SPARE WHEEL QUESTION

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

spam

SPARE WHEEL QUESTION

Postby spam » February 7th, 2008, 7:12 am

yea people does anyone know what will be the smallest size wheel i could use as a spare ?

i need to know cuz my trunk strap for space and i wanna try to still fit a spare in a customised place.

i hear dohgnuts dont work on the CK lancer model ? how tru is that ?

:shock: :shock: :shock:

Rudman
Location: Finding out all the good tyres in life begins with "R".

Postby Rudman » February 7th, 2008, 8:00 am

Who said doughnuts don't work? I have seen a couple of doughnuts on lancers already.

The smallest wheel spare (other than doughnuts) will be determined by the smallest size rim the car can run on. For example, 13" rims can still work on my Lancer, so my spare tyre is a Bridgestone Sneaker tyre mounted on a 13" rim.

I believe the size of this tyre is 165 70 R13, will have to double check. This size fits very well in the space provided, no problems.

If space really tight........doughnuts are your best option. But don't take my work for it......get one and try it yourself. Better to find out now than when you are in a jam.

venum

Postby venum » February 7th, 2008, 8:22 am

doughnuts work on teh CK Lancers

my JDM CK came with a doughnut

but I do not recommend using it at all

it's terrible

I replaced it with a 13" steelie and a 175\70 tyre

Rudman

Postby Rudman » February 7th, 2008, 9:16 am

I agree that doughnuts are terrible, but the intent of the doughnut is to help out in an emergency situation until you can reach to the nearest tyre repair shop. Its a tyre that's meant to be driven for a distance of about 80 km, not to be left for days like some of them taxis.

And you shouldn't drive too fast with them either! The real problem I can see with a doughnut is that if there is a serious mis-match with the tyre size that's on the car (such as 17" vs doughnuts). this can be a real problem with handling, especially on the front end. It would be in your best interest then to get a bigger rolling diameter spare, closer to the one you running.

venum

Postby venum » February 7th, 2008, 11:55 am

that's right

if yuh interested, I have a doughnut to sell

$100.00

Postby wagonrunner » February 7th, 2008, 1:35 pm

$100 for a donut spare??!! :shock: :faint:
there's something twice as valuable in this one?

Skanky

Postby Skanky » February 7th, 2008, 3:32 pm

So I guessing a donut as a spare on the E7 is a bad thing with the stock 17"?Where I getting one spare tyre for that?

Rudman

Postby Rudman » February 7th, 2008, 3:51 pm

^^No, no.....don't get me wrong. If the car came stock with 17" and the spare donut is appropriately sized by the manufacturer, then U should be fine.

What I was refering to is when people oversize their wheel by putting on 17's" (when the stock rim size was 14"), and still expect to run the same donut. You will get one corner of the car being "low" and this will lead to an uneven distribution of weight, especially in the front.

Morpheus23

Postby Morpheus23 » February 7th, 2008, 4:38 pm

Also doughnuts are to be always run in the back.NOT THE FRONT!. If your front tyre blow,take off a back rim and put it in the front,then put th doughnut in the back.<<I believe these things are in the ownwer's manuals of cars.Unfortunately most RORO either don't come with these or are in a foreign language.
:lol: And for local cars,Trinis just don't read dem.Although dey in English.

It is common sense and safety. I does see some ppl speeding and taking corners hard wit doughnuts in the front. Clueless ppl.

And as Rudman say,doughnuts are just enough to get you to a tyre shop.Dey are in no way intended to be used as a replacement wheel/tyre.

venum

Postby venum » February 10th, 2008, 4:36 pm

Morpheus23 wrote:Also doughnuts are to be always run in the back.NOT THE FRONT!. If your front tyre blow,take off a back rim and put it in the front,then put th doughnut in the back.

thsi holds true, not only for doughnuts but for any spare that is smaller that the other wheels

e.g. if your car came with a 13" or 14" full sized spare (steel rim and normal tyre) and you have replaced the stock wheels with bigger ones, say 17" rims and tyres, if you get a flat in teh front, use one of teh rear wheels in teh front and the spare in teh rear

Morpheus23

Postby Morpheus23 » February 10th, 2008, 6:19 pm

venum wrote:
Morpheus23 wrote:Also doughnuts are to be always run in the back.NOT THE FRONT!. If your front tyre blow,take off a back rim and put it in the front,then put th doughnut in the back.

thsi holds true, not only for doughnuts but for any spare that is smaller that the other wheels

e.g. if your car came with a 13" or 14" full sized spare (steel rim and normal tyre) and you have replaced the stock wheels with bigger ones, say 17" rims and tyres, if you get a flat in teh front, use one of teh rear wheels in teh front and the spare in teh rear

^^^Yes very true

Postby *KRONIK* » February 13th, 2008, 9:27 pm

talkin bout dat!

i want ah 14inch steelie to take out this chupid 15inch yellow donut in my trunk!

did save me once but........... i wont drive with it for far!

it duz really have yuh car felling off balance!

speed freak

Re: SPARE WHEEL QUESTION

Postby speed freak » March 26th, 2014, 11:03 pm

U still got that donut to sell ???

Re: SPARE WHEEL QUESTION

Postby *KRONIK* » March 27th, 2014, 6:20 am

sold it with the car about 5 years ago!

LOL