Best doubles in T&T

illumin@ti

Postby illumin@ti » April 1st, 2008, 1:53 pm

yuh know ,,, we in trinidad seem to have convenient memory and by extension convenient sympathy.... de doubles man raise prices .... all de math about it says its ridiculous.. just forget that its doubles we talkin bout....... its a commodity .... the price of inputs went up by a certain amount and that in turn does what ? send up the vendors retail price by a ridiculous amount.... ridiculous .....

so wait ... if Kiss raise de price of bread in the same amount (%) that the doubles vendor did then they would also be justified as being entitled to do so because they hadda 'eat a food'? or when you go to fill up at the np station and find out that the gas subsidy gone and is wood in yuh tail fuh gas.... and then np would also be right ?

the fundamental issue is that there are many things wrong with the way in which we do business in trinidad.... Yes , the doubles man makin a tax free dollar.. and imagine how many of us here pay taxes up to we neck when month come.. I does feel it for the people that have to travel to and from Sando everyday... and then watch with scorn, the greedy taxi driver that takes their money and treats the rest of the motoring public with scant courtesy as he makes his tax free dollars....

no control or regulation in these industries is what is at fault... and when you try to or even think about implementing such , its the consumer who gets the sh!tty end of the stick....
Me? doubles too rich for my blood.. if it hadda come to a quick cheap meal ,,, is corned beaf and rice yes ....crush cow and rice FTW ...SAY NO TO OVERPRICED BARRA

Postby Greypatch » April 1st, 2008, 1:59 pm

SAY NO TO OVERPRICED BARRA

QM

Postby QM » April 1st, 2008, 2:35 pm

making doubles is hard work. and $4 is expensive in comparison to what we are used to paying. however around the world the cost of food is increasing and soon doubles may go up even more.

as for the cost of doubles i am not sure. but we can clearly see that the increasing prices of foods in the supermarkets are increasing and with flour expected to take a hike we can see another increase. for instance we have soft drink such as coke which were 2.50 and 3.00 around the time when doulbes was 1 dollar. ( 591 ml bottles ) but the price now of these same drinks are 4.50 and 5.00 yet i don't see any complaining?

as the price of oil continues to increase as time progresses we can expect further increases in food prices. simply because trinidad relies greatly on imports. bc of our lack of an agricultural sector we cannot 'bargain' for lower prices on imported food. and with the removal of subsides on fuel. the cost of transport wil skyrocket. and every single item and service will increase. traffic may decrease since the many will not be able to afford to drive.

just my 2c

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » April 1st, 2008, 2:49 pm

carcrazie wrote:Heck i learning to cook!

Allyuh fellas good yes....but is doubles....RESISTANCE IS FUTILE

Oh yeah....Gosines in Gasparillo.

Postby streetbeastINC. » April 1st, 2008, 6:06 pm

lord..alll this talk of doubles....i think this thread boosting doubles sale..the word doubles might be synonymous with the word yawn....did i spell that correctly... i goin an buy some cant help it....weyz

Postby hydroep » April 1st, 2008, 7:10 pm

LOL...the price of some vendors' doubles done gone up and NFM eh release their price list yet... :?

Is a business yes. If they want to charge $ 10.00 for a doubles let them go ahead. Nobody forcing anybody to buy doubles...is not like it's a necessity. If people stupid enough to pay that for it...it good for dem...:lol:

bluespeed

Postby bluespeed » April 1st, 2008, 7:49 pm

$4.00 for clogged arteries........no thanks :!:

sweetnezz

Postby sweetnezz » April 1st, 2008, 7:56 pm

AbstractPoetic wrote:Most double vendors are of East Indian or Muslim ancestry and most East Indian and Muslims families believe in communal living with close and distant relatives.

I am not surprised if blue-collared workers are able to afford such sizeable homes and decently priced vehicles as most pool their resources and save over a span of several years.

At the end of it all, their children are the beneficiaries and most importantly, life KFC, doubles will continue to sell.
Buh way d ass!!

sweetnezz

Postby sweetnezz » April 1st, 2008, 7:57 pm

AbstractPoetic wrote::roll:

You complain about $5 doubles yet many of you are willing to put down $400 on a meal and few drinks at TGI or Ruby Tuesdays for pre-packaged food and horrible service. Don't forget to tip!

Yeah,' hoss', you've made it alright. Show the world what a fool you are to spend money so frivolously.

LOL.
Iz u on yr period???

honda4life

Postby honda4life » April 1st, 2008, 11:25 pm

i eh know what she talking bout either sweetnezz,
cuz she shoulda complain when de man carrying her there and tell him y he doh buy some vegies and make her a salad....and save he money

Postby joker » April 2nd, 2008, 2:07 am

Greypatch wrote:debe is the last place u should buy doubles...

lol @ doubles mafia

i've said this many times .... it is de worst

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 3rd, 2008, 3:51 pm

just got this email

Hello Friends,

As a worker at NFM, I will give you a small insight to what I would call "Highway Robbery"

The flour that most doubles vendors use (45kg) has been increased by $60.00. Do you know how many doubles can be produced from a 45kg of flour?

Let me tell you. 1,200 doubles, yes twelve hundred and some good doubles vendors can get 1,500.

So let's use 1,200. If your 45kg bag of flour has been increased by $60.00….Do the math.

OK OK, let me do it for you….Your doubles went up by 5 cents.

Still want to buy doubles for $4 and $5? …..Feel FREE !!!!!

[name edited out]
Technical Analyst

National Flour Mills Ltd.
http://www.nfm.co.tt
PO Box 1154
27-29 Wrightson Road
Port of Spain
TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Terran

Postby Terran » April 3rd, 2008, 3:59 pm

Well from what I read in the papers, they can get up to 1,500 barras - which equates to 750 doubles. Either way, the price increase of flour used to make doubles was negligible.

I know that dhal went up by 100% which SOME vendors use in the channa, but the serving per doubles AGAIN is negligible. The $1 price increase, as far as I concerned, is not justified. I can not see what is their plight when they say how prices are rising when the the biggest moving price in what they make is flour.

Postby eliteauto » April 3rd, 2008, 4:04 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:just got this email

Hello Friends,

As a worker at NFM, I will give you a small insight to what I would call "Highway Robbery"

The flour that most doubles vendors use (45kg) has been increased by $60.00. Do you know how many doubles can be produced from a 45kg of flour?

Let me tell you. 1,200 doubles, yes twelve hundred and some good doubles vendors can get 1,500.

So let's use 1,200. If your 45kg bag of flour has been increased by $60.00….Do the math.

[name edited out]
Technical Analyst

PO Box 1154
27-29 Wrightson Road
Port of Spain
TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

now I stop buying a while now but all the same that email is a serious indictment

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 3rd, 2008, 4:09 pm

^ well the man put his full name, position, office and cell phone number in the email and sent it out - clearly he feels it is factual.

I edited them out

Strauss

Postby Strauss » April 3rd, 2008, 4:13 pm

MR. ROVIN wrote:forget what d material cost but what about d labor as said above - its not like u buy 3 dozen jersey for $12 each & just sit by d side of d road retailing for $20 each

all that hard work to get d ingredients , alot of time involved , labor to cook it in a hot kitchen , drive to d spot to sell it then labor to make it according to how d ppl want since its not like u making it d same way over & over ....its a few hundred of these things u have to individually hand make , pressure on d doubles maker when 20 ppl surround u & grumbling because everybody impatient .....think of all that & observe how hard these ppl does work instead of just watching how it costing u $1 more ..... so instead of some ppl complaining : why they dont start to make doubles & sell it cheaper than d current price .......:|

So the big vendors... instead of grossing $15,000+/day you now gross $20,000+/day because of the hard work? Price of flour gone up by THAT much to justify the extra $5,000 per day charge?

Terran

Postby Terran » April 3rd, 2008, 4:18 pm

corollalover101 wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:just got this email

Hello Friends,

[name edited out]
Technical Analyst

PO Box 1154
27-29 Wrightson Road
Port of Spain
TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

now I stop buying a while now but all the same that email is a serious indictment

As far as I see it, the price of doubles is the issue, and the price increase of flour (which is an ingredient in doubles) as mentioned is correct. Nothing detrimental in what was said. It brings an awareness to those who think that the price increase of doubles is reasonable.

As was asked on TV6 last night: do you agree with the government that grocery owners are contributing to higher food prices?

Terran

Postby Terran » April 3rd, 2008, 4:23 pm

Strauss wrote:
MR. ROVIN wrote:forget what d material cost but what about d labor as said above - its not like u buy 3 dozen jersey for $12 each & just sit by d side of d road retailing for $20 each

all that hard work to get d ingredients , alot of time involved , labor to cook it in a hot kitchen , drive to d spot to sell it then labor to make it according to how d ppl want since its not like u making it d same way over & over ....its a few hundred of these things u have to individually hand make , pressure on d doubles maker when 20 ppl surround u & grumbling because everybody impatient .....think of all that & observe how hard these ppl does work instead of just watching how it costing u $1 more ..... so instead of some ppl complaining : why they dont start to make doubles & sell it cheaper than d current price .......:|

So the big vendors... instead of grossing $15,000+/day you now gross $20,000+/day because of the hard work? Price of flour gone up by THAT much to justify the extra $5,000 per day charge?

Now in that case, you're talking about making an additional $5,000 from selling 4,000 - 5,000 doubles every day. In that case, a vendor would have had to put out an additional $200-$250 for FLOUR alone - just to make the same quantity.

So his expense increases by $250 (at most) and he now generates $5,000 more revenue. Yeah, that's fair. :roll:

Postby cinco » April 3rd, 2008, 6:11 pm

i dont understand how allyuh men fighting down doubles so
chicken hasnt risen potatoe eh gone up but kfc price gone up how much time in the pas year?
allyuh fighting down the doubles man who does hadda work from 2 in the morning till 10 at night to make a lil change.
That email so pointless it not even funny (actually i get the email and laugh)
but anyhow
for YEARS doubles price didnt go up regardless of the price of flour the doubles men used to bite the bullet just to keep it affordable but now EVERYTHING more expensive.
you all fighting down the cost of making doubles but you have to realise the doubles man dont only eat doubles if he hadda pay for his basic sustinance and utlities at home wont he need to make more money?
its simple economics the COL has risen if he now makes 1 dolla of a doubles it can very well cost him 75% of that just for basic necessities

Postby streetbeastINC. » April 3rd, 2008, 6:47 pm

DAMMMMIT...i come online....see this dam thread i started outa kix and anytime i see it i feeeling rel hungry for doubles....

steups....goin down the road...(for doubles)

Strauss

Postby Strauss » April 4th, 2008, 9:26 am

Terran wrote:
Strauss wrote:

Now in that case, you're talking about making an additional $5,000 from selling 4,000 - 5,000 doubles every day. In that case, a vendor would have had to put out an additional $200-$250 for FLOUR alone - just to make the same quantity.

So his expense increases by $250 (at most) and he now generates $5,000 more revenue. Yeah, that's fair. :roll:

I think people don't have a clue of how much a doubles man can sell in one morning/evening. Lets not talk about doubles stalls that work for most of the day (like every one else).

bluespeed

Postby bluespeed » April 4th, 2008, 10:51 am

Strauss wrote:
Terran wrote:
Strauss wrote:

I think people don't have a clue of how much a doubles man can sell in one morning/evening. Lets not talk about doubles stalls that work for most of the day (like every one else).

and they don't even pay taxes........they like to cry wolf.....
i want the government to make them pay taxes like the rest of us...

what class do they fall in?.....lower / middle / upper middle/ upper??

Terran

Postby Terran » April 4th, 2008, 10:57 am

I'd say upper middle - upper class.

They just drive those beat-out looking 120Y station wagons to mask how much money they're taking home.

Soundstream_626

Postby Soundstream_626 » April 4th, 2008, 11:17 am

sauce son is my padna ... id say upper class . If u only kno how much firetruck money dem have eh . now i not saying they didnt earn it but heres my grouse with the increase ... why a whole firetruck dollar? is greedy dey greedy so ?

so what happen gone are the days of 50 cents increases? 3.50 wudda be a stretch but hey i quicker pay that than 4 dollars

anyways what i eatin up mehself for ... i eh buy doubles since yr start and dont plan on buying anytime soon

illumin@ti

Postby illumin@ti » April 4th, 2008, 11:34 am

as i say again ,,,, is trinidad ,, everybody who sellin something nowadays tryin to dig out yuh eye citing ' inflation' and other terms that float around daily ......

doubles is officially off my diet... is ok .. i could cook ... and besides By sea town on park st. i could get a full meal and a drink for the going price of 4 overpriced barra that thinner than paper right now :lol: :lol: :lol:

if allyuh want to fatten th epockets of de greedy doubles men .. go ahead ... i good :|

Terran

Postby Terran » April 4th, 2008, 11:50 am

Good, good! Join the club! :D

Postby RBphoto » April 4th, 2008, 11:56 am

It would be nice if the quality/ quantity of a doubbles remained the same beven though the price increased. This morning a padna tell me when he went for doubles, the man leveling a good spoon of channa, but scraping some off in he same action. True or not, a doubbles is not as filling as it used to be.

Soundstream_626

Postby Soundstream_626 » April 4th, 2008, 12:04 pm

true .. a doubles barely fitting in my palm

so de bandit n dem make it smaller an raise d price hahahah ... dumb trinis

start the doubles boycott now i say ... eat crix

oh yeh any palmiste tuners?... i hear there`s a doubles vendor there selling for $5.50 for a long time now

sweeks

Postby sweeks » April 4th, 2008, 12:51 pm

This came via email to me today. I'm not downplaying the level of work that is being done or aiming this directly at the doubles vendor. Everyone has to live but I think consumers are being taken advantage off.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hello Friends,

As a worker at NFM, I will give you a small insight to what I would call
'Highway Robbery'

The flour that most doubles vendors use (45kg) has been increased by
$60.00. Do you know how many doubles can be produced from a 45kg of
flour?

Let me tell you. 1,200 doubles, yes twelve hundred and some good doubles
vendors can get 1,500.

So let's use 1,200. If your 45kg bag of flour has been increased by
$60.00?.Do the math.

OK OK, let me do it for you?.Your doubles went up by 5 cents.

Still want to buy doubles for $4 and $5? ?..Feel FREE !!!!!

Technical Analyst

PO Box 1154
27-29 Wrightson Road
Port of Spain
TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Terran

Postby Terran » April 4th, 2008, 1:13 pm

sweeks, remove de man name from the text, nuh. And this is a repost.