almera power mirror

eitech

almera power mirror

Postby eitech » November 3rd, 2007, 8:06 am

my cousin's power mirror givin some trouble.when u close them, dey close in fine. but when when u open them, d left opens out ok. the right side however, opens out fully and begins to make a "clak clak clak sound continuously. any advice?
Last edited by eitech on January 1st, 2008, 6:57 am, edited 2 times in total.

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » November 3rd, 2007, 11:24 am

almera power window

my cousin's power windows givin some trouble.when u close them, dey close in fine. but when when u open them, d left opens out ok. the right side however, opens out fully and begins to make a "clak clak clak sound continuously. any advice

:? :?

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » November 3rd, 2007, 11:25 am

u sure its not the Door mirror u talking abt?

Door Mirrors and Pwr Window are 2 different things :|

MANIAC

Postby MANIAC » November 3rd, 2007, 12:27 pm

^ Same thing I thinking .... Windows "Wind Down" or "Wind Up" ... Not Close in or Open out ???

eitech

Postby eitech » November 3rd, 2007, 1:12 pm

oops, my bad guys. :( ..the power mirrors.. forgive i wok lastnite. yea, when they opening out, the right hand side gives dat noise i mentioned above. they close in well though.

MANIAC

Postby MANIAC » November 3rd, 2007, 1:15 pm

It sounding like the Gears ... Eventually it may stop closing or opening ... Not sure if it can be repaired

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » November 3rd, 2007, 1:18 pm

Was the Mirror ever being hit by a car or somthin?

its the gears inside slipping and making that noise.... if u get an old mirror u can probly fix it.

eitech

Postby eitech » November 3rd, 2007, 1:30 pm

i'm not sure if he ever hit it somewhere...well from what i observe, the whole unit can be relaced. jus the harness and a few bolts dat hold it in place..how much for that so? anyone knows how to open it up so i can see what really goin on with d gears in operation and possibly repair?

MANIAC

Postby MANIAC » November 3rd, 2007, 1:32 pm

Best bet is to check one of the good Electricians and let them advise you accordingly .... The simplier and maybe cost effective solution might be to try and get a foreign used one (if you can get one) and replace it ....

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » November 3rd, 2007, 2:39 pm

Dragsta wrote:Was the Mirror ever being hit by a car or somthin?

its the gears inside slipping and making that noise.... if u get an old mirror u can probly fix it.

happened to me....got a knock and is now behaving the same way. doesn't make sense fixing it.....better to change out the whole thing

eitech

Postby eitech » November 4th, 2007, 8:59 am

anyone knows how to open up d mirrors, i wanna see what goin on with d gears

madman2961

Postby madman2961 » November 7th, 2007, 11:46 pm

that happen to me too like ppl in trinidad cyah average i parked with the mirrors open a day and then when i got in the car i noticed the left mirror closed and i hearing the same clicking thing !!!
my advice ignore it unless you does park in close quarters!!

debadlad

Postby debadlad » November 12th, 2007, 3:28 pm

most times you end up having to buy a new mirror complete....

eitech

Postby eitech » November 12th, 2007, 3:51 pm

wats d cost of one?

mild2wild

Postby mild2wild » December 25th, 2007, 7:06 pm

inside the mirror mounting bracket are a series of plastic gears which get damaged easily if the mirror is hit or closed manually. the tolerances inside of there are so close that it is not feasible or possible to fix it. sometimes the problem can be repaired (about 50% of the time) but the surest bet is to replace the mirror with a known good one as performing a repair on one of those can be anywhere from $150 to take apart and check it and up from there if it can be repaired...

eitech

Postby eitech » December 25th, 2007, 9:11 pm

my cousin and i took apart d damned thing..right down to d gears..those asian ppl that design dem ting real good. real intricate parts..anyways we mounted back up and finally decided that he should get a new one

madness19

Postby madness19 » December 25th, 2007, 11:09 pm

that sounds like sumone pushed it out with there hand and broke the fuking thing same thing happen to mines

if not that try sum WD40 shud do the trick if its sticking

eitech

Postby eitech » December 26th, 2007, 9:01 am

actually this is what happens: when he closes it, both close in properly. but when time to open, both open fully put the right hand side keeps makin a clak clak clak sound although it fully opened.

GoS

Postby GoS » December 26th, 2007, 9:28 am

carry it by the pro`s dude

eitech

Postby eitech » December 27th, 2007, 12:23 am

he say he buyin ah new one

eitech

almera power mirror

Postby eitech » December 30th, 2007, 9:27 pm

yea folks, i want a complete power mirror setup..my cousin checked d bamboo and got none..anyone can tell me EXACTLY where i can get this...preferably in d east west corridor..thanx

shark8180

Postby shark8180 » December 30th, 2007, 10:12 pm

bro my driver side doing the same thing, and i spoke to one electrician and he says it is the gears i made out of hard plastic so after a while i dry rots and gets brittle (caused by heat ) so some of the gears may have broken off , leaving the rest to play ketchup..my solution ...replace them..

MANIAC

Postby MANIAC » December 31st, 2007, 8:17 am

^ Can the gears be replaced ??? ... I thought someone above said it cannot ???

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » December 31st, 2007, 10:07 pm

eitech wrote:my cousin and i took apart d damned thing..right down to d gears..those asian ppl that design dem ting real good. real intricate parts..anyways we mounted back up and finally decided that he should get a new one

he done try dat already; he looking for a brand new mirror now.

did you try down south like Bicks in Penal?

eitech

Postby eitech » January 1st, 2008, 6:59 am

tryin to link ah scene dey wit sum1 from tuner

eitech

Postby eitech » January 8th, 2008, 12:27 pm

so my cousin got one from a b15 s/s..had a slight difference with a clearance hole..so we drilled a lil hole to accomodate d notch and it wokin like original...

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » January 9th, 2008, 1:30 am

the b15 and almera is de same size mirror? :shock:

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » January 9th, 2008, 7:11 am

Get a new one,and save yourself some stress.Thought i could have repaired mine as well but it's not worth it............just remove the old one and replace with a good workin one! :|

MANIAC

Postby MANIAC » January 9th, 2008, 9:22 am

biggy82 wrote:the b15 and almera is de same size mirror? :shock:

Was wondering the same thing .... Whats the average cost for a foreign used one ?

eitech

Postby eitech » January 9th, 2008, 9:48 pm

d bolt pattern on the b15 smaller , but it can be switched with d almera..overall, everythin is d same size, shape..he paid $800..