:)

like 323WD said - where yuh lookin to grease?

I use Pyroplex Blue on the drive shafts
Its also good for the steering ends - You wont have upper and lower ball joints to worry abt up front , but you will need to repack the birfield joints. <- no grease nipple to do that though.

scoojoonks

Postby scoojoonks » April 28th, 2008, 9:01 pm

It is a two door, and sorry, not selling, I actually put a wanted ad in the papers to get it - constructing a house so I really need it, trying to bring it up to scratch as previous owner did not take very good care of it. She has the 2l diesel under the hood, first time 4x4 owner and trying to learn as much as I can fast! I bought Shell multipurpose grease, I want to grease the drive shafts of course but there are some other areas like behind the knuckle.Where exactly are the Birfield joints? Any info would be greatly appreciated.

Stuckindmud

Postby Stuckindmud » April 28th, 2008, 9:14 pm

Yeah that area behinf the knuckle is the birfeild - ist the equivalent of a velocity joint enclosed in a cage.

The part youtalkin abt is the scraper . There is a felt lining that youmight have to replace , dont know wher e you`ll get it , but there is a kit to do that.

The multipurpose grease is fine , but i prefer teh castrol pyroplex blue , simply cuz it gets tackier and sticks to the metal more if it gets wet or hot.

by chance you bought this recently ? - blue?

323_wagon_dude

Postby 323_wagon_dude » May 1st, 2008, 1:47 pm

Stuck where do you get the pyroplex blue? Have been looking for it for a while and haven't seen it yet.

Stuckindmud

Postby Stuckindmud » May 1st, 2008, 2:14 pm

323- most of the parts places in south has it .

I can get a tube for you if you want - last i paid 35 $ for it.

scoonjooks : you bought this hilux recently? Is it blue by chance.

I lose out on one this week cuz i stuck in north .. sigh

oh well if it was for me it will be for me.

scoojoonks

Postby scoojoonks » May 2nd, 2008, 7:51 pm

Aye, Stuckindmud you were spot on re: the Birfeild, I took the pick up to underwash and the guy told me that area by the knuckle was leaking and I need to get a kit and change the felt etc. I also had a slight oil leak coming from the upper engine area and it turned out to be the oil filter housing that attaches to the engine block, couple of screws were slack in hard to reach areas but he got to them, glad it was nothing more serious. My ride is red, like wine.I had planned to sell it after my construction but I have decided to keep it, it is like driving a tank especially with the diesel engine and all, but the more I drive it, the more I love it.
Everywhere I go people rate this vehicle up even though its over 20 yrs. old!
The Pyroplex does look like a superior product, I've seen it. Anyway, thanks again for the help man and good luck hunting for that vehicle.

Ah lun somting

Stuckindmud

Postby Stuckindmud » May 2nd, 2008, 9:29 pm

No Probs dude ,

remember me if you considering sellin it. :wink:

nd4spd

Re: What grease to use

Postby nd4spd » May 27th, 2008, 8:19 am

scoojoonks wrote:Can I use one type of grease to grease all the nipples on my TAX Hilux or do I have to use a different type depending on where the nipple is located.

Mobil XHP 222 grease

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”