Tryin a ting wit the BJ

MAZDA People United - it continues here

Tryin a ting wit the BJ

Postby Strugglerzinc » February 17th, 2008, 2:28 pm

Having a BJ for bout 3 months ah decide to try the free/cheap stuff first and move from there.

Step 1 Remove cats

FSM say it suppose to have 2 but i only find 1, a silvery color one lower down the pipe that will get cut out very soon. There was none just after the manifold.

Is this manifold the normal one on the ZM engine?

may not be obvious from the pic but is 4 single pipe runnin down to the flange where they merge.
Last edited by Strugglerzinc on July 24th, 2010, 4:26 pm, edited 12 times in total.

FullStop

Postby FullStop » February 17th, 2008, 5:24 pm

yes, das d original manifold, update d resluts whenever you get it all done, step by step,,,

Postby cinco » February 17th, 2008, 5:31 pm

there shud be one where the 4 pipes go to 1
looks like

villain

Postby villain » February 18th, 2008, 12:02 pm

get rid of the extractors and get the one from the zl-ve... 4-2-1 and blank off the line that (the little bronze line )that going from the extractor to the intake manifold...
struzzlerzinc where you from...i feel you need to come and lime with the mazda fellas...
(N/A fellas...the turbo people doh have time for we again.... :oops:)

TurboDrive

Postby TurboDrive » February 18th, 2008, 1:10 pm

Hmmm.... what that bronze line does do? The 4-2-1 does come with the ZL-VE as stock?

Villian you do that mod with yours? How it working so far?

FullStop

Postby FullStop » February 18th, 2008, 4:21 pm

hey, where can i get a manifold for d zm-de, u recommend the zl-ve one, where would i get one of those?

Postby Strugglerzinc » February 18th, 2008, 7:18 pm

cinco, I was expecting one like that but there was nothing there. You can see from the pic, nada.

villain, i would love to do just that but i'm assuming that they're not too readily available. Is it a direct bolt up?

TurboDrive, its the EGR line. From what i understand, the EGR valve tends to give a bit of trouble with age causing some idle problems. Something to look out for i suppose.

Changed to K&N today

AImage

Removed the plastic intake piping as well.

Put back the "scoop" piece over the radiator as it was looking a bit empty.
I ended up leaving out the resonator box shown below

The intake box is now open to the air. Hot engine bay air for now.

If you think the plastic "scoop" draws in cool air, it doesn't. You need to look closely at where the bonnet closes, 1/4" to 1/2" in front the opening. Really stupid if you ask me.

There is a small improvement at around 3500-4000 RPM (100-140kph)
How much do I really expect with a filter and less plastic... :D

Will either buy the CAI or make one but need some springs first. The car is extremely high.
Will go Megan from TSC as soon as the wife approves the funds.

Big Z
Location: 734-7669 Amsoil, Chevron, Redline, Fuel Injector Cleaning

Postby Big Z » February 18th, 2008, 7:39 pm

ghostbusters wrote:hey, where can i get a manifold for d zm-de, u recommend the zl-ve one, where would i get one of those?

Got a ZM exhaust manifold. Offer me something for it.

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » February 18th, 2008, 8:38 pm

call seenaths in de bamboo dey have two zl-ve engines right now no ecu doh just engine an tranny minus some parts de zl-ve don't have de brass egr line doh an de manifold really nice o2 sensor quite behind de engine

FullStop

Postby FullStop » February 18th, 2008, 9:04 pm

big z u say u have a zm manifold, aftermarket or original, i aint want d original...lookin for a zl manifold 4-2-1 or a aftermarket performance manifold...lemme know what u have...

Postby cinco » February 18th, 2008, 10:10 pm

i scrap down my egr and cleaned it out
wasnt too bad sprayed some wd40 so its smood
i have to keep it because of emissions

Big Z
Location: 734-7669 Amsoil, Chevron, Redline, Fuel Injector Cleaning

Postby Big Z » February 18th, 2008, 10:19 pm

Original manifold unfortunately...

villain

Postby villain » February 18th, 2008, 10:47 pm

me too i have an original manifold....i dunno if it better than the ones from the zl de....
yes the zlve extractors is a direct bolt up to the zm engine....and it working smooth....the engine not bawling like it used to do cause everything flowing free....sweet manifold...the man who scrap it say if he only knew what he was giving me he would have charged me more :mrgreen: but "we" were distracting him with some ole talk...

for the zl-de and zl-ve people i'll have an intake manifold to sell soon....u'll want that for your engine...

the bronze line does send back return hot air into the intake...
and yeah the O2 sensor does get move to the back of the engine...

the madness about to begin....just waiting on meh two harness...on the port still...giving trouble to clear.... :oops:

FullStop

Postby FullStop » February 18th, 2008, 11:10 pm

will check seenaths tomorrow, for a zlve mani---, i hope villain aint usin no woman to disract men and take they parts cheap u know, ,,not that anything wrong wit that eh, jus that she might ask u to let she drive...

villain

Postby villain » February 19th, 2008, 8:04 am

that is why the car manual.....no woman except mommy drive it...
seenaths parting out anything? ...i think it was there it have a set of incomplete zl-ve and they not scrapping any?

TurboDrive

Postby TurboDrive » February 19th, 2008, 9:39 am

So I take it that blanking off the EGR line has no ill effects on the engine?

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » February 19th, 2008, 10:03 am

villain wrote:that is why the car manual.....no woman except mommy drive it...
seenaths parting out anything? ...i think it was there it have a set of incomplete zl-ve and they not scrapping any?

one start wscrapping already i took parts off it de crank pulley an de throttle body for a customer

TurboDrive

Postby TurboDrive » February 19th, 2008, 11:14 am

OK after doing some research I see that if the EGR line is clogged or if you blank off the line you will get a check engine light.

Villian your thoughts on this.

FullStop

Postby FullStop » February 19th, 2008, 2:54 pm

yeah villain, i gettin a zl-ve manifold for 750, how d price sound?, and d egr line have to be blocked or it could run back... lemme no opinions on d price asap, i dont want tomiss out on it

villain

Postby villain » February 19th, 2008, 5:08 pm

i got mine for 400 :twisted:
ent the erg line does help the car idle smooth or something....the ERG sensor is the one behind the throttle body after the tps sensor? if it is that need to be on and cleaned...if you see the carbon build up in mine....

but if it is the same bronze line we were talking about that goes from the exhaust manifold then you dont need it...i running it without one and the zl-ve dont have one...

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » February 19th, 2008, 6:38 pm

villain wrote: the zl-ve dont have one...

yeah what he said i'm stuck right now i doh know what de hell to do right i don't know how fast my car could go de speedo only goes to 180k an wid my lil mods on de ve i does reach dat quick need a sp20 dash an someone to calibrate it fo de ve

FullStop

Postby FullStop » February 19th, 2008, 7:12 pm

so das a bad price den, where u get that manifold from ... i want one eh but dat price boy, it does line up direct with the rest of d exhaust pipes? and am what about the gasket, what to do use the gasket maker dat does come in d tube in conjunction with d old gasket or where would i get a gasket to fit there....? all d o2 sensors does plug back in, i want to get the manifold tomorrow and install on friday...need alot of info asap, any muffler dude can do it or need a mechanic?

villain

Postby villain » February 19th, 2008, 9:34 pm

the muffler people could make a gasket for you...the O2 sensor would not be in the same place anymore instead of being in from of you car is is now under and more to the back of the car...where the pipe comes down to one...better than when it was just sticking into one of the extractor pipes

FullStop

Postby FullStop » February 19th, 2008, 9:56 pm

anything else to know, i figure i go ha to buy it tomorrow...so u just block off the egr line and no cel light right, what u do, u crimp it or put somn to plug it, or just take out the whole return line...no cel ?

villain

Postby villain » February 19th, 2008, 11:37 pm

the muffler dude just crimp it and put a small weld on it to close it...no check lights..if he doesnt know about it just tell him seal it off...cause it does have a connection for it on the extractor anyway

roshan01

Postby roshan01 » February 20th, 2008, 9:46 am

oui villain...
who did your cold air intake??? (assuming u did one!!)
seeing we're both south men...
and price???

TurboDrive

Postby TurboDrive » February 20th, 2008, 10:04 am

Any luck getting the Celica MAF yet?

aleeassang

Postby aleeassang » February 20th, 2008, 12:51 pm

when i swapped engines my old ZM had de EGR line from de manifold but de other 1 i put in didn't have it...

so i jus unscrewwed de EGR line and melted it shut and de car still runs smoothly

Postby Strugglerzinc » February 20th, 2008, 1:46 pm

The EGR is mostly for emissions reasons. The valve opens at higher RPMs.

When the valve sticks open, it sucks exhaust gas at idle which makes for unmetered air causing a bad idle.

FullStop

Postby FullStop » February 20th, 2008, 6:09 pm

lookie what i got for 450, complete with shield and gaskets, gaskets look like new...

ha to hide it next to d lawnmower from pops,,,and d shield

goin to install tomorrow, hope i dont get no idle issues, anybody know where to get a zlve harness or what? gettin d computer, but no harness

Return to “MAZDA”