Recomendations for 4x4 tyres

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
Stuckindmud

Postby Stuckindmud » March 3rd, 2008, 8:07 pm

the BFG`s i have on are abt a year and a half old - first change from the factory duellers , and i runnin abt 30 000 kms on them good.

323wd - Dont let rainy season catch you with those tyres on , when they have low thread they are terrible in the wet. - the michi`s are reall good tyres and they reall expensive.

venum

Postby venum » March 3rd, 2008, 9:05 pm

OK

so I guessing that the Terra Tracs won't be that great

the All Country and Terra Trac are identical, so Ramrattan told me - they look identical too, guessing they made by same company

gonna check for the LTX\LTX-2

Michelin Tyre shop I guess

will see if I can pass in Pt. Lisas tomm

I getting a set of original sportero rims and tyres (Duelers) with ~ 4 months use if anybody wants

around $5-6k

person put one some black and chrome rims on teh Sportero

I not gonna be using them on my van

venum

Postby venum » March 3rd, 2008, 9:07 pm

Stuckindmud wrote:323wd - Dont let rainy season catch you with those tyres on , when they have low thread they are terrible in the wet.

yuh throwing dat fuh me too or what :?:

323_wagon_dude

Postby 323_wagon_dude » March 4th, 2008, 6:04 am

nah... he throwing that out for everybody. One thing you have to remember once your tyres don't have proper traction you WILL fishtail on wet roads.

Also make sure what ever brand or size tyre you buy, it is properly pressured. If its too high you will also fishtail on wet roads.

Postby wagon r » March 4th, 2008, 6:45 am

^....a situation i had happen in pt. lisas once......was very exciting though only because i caught the slide and powered it out....(the l2 was a great practice bed for skid driving....)

...one thing though, you guys have ABS, i don't, so i have a lot more "work" to do should i pick up a skid.....and further more, everyone should "practice" skid control. it's dry season now but you should know what to do should your van pick up a skid.

the LTXs are great, however, when we were on the beach, i had to go into 4wd to get out of the sand.

the tracks on the left, the smooth ones are mine....sand compacted so much in the thread that i had to use 4wd to move. when i walked back to the point where i began to "sink", i realised that i had driven thru deeper sand the the other three guys, and i had to stop and start again after waiting for sweeky to park.

that said, remember i rotated my tyres and my fronts have way more end thread than the rears now, so factor that into my not getting any traction.

also, sweeky rightly pulled up my socks for the rip out when we were leaving, but honestly, i had literally no traction.....and well...... :mrgreen:

still would buy these LTX A/T again though.....tyre runs well, not much road noise (mine had due to a bad alignment, which the orig. owner didn't fix, so the tyres were cutting, fixed now), and i find they hold good in the wet, the few chances i had to drive in heavy rain. it's also a beefy looking tyre, feels up the fender nicely.

...and one more thing, mine doing 71K, and they still have half a life left in them.

Stuckindmud

Postby Stuckindmud » March 4th, 2008, 8:05 am

yo.

Wagon , i like the LTX`s - for the strong edge and beefy look - and for 71 000 K thaz REALLL GOOOD !!..

Venum and 323 - take it from me - you wont go hungry in the rainy season with the amount of 'fish-tail broth' you could make with those tyres -

Before i changed them anything resembling a corner , if taken under power would kick the back end out.

Postby wagon r » March 4th, 2008, 8:11 am

^....and with turbo power, yuh better be easy on the throttle when doing so.

...but i've gotten accustom to the van now and how the power comes in, so driving isn't as surprising as it used to be.

...and of course, this was also one of the highly rated tyres in the test i linked you guys too.

venum

Postby venum » March 4th, 2008, 8:36 am

All Good Advice here

the main factor in my choice will unfortunately be $$$

being that I just got teh van and focusing on preventative maintenence and the couple of small repairs needed, I will be budget constricted

I won't be putting her through any rigorous terrain or hard work at least for this year, so my requirements from tyres are not too much, just need good wet and dry traction

so I will still check the LTX

Stuck, where you got them BF's - if you say they good, I will consider them, expecting them to be less than teh Michelins

Stuckindmud wrote:Venum and 323 - take it from me - you wont go hungry in the rainy season with the amount of 'fish-tail broth' you could make with those tyres

I love meh fish broth ehh, but not that much - I felt her chipping out already in the wet, so tyres now are a priority

venum

Postby venum » March 4th, 2008, 12:26 pm

went to Quick Service Pt. Lisas to check the Michelins

had none

they had BFG's

265\70\16

Macadam - $1328.00

LE Terrain - $1233.95

VAT incl

Jack's Tyre in Couva

Ironman Electra - $800.00 M+S

Nexxen Rodian - $850.00

venum

Postby venum » March 5th, 2008, 10:35 am

Getting Hankook Dyna Pro for $918.0 Vat incl at Tyre clinic

Stuckindmud

Postby Stuckindmud » March 5th, 2008, 4:18 pm

Check Federal on Cipero ..
they got the BFG`s for 750 i think
i`m sure youcan neg a better price too.

Cooper

Postby Cooper » March 6th, 2008, 8:34 am

The Michelins got a good rating on Tirerack.com
http://www.tirerack.com/tires/tires.jsp ... es&place=7

Stuck what is the model of your tires? I want to put the review up on this thread.

Click the pic below to see the ratings:

The LTX A/T2 is Michelin's On-/Off-Road All-Terrain light truck tire developed to meet the needs of today's recreational and commercial pickup, van and SUV drivers. The LTX A/T2 was designed to provide even wear, low noise and good fuel efficiency, even in demanding commercial applications while delivering the year-round traction and durability expected from rugged off-road tires without forsaking the on-road comfort and handling expected of a Michelin tire.

The LTX A/T2 features an advanced light truck tread rubber compound molded into an independent tread block tread design featuring Michelin Biting Edges (notched blocks in the tread pattern) that enhance traction on dirt, mud, gravel, wet grass and snow. Michelin's Advanced MaxTouch Construction results in a unique tire footprint shape that allows for long-lasting, even treadwear while their Comfort Control Technology uses computer-optimized design and precision manufacturing to reduce vibrations and road noise to deliver a comfortable ride. The tire's internal structure includes two steel belts (Load Range D and Load Range E sizes add a third steel belt) to enhance durability and tread puncture resistance.

323_wagon_dude

Postby 323_wagon_dude » March 6th, 2008, 8:41 am

^^---- anyone has the price of these?

Cooper

Postby Cooper » March 6th, 2008, 10:18 am

equipped2ripp listed them at $1400 a pop on page 1....pricey but I think very much worth it, I can speak from experience that it really does grip! :mrgreen:

(Tirerack has it listed at $156 USD)

Stuckindmud

Postby Stuckindmud » March 6th, 2008, 10:51 am

Cooper ,

Its BFG Land Terrains .

Cooper

Postby Cooper » March 6th, 2008, 11:26 am

Thanks Stuck, tirerack.com didn't have them listed, but I'll google it to see if I can get a comprehensive review.

Can anyone give me info on the model of the Bridgestone Dueler sold with the new pickups?

these are the models on tirerack:

- A/T Revo
- A/T D695
- H/T D840
- H/T D689
- H/T D684 II
- H/L Alenza

Stuckindmud

Postby Stuckindmud » March 6th, 2008, 11:53 am

You`ll quicker get All terrain - which is the same build as the all terrain .

There is a review around on them , that i found when i was lookin for tyres.
Ill post it if i find it

Cooper

Postby Cooper » March 6th, 2008, 12:48 pm

that's exactly what I found.....just wanted to get info on the rubber you guys were using.

BTW does anyone have experience with Pirelli Scorpion AT or ATR's?

venum

Postby venum » March 7th, 2008, 10:12 am

who selling Pirelli :?:

323_wagon_dude

Postby 323_wagon_dude » March 7th, 2008, 3:33 pm

Cooper, the Hilux came with the Duelers H/T D840. The Xtrail came with the Duelers H/T D689

Not too sure of the other vehicles.

Postby equipped2ripp » March 7th, 2008, 10:24 pm

The D22 Frontier came with D840 as well... I knew the D689 came on the older model Prado.

Not too sure who sells Pirelli... Automotive Art or Dean Wheels?

Cooper

Postby Cooper » March 11th, 2008, 10:33 am

Bridgestone Dueler H/T D840 (Highway All-Season)

Original Equipment (OE) All-Season tires are the prevalent tire choice for vehicles sold in the United States. Developed for use on new cars and light trucks, these tires provide a versatile blend of ride quality, noise comfort, treadwear, handling and year-round traction, even in light snow.

While Original Equipment All-Season tires are often repurchased as direct replacements for pairs and sets of worn out Original Equipment tires, they can also be used on other vehicles in axle pairs or sets of four if they match the needed tire size, load range and speed rating specifications, as well as the anticipated driving conditions.

While The Tire Rack attempts to provide a picture of as many of these tires as possible, the pictures used to represent these tires cannot be guaranteed to be an exact depiction of each tire's appearance because of the variety of subtle differences in tread designs and sidewall styling.

Cooper

Postby Cooper » March 11th, 2008, 10:39 am

Bridgestone Dueler H/T D689 (Highway All-Season)

The Bridgestone Dueler H/T lets you experience the excitement of your light truck or sport utility vehicle, without sacrificing a smooth, quiet ride. The Dueler H/T combines the versatile performance you need, with the sleek styling you want. The computer designed small block all-season tread provides you with excellent wet weather traction, and the extra deep tread (11/32" to 15/32") help to not only extend tire life, but add traction as well. The Dueler H/T's rounded casing profile delivers an extremely smooth ride and the S-speed rating adds to it's excellent highway handling and predictable performance. The Dueler H/T offers a wide range of sizes to fit almost any sport utility or light truck, and can be mounted with either the raised outline white letters or the serrated black letters facing outward. It also has Bridgestone's Platinum Pact warranty, a 30-Day Buy & Try Guarantee, and a 60,000 mile treadwear warranty.

venum

Postby venum » March 11th, 2008, 10:39 am

getting BFG's for nutting less than $1300.00

didn't check Federal yet

Tyre Clinic had Dunlop PIT for $850.00 - these are highway tyres

Cooper

Postby Cooper » March 11th, 2008, 10:44 am

Pirelli Scorpion A/T (On-/Off-Road All-Terrain)

Simply put, the Pirelli Scorpion A/T runs circles around ordinary tires designed for Light Trucks and Sport Utility Vehicles. In terms of versatility. All-terrain handling. And sheer ride comfort.

On the highway or off the beaten path, under ideal conditions or a torrential downpour, Scorpion A/T is a consistently superior performer. Pirelli's advanced design and manufacturing methods have endowed the Scorpion A/T with truly impressive off-road capabilities, legendary Pirelli handling, plus a remarkably quiet and comfortable highway ride.

Add to all that the outstanding durability and handsome raised white outling lettering on selected sizes and you've got an all-season design that touches all the bases.

The Scorpion A/T, no other Pirelli covers this much ground.

Cooper

Postby Cooper » March 11th, 2008, 10:48 am

Pirelli Scorpion ATR (On-/Off-Road All-Terrain)

The Scorpion ATR is Pirelli's On-/Off-Road All-Terrain light truck tire developed for pickup, crossover and sport utility vehicle drivers that want to combine on-road civility with off-road capability. The Scorpion ATR is designed to master long highway journeys, wet roads and the challenges of winter driving by combining paved road comfort and handling with rough terrain grip and maneuverability.

The Scorpion ATR features a silica-enhanced tread compound molded into a quiet-running, symmetric all-terrain type tread pattern. A virtual continuous center rib and large, stable shoulder tread blocks provide directional stability and steering response while interlocked independent tread blocks in the center tread area further promote acoustic comfort, even on-road wear and off-road traction. Sweeping central circumferential grooves and lateral shoulder grooves channel water to resist hydroplaning and enhance wet traction. The independent tread blocks are siped to provide extra biting edges that enhance off-road traction on loose surfaces and in snow. The tire's internal structure includes twin steel belts reinforced with spirally wrapped nylon cord to support the tread area providing predictable handling and high-speed control, while polyester cords stabilize the sidewalls and enhance ride quality.

323_wagon_dude

Postby 323_wagon_dude » March 11th, 2008, 3:59 pm

Good info there cooper.

I'm a lil surprised on how low the duelers were rated. I changing those for sure.

Cooper

Postby Cooper » March 12th, 2008, 6:58 am

I guess the local dealers getting them Duelers cheap.

I saw this model on a hi-lux in my carpark. I'll have to ask the owner where he got them, they seem okay.

BFGoodrich All-Terrain T/A KO (On-/Off-Road All-Terrain)

The All-Terrain T/A KO ("KO" for Key benefit On- and Off-road) is BFGoodrich's On-/Off-Road All-Terrain light truck tire developed to meet the needs of pickup truck and sport utility vehicle drivers who want confidence and control on and off the road. The All-Terrain T/A KO was designed to deliver go-anywhere traction along with outstanding durability and great wear.

The All-Terrain T/A KO features an aggressive, computer optimized, high-void all-terrain pattern with interlocking tread blocks and innovative siping to provide traction and handling without generating excessive noise. "ShoulderLock" upper sidewall traction bars maximize "aired down" performance by provide the clawing action necessary to develop traction and steering control in deep dirt and sand. The tire's internal structure includes twin steel belts on top of BFGoodrich's TriGard (3-ply polyester cord sidewall plies) construction for strength and durability. Single strand beads (a single strand of bead wire is continuously wrapped multiple times until the desired strength is provided) enhance the tire's fit to the wheel to improve uniformity and ride quality, while rim protectors molded into the lower sidewall help shelter wheels from off-road hazards, especially during "aired down" operation.

venum

Postby venum » March 16th, 2008, 10:20 pm

went to Brandtec in Longendeville yesterday

guy there told me that tyre prices going up in 2 weeks as teh price of steel went up by 40%

Cooper

Postby Cooper » March 18th, 2008, 7:20 am

Fellas check todays papers (Express pg 64) 'Quick Service' has a special on 4x4 tyres.

Michelin & BFGoodrich

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”