Tryin a ting wit the BJ

MAZDA People United - it continues here

villain

Postby villain » February 20th, 2008, 7:48 pm

roshan01 wrote:oui villain...
who did your cold air intake??? (assuming u did one!!)
seeing we're both south men...
and price???

ok...heh.... brian khan did the CAI..price...you dont want to know....pm meh
then the stainless steel piping from the MAF to the intake manifold bert (princess town) did it... great work but again pricey....plus he has other goodies for cars generally and can source parts for you...sourced my ACT clutch and pressure plate...

villain

Postby villain » February 20th, 2008, 7:50 pm

aye boy ghost you get the thing...but what you need with a zl-ve brain...you have the head?

TurboDrive

Postby TurboDrive » February 20th, 2008, 10:13 pm

Villain what size did you go for the CAI 2.25 or 3". Any hesitation issues? I was thinking of building a CAI but I first have to get me hands on a toyota maf :twisted: .

FullStop

Postby FullStop » February 20th, 2008, 10:48 pm

d head...well i could get one if i want, u want it, i go link it up if u want, i considering mating d head to d zmde and controlling the svt,, the zlve cams aggressive enough?,,,and how would i go about raising d compression, want to make a b16a killa, fedup hear dem lil snat nose hodna boys talk bout they beloved b16...and anybody know where i go get a set of lightweight 16" racing rims for d 323 or what...oh and a fella recommend i send the head to get ported and polished in d states, he say they will measure airflow and make sure it equal out all of d ports, ,,those are just some of the possibilities i considering right now...lemme no allyuh opinions..and pm me d info about your cai na villain, u does get hesitation issues with it?

villain

Postby villain » February 20th, 2008, 11:11 pm

well its 11pm and i cant say what size it is it could be 2 and a half, it could be 3...need to see in the morning...but no i dont get hesitation...i need to see or feel a car that doing it to really say if my car doing that and i just dont notice but???? do u all get that starting on just first or right through your gears?

FullStop

Postby FullStop » February 20th, 2008, 11:15 pm

no cai yet, so i dont know...

roshan01

Postby roshan01 » February 20th, 2008, 11:43 pm

villain wrote:
roshan01 wrote:oui villain...
who did your cold air intake??? (assuming u did one!!)
seeing we're both south men...
and price???

ok...heh.... brian khan did the CAI..price...you dont want to know....pm meh
then the stainless steel piping from the MAF to the intake manifold bert (princess town) did it... great work but again pricey....plus he has other goodies for cars generally and can source parts for you...sourced my ACT clutch and pressure plate...

i know bert from p town well... (he did work on my honda :lol: )
the guy really does good work..
will check him to do the cold air on the mazda....

mazdamig

Postby mazdamig » February 21st, 2008, 9:45 am

villain you have learn well youngone u teaching the BJ men

villain

Postby villain » February 21st, 2008, 10:38 am

thank you master mig.... soon when the BJ signal flash in the sky yuh go see...B low J ob men assembleeeeeeeee

FullStop

Postby FullStop » February 21st, 2008, 3:57 pm

fellas, i have a problem, i get d manifold install today, idling good and thing, no cel, but i gettin a kinda hissin sound from the egr return line, d fella weld it shut,,,allyuh ever get this?...it could be from way it get weld shut or from by where it join to d intake..any ideas? and what exhaust pipe diameter allyuh recommend for d bj, and where does do good work?...thanks...car pullin better, but that hissing kinda irritating

Postby Strugglerzinc » February 21st, 2008, 7:11 pm

ghostbusters wrote:fellas, i have a problem, i get d manifold install today, idling good and thing, no cel, but i gettin a kinda hissin sound from the egr return line, d fella weld it shut,,,allyuh ever get this?...it could be from way it get weld shut or from by where it join to d intake..any ideas? and what exhaust pipe diameter allyuh recommend for d bj, and where does do good work?...thanks...car pullin better, but that hissing kinda irritating

Fella where you get that at that price?????? it have a nex one???????

villain

Postby villain » February 21st, 2008, 7:24 pm

they put it on good?...flex joint on properly?
i wouldnt know if i getting any hisssing cause my k&n does suck noisy... :twisted:

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » February 21st, 2008, 7:51 pm

ghostbusters wrote:fellas, i have a problem, i get d manifold install today, idling good and thing, no cel, but i gettin a kinda hissin sound from the egr return line, d fella weld it shut,,,allyuh ever get this?...it could be from way it get weld shut or from by where it join to d intake..any ideas? and what exhaust pipe diameter allyuh recommend for d bj, and where does do good work?...thanks...car pullin better, but that hissing kinda irritating

doh use ene ting bigger than 2" unless yuh porting de head ask mig i'll post an article about exhaust theory soon recommends nothing bigger than 2" up to 1800cc for na engines turbo de sky is de limit

Painting the headlight inserts

Postby Strugglerzinc » February 21st, 2008, 7:53 pm

Decide to paint the headlights. Seems to give a more aggressive look than the standard silver finisher. The writeup available on some protege sites and it is actually as simple as it is shown.. The aftermarket pair of headlights that just have the black finisher is around $2600TT :shock:

Fortunately a padnah has two BJ headlights put dong so i borrowed them to use in the interim.
This dont look like no 2 hour job with baking, sanding and painting....

Bumper came off easy enuf 4 clips and 7 bolts per side..

Headlights have 3 bolts each.

After removing all the rubber parts, 2 screws holding the lens and the bulb, its in the oven to melt the glue.

The wife was a bit skeptical.. more about her oven than the headlights

After 15min at bout 200F, undo clips

Pull the lens off the housing

There's 2 small screws holding the insert/finisher to the plastic lens.

Remove these and pull the finisher out and there you go...

Will sand and do a first coat paint tomorrow..

FullStop

Postby FullStop » February 21st, 2008, 8:05 pm

yeah, flex joint and everything there,,,,welded good, ..strugglerzinc update on dat light thing, looks interestin, d wife was surprised that u use d stove or that u use it to bake a light?

Postby Strugglerzinc » February 21st, 2008, 8:25 pm

I quote... "don't let nutten catch fire in my oven else you buyin a new one" :|

mazdamig

Postby mazdamig » February 21st, 2008, 9:24 pm

that man bake a BJ light how it taste. Good too see ppl doing mods for themselves :mrgreen:

Postby cinco » February 21st, 2008, 9:32 pm

nice move there stugglerz it real easy to do
and looks 100% better

FullStop

Postby FullStop » February 21st, 2008, 10:51 pm

so, nobody get the hissing kinda sound?...i will epoxy up d egr line tomorrow and c if that help, car pulling nice though, after 80kph it runnin like hell to 120, and by then i at some blasted corner, y d flick it does have so much traffic after u mod ur car boy?

TurboDrive

Postby TurboDrive » February 21st, 2008, 11:24 pm

Sounds like something either escaping or being sucked in somewhere. Put the car in park and have someone rev it for you. Then you might be able to determine where the hissing sound coming from.

TurboDrive

Postby TurboDrive » February 22nd, 2008, 6:29 am

Right. I just found out that the 1zz-fe MAF new from toyota is $1866 + VAT. Not bad for a new MAF. Try pricing one from SS. :cry:

villain

Postby villain » February 22nd, 2008, 7:34 am

you ask about the celica own?price? cause i try my mommy own and i find mine better :mrgreen: and mine working better on her car... :evil: so is to try the celica own now...

well yeah it go pull good from 80 -120 cause the extractors change your power band...and unless you making a highway run...on the road we driving between 80 and 140(160 for others.. :mrgreen: ) so that is where the power is useful to us...
if it was the 4-1 your power band would shift to top end...highway run...

i had dynoed my b14 when i put in extractors and compared it to another car...same engine that didnt...and it showed that we briefly started out together and i just jumped away...plus my torque curve was smooth..while his was jerky and fluctuating...

FullStop

Postby FullStop » February 22nd, 2008, 9:05 am

yup d car runnin nice, it not making d soundwhen d car just idling, and i check it out, i kinda sound like it coming from by d intake manifold,,will epoxy up the weld d guy put later and see if that help, if not then hopefully when i put my 2 inch exhaust pipes and a nice straight through that will sort it out,,, villain, you had exhaust work done? about how much a good 2" will cost so, and recommend somebody na

TurboDrive

Postby TurboDrive » February 22nd, 2008, 11:49 am

Check Imraj or specialist muffler in St. Madeline

villain

Postby villain » February 22nd, 2008, 12:50 pm

yup....

FullStop

Postby FullStop » February 22nd, 2008, 5:20 pm

where Imraj from?...will be checking both next week tuesday..thanks

FullStop

Postby FullStop » February 22nd, 2008, 5:22 pm

i will buy that maf from ebay or somn yes

Postby Strugglerzinc » February 22nd, 2008, 6:33 pm

ghostbusters,
do the CAI first then see if you gettin the hesitation before you get the Celica MAF. I plan to do mine with 2.25 - 2.5 stainless piping. Dont think i should have MAF issues with that size pipe.

Postby Strugglerzinc » February 22nd, 2008, 6:49 pm

anyone using the oil filter from the V6 engine? whats the number? i'd like to use the bigger filter... better filtration, flow and all that.

Goin to change oil tomorro at bout 7000km. Got me some Royal Purple 10W30.

FullStop

Postby FullStop » February 22nd, 2008, 8:19 pm

yup, i lookin for somebody to make d cai for me, i check qwkwhip, d fella say he could make it, allyuh have any experience wit them or what? or somebody gimme a address to check to get one made na?..royal purple's da real blood dread...good stuff

Return to “MAZDA”