2003 Wingroad misfiring......

Chemical

2003 Wingroad misfiring......

Postby Chemical » February 27th, 2008, 8:18 am

Need some advice, I started my wingroad this morning, & its misfiring.....
changed plugs complete tune up. Tank is full & enging check light is NOT on.

Could it be a clogged injector? can I take this out & clean myself...its an 03 model with e-throttle.
Could I use a 9 volt battery to activate the injector while spraying it?

Any help will be greatly appriciated.

Thanks,

Chemical.

eitech

Postby eitech » February 27th, 2008, 3:41 pm

check plug wires as well, plug gappin,

cobo

Postby cobo » March 1st, 2008, 4:21 pm

If it is a QG15 in that model then it may be that one of yuh coil pack gone. Same thing was happening to my car, I changed the coil pack and the problem was solved.

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » March 1st, 2008, 8:52 pm

lol ah man say check yuh plug wires... them things have coil packs ... is the misfire always or only on mornings? if is always maybe the coilpacks or injectors, if only on mornings the TB may need cleaning

eitech

Postby eitech » March 2nd, 2008, 8:43 am

^^^well dat man was referring to the wires dat go to the connectors that connect to the coil pack

krack korn

Postby krack korn » March 2nd, 2008, 10:18 am

CD if u washed the engine anytime within the last week or so take out all the coil packs and check for water in the plug holes, also place packs in the sun for a few hours or if weather not permitting, place a blowdryer to blow over the packs for an hour or two. Sometimes moisture permeates the coils and causes them to short internally. A lot of good coils get thrown away for this reason.

U need 12V to pulse the injector and to do a good job u would need the can cleaning setup. Alternativley an injector cleaner on a partial tank and some hard acceleration would pump up the injector duty cycle enough to clean them if the blockage is slight.

Chemical

Postby Chemical » March 3rd, 2008, 7:38 am

krack korn,

you are correct, right on the spot, i washed the engine myself with a pressure washer and there was water on the coil paacks.....if you could have seen the condition of the plugs with rust on the outside..........replaced the plugs and so far its working great...BTW anyone herd of re-conditioned NGK sparkplugs on the market selling as new ones as the mechanic scanned the car & told me it was the plugs also faulty though I changed them only 3 weeks now.

krack korn

Postby krack korn » March 3rd, 2008, 10:10 am

either the mechanic scan the car with a dead cat or he mad. No OBD2 (or 1) code exists for bad plugs.

The computer can detect 'misfire' this is what the crank sensor is for (the one down by the starter). Misfire would be a symptom of the water u had in the ignition system only.

U only had to clean those plugs and reuse them, no more than a lil rust, they would be electrically sound.

Think about the cost to collect, sort, clean, and then 'recondition' spark plugs. No friend, it might have imitation but if they try to recondition they go buss and u know dem chinee not it that!

When buying plugs beware of the ones that have a screw on type of head, why that need to screw on is beyond me, I like the stamped on , cannot come off for nutten type, the other one good for fishing.

Postby Dave » March 3rd, 2008, 10:13 am

thats right, ti comes as a cylinder misfire 1, 2,3 or 4
as for spark plugs always look for he crush gasket obviously not crushed

Postby wagonrunner » March 3rd, 2008, 10:30 am

krack korn wrote:When buying plugs beware of the ones that have a screw on type of head, why that need to screw on is beyond me, I like the stamped on , cannot come off for nutten type, the other one good for fishing.

any pics of these?
i'm not sure what you're talking about.

Postby Dave » March 3rd, 2008, 10:32 am

the top contact where the spark plug attaches too, the contact can be unscrewed from the plug

Postby wagonrunner » March 3rd, 2008, 10:48 am

ok...............never saw those before............in my limited NGK experience. :oops: :lol: