Local history Thread

ziig

Postby ziig » February 5th, 2008, 2:22 pm

my father in law was a cook for the Yankees he can cook american food real good......his turkey is boss and pancakes are wicked..............he is a real good cook boy...i marry my wife to eat he food..LOL :lol:

Skanky

Postby Skanky » February 5th, 2008, 2:43 pm

Freelander wrote:cazabon

his grandson taught me biology in CIC dont know if hes still there

Who is that teacher?

ziig

Postby ziig » February 5th, 2008, 5:06 pm

Not sean cazabon?
i know him but havent seen him inyears...!!! :shock:

Postby SR » February 5th, 2008, 6:03 pm

so let me throw one out for allyuh hear

free masons

who knows the building with the symbol on it and where

Skanky

Postby Skanky » February 5th, 2008, 7:18 pm

[quote="Manchungster"]Just found these whilst googling Wallers and US Airbases in 3Ne.

If allyuh want to go hunting gimme a shout we could find them things.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » February 5th, 2008, 7:28 pm

SR wrote:so let me throw one out for allyuh hear

free masons

Picadilly Street in Port of Spain??

There's a building at the top of a hill along that road. Someone told me that it is a lodge building, but I have never seen any activity going on at that location in the years that I have passed there.

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » February 6th, 2008, 12:05 am

^^^^ i know of that one also...

what about teh area called gloster lodge in belmont..

Conrad

Postby Conrad » February 6th, 2008, 12:54 am

nismotrinidappa wrote:paramin man does fight for dey paramin women eh

just be careful

But they're so bloody gorgeous :oops:

nismotrinidappa wrote:the statue is on the old road and it was amerindians who made it..

Can you clarify/proove this? What you said is what I've been told since small (I live nearby) but apparently others know better.

TurboDrive

Postby TurboDrive » February 6th, 2008, 9:10 am

kurpal_v2 wrote:uhhh.. is it where they building lots of gov't housing now or am i mistaken?

No not the same place.That is before the chase village flyover. That is Carlsen Field you talking about.

TurboDrive

Postby TurboDrive » February 6th, 2008, 9:15 am

Rory Phoulorie wrote:

free masons

Picadilly Street in Port of Spain??

There's a building at the top of a hill along that road. Someone told me that it is a lodge building, but I have never seen any activity going on at that location in the years that I have passed there.

There is also one on Ruth Ave. San Fernando. Known about it since I used to attend St. Pauls Ang. School. I too have never seen any activity and the place is always in immaculate condition.

Postby tr1ad » February 6th, 2008, 11:09 am

free masons

one in san fernando on ruth ave

Black Scorpion

Postby Black Scorpion » February 6th, 2008, 1:14 pm

lil off topic...from early 1900s

http://www.telegram.com/article/2007081 ... source=rss

""Worcester laid down its first black-topped street early in the 20th century. In 1901, the city began paving Main Street between Chandler Street and Lincoln Square with cobblestones, and a proposal was made to cover the section in front of City Hall with asphalt or wooden blocks to lessen the racket made by iron-rimmed wagon and buggy wheels.

In the years following “bitulithic pavingâ€

xtech

Postby xtech » February 6th, 2008, 1:25 pm

for those who made the long trek to see the huge satellite tracking station dish in chaguramas........ well this is a picture of the same site with the original radar tracking station still operational in 1958. The dish replaced this an was used to track the rockets after launching from florida on the moon missions in the 60's.

Wallerfield was called fort reid at first these are the first GIs to arrive no clear land just coconut trees an plenty bush

HALT! Who Da!?

http://www.trinoutdoors.com/pages/other ... l%20Sights

xtech

Postby xtech » February 13th, 2008, 8:16 pm

Old pictures from old American Base in Chaguramas which actually has a date (July 22nd 1944 a Saturday) on beach in Chaguramas near where KFC currently stands

Leaving the Ship all the Yachts missing

Beach Party more like bush party

Postby Maserati » February 13th, 2008, 8:47 pm

xtech,good post

Postby joker » February 13th, 2008, 8:49 pm

^^ what he said

xtech

Postby xtech » February 13th, 2008, 8:59 pm

Working Hard for the Yankee Dollar

Eating out of the Garbage

xtech

Postby xtech » February 29th, 2008, 11:31 pm

Last edited by xtech on September 16th, 2009, 7:32 am, edited 1 time in total.

idlemind

Postby idlemind » March 16th, 2008, 8:56 pm

Was jus digging up in my archives and saw some pics from the last tourism park held center of excellence (2006 i think it was)

Some Folklore (sorry for the quality, was last day...real jam)

Soucouyant:

Douens:

Papa:

Mama Dlo:

idlemind

Postby idlemind » March 16th, 2008, 9:01 pm

These portraits were huge so bear with the angles :mrgreen: :

Last edited by idlemind on March 16th, 2008, 11:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Conrad

Postby Conrad » March 16th, 2008, 9:07 pm

WOW! Looking at those pics makes you wonder why did we didn't build around our history rather than reclaim land and break down old architecture to become "modern".

Nice, keep em coming.

xtech

Postby xtech » July 23rd, 2008, 12:10 pm

post more stuff nah

P20 (1922)
Austin 20s Part of the fleet of Trinidad Central Oilfields.

Bunsee Partap Dome fire in 1928 (Fyzabad)

16 ppl killed plus ah car.

Model T P5734 & A Chevy
Last edited by xtech on September 16th, 2009, 7:43 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Greypatch » July 23rd, 2008, 12:55 pm

excellent work fellas ah gonna save dem pics

Postby Greypatch » September 15th, 2009, 6:38 pm

bump as we taking old T&T threads

TrinbagoMan

Postby TrinbagoMan » September 15th, 2009, 7:40 pm

Excellent thread MG Man

Postby Redman » September 15th, 2009, 7:50 pm

Great Thread,

Trinidad was one of the largest Naval bases during WWII

The carriers came here on their shake down cruises(1st cruise after leaving ship yards.)
The gulf was a natural harbor easily protected from the threat of u boats and the new crews and ships could work the kinks out.The shallow waters of the Gulf made anti sub patrols easy and the tactical pic for the subs suicidal
The ASW for the entire Caribbean was anchored in Tdad

Its location made it a stop for raw materials heading north to the US and East to Europe eg rubber from Brazil, and ships massed into convoys in the Gulf before heading across the Atlantic.So we were a meeting point in both directions. The merchant ships would wait here for their escorts anchored in the Gulf of Paria

As the pics show the waters around Tdad are littered with sunk cargo ships -victims of a concentrated effort early on by Hitlers wolf packs- IF hitler had continued the concentration of U boat activity here the war could have gone in a different direction. We were pivotal

The refineries here also contributed and along side Aruba and Maricaibo(I think small tankers ran crude from Maricaibo to Aruba ) kept the mechanized war running. The refinery in Aruba was shelled by a U boat-I dont think that we were ever shelled but there were a couple alerts WRT invasion
There is even a story of a German u boat officer being caught with a CINEMA ticket from Tdad.
Having apparently landed and taking a walk about.

I think that Rosevelt landed here on his way to meet with Stalin and Churchill,it was under the QT so it wasnt a state visit-Making This was the cross Atlantic flight for a US President and that makes Tdad the first foreign landing for the US Pres.
Also Tdad was used for jungle training -and had small bases all over the southern country

Thats all of the top of meh head and it have a sahina and channa waiting for me so...

Later

Postby Greypatch » September 15th, 2009, 8:11 pm

please contribute more after the fry food

Postby janfar » September 15th, 2009, 8:18 pm

Its also fact that German U-boats used to go for repairs in Rio de Janeiro. Theirs one parked there right now as an exhibit. Argentina and Brazil were somewhat allies to the Germans. Another purpose for the base in Trinidad was as a hub for hunting damaged U-boats headed to the Brazil/ Argentina for repairs...

TOIZ WIT NOIZ

Postby TOIZ WIT NOIZ » September 15th, 2009, 8:19 pm

this going good didnt know so much until now

Postby Redman » September 15th, 2009, 8:25 pm

How many of allyuh really know what a Brighton Bucket is??
as in dat gyul pass meh like a Brighton bucket-(the South version of a full bus)

I gone again-trying to cancel an order on Amazon

Later