ibanez

I.T jobs and salaries in T&T

Postby ibanez » April 1st, 2008, 4:54 am

need some advice on I.T jobs

Have a BSc. CIS (hons) University of London, currently studying MCSE

My current salary is $12,000

I have no experience in the field so entry level jobs pay much less than my current salary. I am looking for a job which can provide me with an overall package that is not much less than my current job ie not $6k -$7k jobs, minimum of $10k will be OK

Can anyone provide some info on I.T jobs at different companies and their current salaries? How much entry level jobs pay, what certs beside MCSE will be useful?

Thanks
Last edited by ibanez on July 30th, 2011, 1:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.

jon

Postby jon » April 1st, 2008, 7:28 am

Doubt you would get an entry level job in IT that pays close to 12k might be closer to 8k...it might be easier to get an internal transfer to your company's IT dept.?

Postby RBphoto » April 1st, 2008, 8:29 am

Why not look at industrial IT companies that target the oil and gas sector? Those guys do some real interesting work as wel as telecommunication interface (microwave, fiber optic, you name it) As a lot of work is offshore, it pays well. Check slumberger or something.

douglaking

Postby douglaking » April 1st, 2008, 8:30 am

As he said..there is NO job that pays even close your hit would be bess at 8 and that is a tad much seeing as you have no experience.

Best advice? Teacher or Lecturer

Postby r3iXmann » April 1st, 2008, 8:32 am

Unless you know somebody willing to pull some strings for you,there's no way you're getting that 12k with no experience. $8k sounds like your best bet. Do some security courses and CCNA along with that MCSE and you should be good to go

DF1_2nR

Postby DF1_2nR » April 1st, 2008, 9:02 am

What exactly do you want to do? Saying you are looking for an I.T job is very general.

Decide what you're interested in(Networking, Security, Programming etc.) and tailor your certifications to suit. You already have your BSc. so that's a great start.

Finding a job to match your current salary may be a little difficult with no experience, so you might have to take the cut financially. But if you look around enough you will find something. There are jobs out there that pay close to your current salary, you just have to know where to look.

As someone said before, see if its possible to get an internal transfer to your company's I.T. department so you can gain experience. Then organise your certs and move on from there.

Networking with others in the field you are looking to enter will help you also.

You can check out www.caribbeanjobs.com , www.crsitjobs.com , http://www.ghrs.gov.tt/ to see what's available. There are a couple other sites but I can't remember right now.

Good luck with the search. 8-)

Dragist

Postby Dragist » April 1st, 2008, 10:07 am

To command that kind of salary you need experience , I for one don't hire anyone loaded with certs and no experience .

My .02

Wolfie

Postby Wolfie » April 1st, 2008, 11:14 am

12 grand isn't a lot of money considering our country's cost of living and unfortunately the fellas right here, you're not going to get even that at entry level. Welcome to the third world.

ibanez

Postby ibanez » April 1st, 2008, 4:02 pm

yeah guys thanks for the info, know that I can't get the $12k or close without experience.

I just wanted to get some feedback on how much IT jobs paying. If it ain't worth it may consider doing a degree in another field.

Can't understand why everyone else with degrees are making money but IT people don't. Even in my company IT jobs pay less than engineering and both require a degree.

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » April 1st, 2008, 4:07 pm

i dont think you should use engineering as an example....cause overall engineers get BIG MONEY...

Skilzman

Postby Skilzman » April 1st, 2008, 4:09 pm

ibanez wrote:yeah guys thanks for the info, know that I can't get the $12k or close without experience.

I just wanted to get some feedback on how much IT jobs paying. If it ain't worth it may consider doing a degree in another field.

Can't understand why everyone else with degrees are making money but IT people don't. Even in my company IT jobs pay less than engineering and both require a degree.

Cause its saturated

Racegod

Postby Racegod » April 1st, 2008, 4:18 pm

3 yrs exp, Dip ICT-CNT, A+, Net+, MCSA...

currently starting BSc. ISM University of London...

I've worked, Tstt, GreenDot, Ministry of Labour, Fujitsu(current), IGL, BpTT.

All which i was either a Network Eng, Systems analyst, RF Eng.

None of which pay close to 12g's. Even with the BSc, i don't see that being possible in trinidad being in the technical field.

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » April 1st, 2008, 4:19 pm

Skilzman wrote:
ibanez wrote:yeah guys thanks for the info, know that I can't get the $12k or close without experience.

Cause its saturated

that and business

Michael Knight...

Postby Michael Knight... » April 1st, 2008, 4:20 pm

^^^I have to agree. It's a very tilted two way street.

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » April 1st, 2008, 4:20 pm

ibanez, i think its best u keep your job if u looking at $$$yes

tristanrules

Postby tristanrules » April 1st, 2008, 5:25 pm

Yuh need to be unique daz all

ray_shell

Postby ray_shell » April 1st, 2008, 5:40 pm

hey do systems auditing, thats one money making area. wait..doh budda..when i come back that field is MINE!

nah fuh real is big money in the UK

tristanrules

Postby tristanrules » April 1st, 2008, 5:59 pm

data recovery

wickedestman

Postby wickedestman » April 2nd, 2008, 2:01 am

wa about programming? maybe here but like abroad also.. like software development, games, databases ting like dat? dat supposed to be reall packed wit $$ but yuh hadda have some serious common sense and math skills right?

tristanrules

Postby tristanrules » April 2nd, 2008, 2:22 am

I know in NY and a few other places, if yuh know Oracle yuh set

Postby pugboy » April 2nd, 2008, 5:49 am

are you aware that there are guys in fujitsu making 30k+ ?
they dont have a bunch of certs but experience with unix and good basic understanding of firewalls and tcp/ip

Racegod wrote:3 yrs exp, Dip ICT-CNT, A+, Net+, MCSA...

currently starting BSc. ISM University of London...

I've worked, Tstt, GreenDot, Ministry of Labour, Fujitsu(current), IGL, BpTT.

All which i was either a Network Eng, Systems analyst, RF Eng.

None of which pay close to 12g's. Even with the BSc, i don't see that being possible in trinidad being in the technical field.

mitsu

Postby mitsu » April 2nd, 2008, 9:06 am

pugboy...your statement isn't justified ..maybe a small subset...

Postby pugboy » April 2nd, 2008, 5:13 pm

obviously.....fellas with certs are dime a dozen now......
the ones who make the bigger bucks are the ones who are in IT because they like the field longtime and make an effort to learn the stuff...not only aim to pass exams and ask what kind of salary they can get now that they have that extra piece of paper....employers aren't too stupid these days.....

Postby X2 » April 2nd, 2008, 6:06 pm

I've never worked an IT job in Trinidad, but I will guarantee, hands down, experience is the key to big money. My last IT job (10 years ago) was paying VERY well and I had only basic certifications... they paid because I knew what I was doing due to years of experience. Guys were in there with hand fulls of certs and they couldn't tell a tape drive from a router.

Certs don't mean shift and when your IT person is a dolt, it's easy to tell.... which is why many companies will just NOT start a noob at a good salary... you gotta pay your dues.

Postby hydroep » April 2nd, 2008, 6:07 pm

employers aren't too stupid these days.....

Unfortunately a lot of dem still goin' for short skirts and low-cut blouses. Certs and experience doh matter...:?

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » April 2nd, 2008, 6:24 pm

Dragist wrote:To command that kind of salary you need experience , I for one don't hire anyone loaded with certs and no experience .
My .02

Good advice...and more and more companies are becoming wary of paper MCSEs. I've often interviewed candidates and in just a few questions can tell that they have little real world experience...in spite of an impressive certification listing.

Unfortunately in Trinidad IT is seen as a cost centre not a business investment for competitive advantage....so you are limited to large financial institutions (which do limit what you can do), energy sector (they ususally outsource IT services) or the large category businesses/industry.

It would also help if you look at specializing in an area. Security is the hot topic now and even in that you can further specialize...Pen testing, forensics, info sec mgmt...and a lot more. If you like software development and are good at it you can work at home by bidding on jobs online...know people who work like this.

Take some time to decide what you like cause it makes it easier to develop in that area. With specialised skills you also make urself marketable to the world....don't limit urself to Trinidad.

And good luck

Dragist

Postby Dragist » April 2nd, 2008, 6:30 pm

Well said ek4ever and X2

Racegod

Postby Racegod » April 2nd, 2008, 6:43 pm

pugboy,

Very Aware of that, hence why somebody on the forum said you need to be different.. specialize...

And btw they are trained in Check Point, hence why they make that much...

There isn't much Check Point certified persons in the caribbean to my knowledge.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » April 2nd, 2008, 6:44 pm

ek4ever wrote:
Dragist wrote:To command that kind of salary you need experience , I for one don't hire anyone loaded with certs and no experience .
My .02

Good advice...and more and more companies are becoming wary of paper MCSEs. I've often interviewed candidates and in just a few questions can tell that they have little real world experience...in spite of an impressive certification listing.

So how are inexperienced IT people now entering the field supposed to get experience? Is it your organisations are so small that you cannot afford the overhead costs involved in training someone and that is why you have adopted that policy?

Dragist

Postby Dragist » April 2nd, 2008, 6:51 pm

I will take them on as a Trainee .