advice on 15 dd

ShaKarz

Postby ShaKarz » April 18th, 2008, 8:52 pm

oh...... hey easy way to spot a DD sub is to look below the magnet ..... the silver piece where d hole is..... :| it has DD engraved under there......... well in the 3500 and 9500 series at least am sure off. so check it :)

jj2

Postby jj2 » April 18th, 2008, 10:00 pm

if i remember, rrr for $3500.

southside connections

Postby southside connections » April 19th, 2008, 1:42 am

dd 3500, spiders were not changed but the duscap was, and so was the cone

how do i know the cone was changed?-

dd cones are laminated and carry a distinctive high rise suspension same as a jugg and also the underside of where the cone is attatched to the suspension in the old subs were not compressed but just as rugged as the rest of the cone

the cone u have there is not laminated and the suspension is half roll

the duscap has been changed-dd caps do not have a sticking edge, dd simply puts a normal concave duscap without the edging,in replacement, the use a clear laminated epoxy glue to for the cap edge

there's also spacing between the cap edge and the original cap inlay on the cone

but no dout it's a 3500 series but the price is too high for this i would suggest a price of $2400 used or $2000 if it was reconed

gfbl

Postby gfbl » April 19th, 2008, 8:37 am

nismo14 wrote:casper i actually laugh with u there. southside will call u to verify its a dd or dum dum. most likely i aint paying 3000 for that for sure. in d event that i dont buy it who has a REAL DD to sell

rovin has a 9512 in like new condition for 3500. yuh should jump on that

nismo14

Postby nismo14 » April 19th, 2008, 10:29 am

people i hoke it up on d sound stream, it didn't even sound like a good 12' pioneer. a man with 2 under powered 12' alpines put me in d shade and real shade too, good thing he's a friend. i must say the DD toke all d soundstream 1000.1 had to throw out. it had d flappy sound when under powered though. d bass didn't even sound like it had d potential d sound good on more power IMO. most likely i'm carring it back.

casper

Postby casper » April 19th, 2008, 10:53 am

^^^^well i ent know what to tell u nah....cuz that box doesnt look like it will make the sub perform as it should IMO.....considering that its a real DD....

but....to make a box jes to see if that sub will sound better will waste ure money....

boom

Postby boom » April 19th, 2008, 10:56 am

cuz that box doesnt look like it will make the sub perform as it should IMO.....

Freal on that, Take it back and spend your $$ on rovin sub, if is one thing you sure its a DD...

Or if u interested I can get a spl5000, practically new, tested on 300wrms and u sure is the real deal..

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » April 19th, 2008, 1:20 pm

gfbl wrote:
nismo14 wrote:casper i actually laugh with u there. southside will call u to verify its a dd or dum dum. most likely i aint paying 3000 for that for sure. in d event that i dont buy it who has a REAL DD to sell

rovin has a 9512 in like new condition for 3500. yuh should jump on that

:D

for those who heard casper B14 with his 9512 sub (he has 1 too) in d MK show well that was my box & if u buy my sub jes pay me for d mdf & u getting that same box too (doh worry casper i will build back 1 for u when ur car finish painting) ....its a ranking 12" in soundoff right now besides d eclipse wagon whose has alot more power & a box almost 2 times d size.....serious buyers can get a demo ...... 8-)

casper

Postby casper » April 19th, 2008, 1:23 pm

^^^thanks for the big up :oops: .....

bump for bess seller and box builder

nismo14

Postby nismo14 » April 20th, 2008, 1:52 am

:| so i hoke d speaker to my ss 720.4 and bridge 2 channels and run 1 coil, i was actually kind ah impress. i got a nice low bass that even shaked my seats and pants. there are some sounds that u hear d speaker moving but no bass (freq- to low i guess), i'm guessing that box is sheit. i feel i would take d speaker for 2000 and let Rovin build a wicked box for me. who could neatly cut two rectangular ports in a back seat

ShaKarz

Postby ShaKarz » April 20th, 2008, 9:11 am

nismo14 wrote: i'm guessing that box is sheit.

i guess u made a right guess there . lol

and dont cut your seats man............. if your seats dont drop and you really need to vent the trunk area into the cabin cut the back dash..................

boom

Postby boom » April 20th, 2008, 9:21 am

if your seats dont drop and you really need to vent the trunk area into the cabin cut the back dash

There was a discussion about this, many ppl recogmended using ports on the backdash.. I cant remember though if you had to tune those ports..

ShaKarz

Postby ShaKarz » April 20th, 2008, 10:03 am

it would sense to tune them........ aero ports if u can............