[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file [ROOT]/ext/lotusjeff/socialshare/event/listener.php on line 508: Undefined offset: 2522235
Why i hate cordless tools- trinituner.com

Why i hate cordless tools

jj2

Postby jj2 » April 27th, 2008, 6:01 pm

i had a cordless less drill for about 3 years and it's still going strong! but less than 500 for a cordless that a little cheap,what brand is that?

Postby kurpal_v2 » April 27th, 2008, 6:03 pm

freal, like I said in the next thread, makita 12v cordless going strong..

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » April 27th, 2008, 7:08 pm

umm pioneer i have mines almost 3 yrs now .. makita dril .. paid almost $150usd .. never let me down

only thing is i lost my second battery bu makita makes a standard battery so i need to reorder one soon

is not how much u paid but what u bought ... come on we talked about this in the tools section

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » April 27th, 2008, 7:26 pm

http://www.abatterypack.com/power-tools-battery/makita-power-tool-battery/1220.htm

i see these online as a replacement prices look ok .. but seems i can get it once in stock at sears or home depot ..

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » April 27th, 2008, 8:30 pm

thread title should be

"""Why i hate CHEAP BRAND cordless tools""""....... :mrgreen:

u should know dem odd name brands might end up doing that

got a craftsman 14.4v going about 4yrs now - comes with 2 batts so u can use 1 while d other charging

honestly i prefer d power of a reg corded drill but sometimes a cordless comes in handy for a quick fix job ..........

Postby kurpal_v2 » April 27th, 2008, 8:34 pm

Is this a myth or does coarded power tools have more power than a coardless version?

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » April 27th, 2008, 9:26 pm

power yes torque yes but that is a thing of the past .. some drills being made now are stronger and more durable of the corded versions

thing is since the corded drills are so powerful sometimes i pop screw heads easily and the drill is so powerful i dont realise it .. then again if i dont seat the tip prooperly it screws up the tip

torque head rules yes ...
yes i do actually use it along with a drill bit guide as i have bust a surround or two

Postby SR » April 27th, 2008, 9:39 pm

have yet to have problems with craftsman power tools and cordless tools

got repalcment batteries from sears

same i can say for skil
got repalcment batteries from laughlin and degannes in pos

if you looking at somthing more heavy duty milwakee has a good line
a bit more expensive but stronger thancraftsman

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » April 27th, 2008, 9:41 pm

MonsterPower wrote:power yes torque yes but that is a thing of the past .. some drills being made now are stronger and more durable of the corded versions

thing is since the corded drills are so powerful sometimes i pop screw heads easily and the drill is so powerful i dont realise it .. then again if i dont seat the tip prooperly it screws up the tip

torque head rules yes ...
yes i do actually use it along with a drill bit guide as i have bust a surround or two

see thats why i have different drills for different purposes - when i want to send down screwd i use my trusty ol B&D low speed drill which has a max rpm of only 650 so it doesnt break any screws ...also 1 of d reasons that causes heads to snap off is not counter sinking d wood ...... :wink:

Lance

Postby Lance » April 27th, 2008, 9:52 pm

SR wrote:have yet to have problems with craftsman power tools and cordless tools

got repalcment batteries from sears

same i can say for skil
got repalcment batteries from laughlin and degannes in pos

if you looking at somthing more heavy duty milwakee has a good line
a bit more expensive but stronger thancraftsman

I've always been a fan of craftsman, Most of my tools are craftsman,

But recently they have been letting me down,

I bought a jigsaw a few yrs ago. Craftsman, it didn't last too long about a yr or 2, a few weeks after my cousin bought a Jigsaw also black and decker.

Guess what...it was identical to my craftsman, i mean word for word.same everything. It has led me to believe craftsman is now outsourcing alot of its tooling, and black and decker buying in the same place, quality of that saw was below par.

But i have other craftsman tools that has never let me down, the older lines.

demboyzaudio

Postby demboyzaudio » April 27th, 2008, 9:52 pm

yea jed, i prefer the cord now.
cheap or not, it lasts longer than a cordless.
an u can always plug it in, no need to charge for hours

Postby SR » April 27th, 2008, 9:54 pm

ahh but crafstman has warranty....................i dont buy my craftsman power tools locally as i have seen some quationable tools here already

lowe's has a new line call kobalt
good quality and cheaper than crafstman

as fot he replacment battery
the skil i dont htink i paid more than 250 for it at laughlin and degannes
and the crafstman 19.2 battery was no more than 30 us i think

Lance

Postby Lance » April 27th, 2008, 9:57 pm

SR wrote:ahh but crafstman has warranty....................i dont buy my craftsman power tools locally as i have seen some quationable tools here already

lowe's has a new line call kobalt
good quality and cheaper than crafstman

as fot he replacment battery
the skil i dont htink i paid more than 250 for it at laughlin and degannes
and the crafstman 19.2 battery was no more than 30 us i think

mine was from sears also,

never bothered to take it back.

Craftsman still has Lifetime warantee?

Postby SR » April 27th, 2008, 10:01 pm

on the hand tools yes
not sure on the power tools but i know they wil serivce and supply parts for them

even online thru sears you can source replacment parts for the power tools

innovative audio

Postby innovative audio » April 27th, 2008, 10:02 pm

i have a ryobi set....... its a 18 volt impact drill and a normal adjustable hammer drill. paid like $2500 for the two.
comes with a battery pack each(2) and it works well. it worked very damn well..... and this does get licks like everyday especially the impact drill.....

but anyhow we take it, all these things have a life span, some shorter than others. but then it all comes down to brand.......
i guess if you want something to last a long time you have to spend the extra dollar.
:wink:
Last edited by innovative audio on April 27th, 2008, 10:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby X_Factor » April 27th, 2008, 10:03 pm

i guess when buyin the cordless brands u really have to spend the extra and ensure a good quality unit
comes like with everything there is crappy cheap brands that get you with the price and dressing up the item
and there are the better quality item that takes the pressure

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » April 27th, 2008, 10:10 pm

pioneer wrote:[...Rovin...], what size countersink you use for normal drywall screws going into MDF?

had my bro bring me a craftsman set - had about 5 different sizes in a nice lil plastic box kit

craftsman makes some alright stuff eh sometimes they make rel tata too - just nov i had my bro bring in their circle jig to put on a router & i find d built quality was looking poor so i didnt bother to use it & made my bro carry it back up ..... :oops: .... :lol:

adam_ant_tt

Postby adam_ant_tt » April 27th, 2008, 10:53 pm

mc colloc or however it spelt
... daz price smart tools lol
doh look to bad but is still cheap thing. but if u have to check anywhere for replacement parts check them i guess maybe they'll order it for u ?

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » April 28th, 2008, 6:49 am

Ive got full ryobi 18 v sets, drills, vaccuums, jigsaw, circ saws, chain saw, saw-zalls, flash light, etc etc. Batteries are 75usd for the pair. I burnt out the trigger for one of the drills and got the oem replacement online for 15 usd. I broke the guard for one of the saws and got it online for 7.95 usd.

Ryobi isnt the best, but it was the best I could afford. 5 years later and the stuff still works great.

I realise, a lot of people, simply don't know how to use cordless power tools, hence the reason they damage batteries, stall the tools and burn the windings etc etc. People say skill and B&D are low end tools, but my dad has a B&D circ saw like 24 years now, going strong.

BTW B&D = DeWalt. :lol:

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » April 28th, 2008, 7:24 am

Yeah the old B&D rel strong. I still use my dad's B&W drill, router and circ saw that about as old as me. I like new milwaukee and skil tools.

markzz

Postby markzz » May 4th, 2008, 7:12 am

well heres my advice and experience with tools.. when going with cordless or anything that would need some replacement part later down the road go with the old trusted brands.. parts are fairly easy to come by..
with respect to cheaper brands i own a jig saw same mc culloch going two yrs strong.. but corded.. thing with the cheaper brands is to go with the safer models meaning corded with least likeliness of needing replacements. as replacement parts for these items are tough to come by.. bought it at pricesmart btw they deal that entire line and i can saftely say no cheap tool i have bought there has let me down as yet. *knock on wood*