Local history Thread

plex

Postby plex » January 24th, 2008, 8:45 am

Rory Phoulorie wrote:I went to the Museum in POS in December 2006 to kill some time while I was waiting on my car to be serviced. To be quite honest, it was a worthwhile trip as it had some interesting information on and historical artifacts for Trinidad and Tobago.

Must really make a turn there, last time i been there was primary school, thats quite some time..

Postby Greypatch » January 24th, 2008, 9:07 am

I up for the steam roller trip hoss leh me know ..

ziig

doookie

Postby ziig » January 24th, 2008, 3:04 pm

Razkal wrote:manny dookie wasnt a runner? the barefoot runner guy? :)

He was a little Indian guy that ran for T&T against some of the most formidable men from big first world countries..........the amazing thing was.....where all the other guys had sponsored equipment....Dookie had nothing...............he actually prefered to run barefoot!!!!!

AND HE DID....he ran the 100 meter barefoot......probably the only man to do that.....he didnt do too bad either.....and was a insperation to both Trinbagonians and International people alike.....as a matter of fact if you look at the race.....the anouncer only talked about dookie.....the whole time till the end of the race...lol

Postby Maserati » February 3rd, 2008, 7:43 pm

Was in the University Library looking for a book and I stumbled across this book, had to take pics. as it wouldnt have fit on the scanner.

Postby joker » February 3rd, 2008, 7:45 pm

sweet .......

Smokey

Postby Smokey » February 3rd, 2008, 10:13 pm

absolutely amazing..great post Maserati,

Postby buzz » February 3rd, 2008, 10:28 pm

steam roller run WHEN?? I WANNA GO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Skanky

Postby Skanky » February 4th, 2008, 7:33 am

Great post Maserati.

On a serious note youall do realise if history is accurate how much gold and valuables we have sunk in our waters?One find and you set for life.

TurboDrive

Postby TurboDrive » February 4th, 2008, 9:54 am

There is also a bunker on San F'do Hill. Its filled with nasty green water. Anyone care for a swim? Heard that Wallers used to be one of the largest American Airbases in the world. Can anyone verify this?

ziig

Postby ziig » February 4th, 2008, 2:23 pm

it is true about wqallerfield, I did some research when I was younger, found out it was also a detention post for war criminals and refugees before they where sent to usa...so many JEWS sat in wait in wallers...it was kind of a guantanamo bay deal, but for Jews and other people fleeing germany etc.

Manchungster

Postby Manchungster » February 4th, 2008, 4:08 pm

Just found these whilst googling Wallers and US Airbases in 3Ne.

Webpage:
http://www.28dayslater.co.uk/forums/showthread.php?p=376844

Postby Maserati » February 4th, 2008, 4:11 pm

^nice find!

Postby joker » February 4th, 2008, 4:20 pm

PBY mariners :shock:

.:PROZAC:..

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » February 4th, 2008, 5:47 pm

On Gasparee Island, if you contiue to walk up to the point you will find about four ?mm anit aircract guns with roational platforms.
San Fernando hill has 2 what lokos like bunkers but could just be old sisterns.
Good read guys. Keep the knowledge pouring in. Even the things you aren't sure about and were passed on by word of mouth.

Freelander

Postby Freelander » February 4th, 2008, 5:51 pm

cazabon

his grandson taught me biology in CIC dont know if hes still there

Manchungster

Postby Manchungster » February 4th, 2008, 5:56 pm

Ok, I have a question, cause all the readings I come accross b/c of this thread have me looking for History of 3NE during WWII. Where de rasta is Carlsen AFB? :oops:

I know, about Wallers and Chag, but in terms of location where is the Carlsen AFB. Apparently It was used as a training station for pilots. Also, the Seabees construct 80 runways and a blimp stn.

I eh go lie, though, this thread have me interested like crazy. Always loved history

.:PROZAC:..

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » February 4th, 2008, 5:59 pm

also in Scotland bay, there are the Amercian housing Wrecks .
They say teh bay is over 350ft, deep enough for those diesel subs.

Postby Maserati » February 4th, 2008, 6:10 pm

Manchungster, I think Carlsen field is in central, said to have squatters on that field now.
Carlsen Field - a former U.S. airbase to the south of Chaguanas

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chaguanas

good article here http://www.newsday.co.tt/people/print,0,29835.html

robbieg

Postby robbieg » February 4th, 2008, 6:52 pm

soo who had the first consumer automobile in trini? lol

first to have forced induction? :twisted:

Postby joker » February 4th, 2008, 7:07 pm

soo who had the first consumer automobile in trini

mih grand fadda fadda :mrgreen:

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » February 4th, 2008, 7:21 pm

the only pic in maserati post i recognize is teh cathedral in down town pos

check teh surrounding areas nuh..

anybody could identify maserati other pics?

what is teh other church?

Postby Maserati » February 4th, 2008, 7:58 pm

^have some captions at the base of the pics. may be a little faint to make out.click on the pic. should open it up in a new window and be a bit larger

Postby eliteauto » February 4th, 2008, 8:57 pm

interesting that the POS Cathedral was basically on the sea shore indicating just how much of downtown now stands on reclaimed land, also the QPS is the largest roundabout in the world, and the Hilton Hotel is considered the only upside down Hotel, also the pool at the Hilton are in the general outline of Trinidad and Tobago

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » February 5th, 2008, 12:21 am

lol @sig

Postby Rory Phoulorie » February 5th, 2008, 3:39 am

nismotrinidappa wrote:the only pic in maserati post i recognize is teh cathedral in down town pos

check teh surrounding areas nuh..

anybody could identify maserati other pics?

what is teh other church?

Larger sizes of those prints are on display in the National Museum in POS. It is free to enter. You all should make some time and visit the museum. There are lots of other interesting historical information on display.

TurboDrive

Postby TurboDrive » February 5th, 2008, 6:44 am

Anybody ever went by the "Base" ? You get there by taking a left on the Chase Village flyover when heading to south. There used to be an WW2 American army base there. The old people say that after the war the Americans buried a lot of the ammo and explosives at secret locations there. That is why when you pass there you won't see any housing . Imagine you digging a trench to lay a foundation and yuh shovel struck a live shell. Yuh go have a blast :twisted: .

Postby kurpal_v2 » February 5th, 2008, 7:33 am

uhhh.. is it where they building lots of gov't housing now or am i mistaken?

Postby buzz » February 5th, 2008, 7:42 am

Maserati wrote:Manchungster, I think Carlsen field is in central, said to have squatters on that field now.
Carlsen Field - a former U.S. airbase to the south of Chaguanas

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chaguanas

good article here http://www.newsday.co.tt/people/print,0,29835.html

ent u could reach carlsen field via chase village fly over???? :oops: :oops: :oops: :oops:

Conrad

Postby Conrad » February 5th, 2008, 9:19 am

From Page 3
The place in La Lune I believe is known as American Hill (in my grand-mothers back-yard) which my uncle and other usually take people on small tours if they bored. Used by the Americans as a small base and look out because of the height and visibility of the sea.

From Page 3
The statue that Skanky speaks about is actually on the Old Road or Old Saddle Road on the way to Santa Cruz (whey Death-Row?). As he correctly stated it's believed to be haunted but as far as I was told I believe it had an Amerininian background as well.

I was told by my mum the old post office and Police station in San Juan (next to the Health Centre as you go onto the Old Road) was an old trade post for Amerindians yeeeeears ago.

The name of many place in the south land were used as posts for trading slaves. For example in Moruga there is 1st Company and 3rd Company.

As in Jean and Dina (The Mighty Sparrow) the environs of Port of Spain (e.g. Barataria) were heavily visited by the Americans because of the number of whore houses it had.

The village of Paramin (spelling?), which is found a very short distance from Maraval, is home of a dieing language called patois (spelling?). A language that is a compromise between French and English. More on Paramin, if you drive to the very top of Paramin you will eventually reach a look out on top of the mountain (can't remember the name of that particular village) that allows you to see the sea (forgot my camera that day), the air is always cold and the villagers specialize in planting pepper, tomato and other small vegetables on the hillsides (very difficult if you know the height and slant of Paramin's hills), the fog begins to roll in by after 5. It's so high up there you can't differentiate cloud from fog. Beautiful place to carry girlfriend for a drive if you're up to the challenge. On your way back down from the look out the first road on your left takes you all the way back to the Maracus road. It's so long and covered in moss at some points that I thought I was lost (not for the faint of heart). In all, a lost paradise in our slowly slipping country, the people are friendly and the girls are beautiful (Spanish mixed with French and Amerindian). Oh yeah if you're thinking of going, be prepared. 4x4s are the taxi of choice up there. The road reaches to such a high slope coming to the end that it's made from concrete with "shelves" cut into it using galvanise as to prevent loss of grip.

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » February 5th, 2008, 11:05 am

paramin man does fight for dey paramin women eh

just be careful

and the statue is on the old road and it was amerindians who made it..