Advice 20' on Almera

CarelessJohn

Advice 20' on Almera

Postby CarelessJohn » December 27th, 2007, 1:04 pm

Fellas I want to go 18' but when i went to buy rims the guy advice me to go 20' and bling out in stead but i don't know because almeras have a cradle arm problem so I need to know what is the largest size to go with rims and what i can do to reinforce my cradle arms...

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » December 27th, 2007, 2:08 pm

i know 20's can fit on an almera , king sultan had a blue almera rolling on 20's plus the car was dropped ....so yuh safe

DuAL StaR

Postby DuAL StaR » December 28th, 2007, 11:29 am

CarelessJohn,
yeah man we have a section of our cars that we put 20" on and they rollin normal and all is dropped as well so u good to go
by the way most of the is almeras

nismown3d

Postby nismown3d » January 2nd, 2008, 2:23 pm

depending on your offset and width of the rim, you might need to roll the fenders

by the way, skinny 20's look like sheit. i say go wide with a nice deep offset.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vD63FAkrjdE

stretcherz

Postby stretcherz » January 2nd, 2008, 2:31 pm

20"s on almeras....yes it blings...but it also comes with trouble.... first to begin...all the extra weight can seriously affect performance of the engine. secondly, get ready to buy bushings and everything you're putting under strain. thirdly...20" tyres are $1,500 for ONE. if yuh have plebty paper...big up yuhself. if not...don't do it.
Last edited by stretcherz on January 2nd, 2008, 2:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.

nismown3d

Postby nismown3d » January 2nd, 2008, 2:38 pm

^^ i can agree with that

nothing wrong with 18's.

stretcherz

Postby stretcherz » January 2nd, 2008, 2:49 pm

^^^thank you. poor lil 1600cc engines under pressure with them 20"s

nismown3d

Postby nismown3d » January 2nd, 2008, 2:55 pm

that also reminds me...... i went to maracas 4 times when i was back in trinidad for christmas. i must have seen at least 4 cars each time pulled over to the side of the road at the bottom of the hill with overheated brakes, the owners were all wondering what the hell is wrong with their cars.

when you step up to bigger/heavier rims, it is a must that you upgrade your brakes!

stretcherz

Postby stretcherz » January 2nd, 2008, 3:08 pm

^^^ppl seem to forget that lil piece of info...more weight means it's harder to stop.

Conrad

Postby Conrad » January 2nd, 2008, 9:19 pm

Advice? Don't dooo eeeeeeet!

Your choice but I personally believe if you want big rims put on ligh-weight on a car that can accomodate them with proper suspension and break upgrades. Rell kix when you see all them idiots in the Hilux on 22s and they grinning with drums or some tiny discs in the back dodging pot-hole.

IvanTerrors

Postby IvanTerrors » January 2nd, 2008, 9:32 pm

lets say like 17" on an ad wagon brakes need to be upgraded bigger rotors
i suppose

eitech

Postby eitech » January 2nd, 2008, 10:21 pm

waste of time offerin advice to trinis...sadly BLING will outweigh SAFETY anyday :lol:

adri 2nr

Postby adri 2nr » January 3rd, 2008, 7:52 am

pioneer wrote:why would you want to do this to yourself and your car?

you have any idea the expense you gonna incure when you damage your bearings, ends, and shocks?

Are you upgrading your brake rotors to accomodate such a big rolling mass?

bling bling

couldn't have said it better myself

doesn't this car come with stock 14's?

Postby Aaron 2NR » January 3rd, 2008, 9:58 am

stretcherz wrote:20"s on almeras....yes it blings...but it also comes with trouble.... first to begin...all the extra weight can seriously affect performance of the engine. secondly, get ready to buy bushings and everything you're putting under strain. thirdly...20" tyres are $1,500 for ONE. if yuh have plebty paper...big up yuhself. if not...don't do it.

pioneer wrote:why would you want to do this to yourself and your car?

you have any idea the expense you gonna incure when you damage your bearings, ends, and shocks?

Are you upgrading your brake rotors to accomodate such a big rolling mass?

bling bling

gr8 advise

CarelessJohn

Postby CarelessJohn » January 3rd, 2008, 10:12 am

Thank you very much guys That is why i love my tuner buddies Thanks alot so what would you advice me to put on my car??

Postby Aaron 2NR » January 3rd, 2008, 10:39 am

17s...18s for the most..but still be prepared to change bushings regularly

CarelessJohn

Postby CarelessJohn » January 3rd, 2008, 10:55 am

Thank you man much appreciated..

ilovebeti

Postby ilovebeti » January 3rd, 2008, 1:26 pm

Uncle Ben business

makes no sense putting that size of wheel on an econobox

^pios and others summed it up correctly there

but at the end of the day it's your choice. :fadein:

adri 2nr

Postby adri 2nr » January 4th, 2008, 7:35 am

17's at max I think..16'S though looks nice on the car

broger53

Postby broger53 » April 3rd, 2008, 9:25 am

don't do it...you'll find yourself spending alot of unecessary money...the guys who said "no" know what they are talking about...

i have an almera and i thought of 18s but think of the roads in T&T...just not worth it

nismown3d

Postby nismown3d » May 1st, 2008, 5:45 am

eitech wrote:waste of time offerin advice to trinis...sadly BLING will outweigh SAFETY anyday :lol:

JailBird

Postby JailBird » May 1st, 2008, 2:05 pm

d man put 20 feet rims eh read the topic carefully

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » May 2nd, 2008, 5:46 pm

waste of time offerin advice to trinis...sadly BLING will outweigh SAFETY anyday

Daz trini's for you. Customizing = chrome/bling/music.

Chipz

Postby Chipz » May 18th, 2008, 11:41 pm

if is ah show vehicle 20"s for it if is everyday 16"-18"s, have 17"s on meh car rides good buh yuh always hadda be on d lookout for badd roads & wholes & ting when yuh have dem big rims, cyah drive ah lil fast too nah

buh dat advice like wha pioneer & d rest ah tuners gave u izz good advice

RadDogJr

Postby RadDogJr » May 24th, 2008, 10:35 pm

16's - 17's are safe homey. Any bigger and you'll have bigger problems. Don't let anyone trick you into buying 20's for bling. Salesmen say anything to sell their product. Be smart and save yourself a lot of money. 0X